We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & beach!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice room & beach front location! Courteous & efficient staff. Don't order the fish tacos from the poolside menu...they were way over cooked! They did give us a complimentary bottle of wine when we complained that the tacos were inedible. We will definitely return because overall it was a great place to get away & relax.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lliketotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for offering your feedback about the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are happy to hear that you loved our beautiful new rooms and hotel location. We are glad our staff took such good care of you during your stay. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied and delighted with our gift to you when you were not able to enjoy your tacos. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,547
    520
    135
    35
    19
See reviews for
737
933
51
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

just returned from Ga.State Bar Meeting...this was the hotel for overflow...should have been the main hotel....staff was incredible...room and entire hotel tastefully redone. even our kids were blown away with how nice the staff was....took our floats and had them blown up for the pool...my 9 year old got his fishing lure stuck in carpet...staff member came with scissors and saved the day. breakfast was first rate....if you don't like it here, then it's your fault.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaLefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We appreciate your kind remarks about our helpful and courteous staff. We are glad you loved our new renovations throughout the resort and were able to enjoy breakfast in Heywards. We hope you and your family are able to return soon so that we can continue to take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

So let me lay it out...My family walks up to the hotel and the bellman starts singing "if your happy and you know it, clap your hands" to my 5 year old son. After coming through rain from Atlanta, it was like we arrived, and the sun was finally out. Check in was as impressive, they welcomed me by name at the desk. Wanting to understand this, I later saw the bellman calling on a radio to the desk, so it was not a miracle, just a nice touch. These details went on throughout the stay. The cleaning staff were always saying hello as you passed in the hallways, and the entire staff was happy to be there you could tell. I understand the hotel went through renovations recently and it is very nice, but there are several nice resorts in Hilton Head this one deffinately has the personal touch. Thank you, we will be back!

Room Tip: Walking down the hall, all the rooms seem the same. If you are spending time on the beach and at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for highlighting our personalized service at the Sonesta Resort. We are thrilled to hear such happy starts to our guests vacations such as yours beginning with the bellmen. Our staff is always glad to welcome and greet you and assist with anything you might need. We did recently undergo a 30 million dollar renovation, and we are happy you can note the difference that sets us above and beyond other resorts on Hilton Head with our personalized service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Sonesta just went through a huge renovation. Property is beautiful, nice beach access. The staff went out of its way to be welcoming too. Kids loved it, and loved the pool. All in all, a very nice place to relax.

As far as location, it is about halfway out the island or perhaps a bit more. So it is convenient to most places on the island. It is located in Shipyard, so for better or worse it is somewhat isolated though -- I like being in a quiet place with some buffer from the hustle and bustle.

All in all, very glad I stayed and I know my family agrees.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We came to the hotel for a conference - Staff, food, accomodations, pool and beach were great! The only issue were long walks to and from our room to the elevators. Renovations had just been completed
on the hotel and our phone was not working, but the 2nd day that we were there, someone was sent to
program the phone. Room was very quiet, motion detected night lights, which were great when you got up in the middle of the night and nice size TV.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the elevator - our room was located a good distance from the elevator and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback about our all new hotel. We are happy you enjoyed every element of your stay, from the friendly and helpful staff, beautiful accommodations and pool area as well as the nearby beach. Our property is designed with the intent to offer as many rooms as possibly with pristine ocean views, therefore some of the hallways to the outside rooms may be longer than expected. Next time you visit, please feel free to request a room closer to the elevators and our front desk staff will be happy to assist you. Thank you for your understanding with the re-programing of your phone. We are glad you appreciated the motion activated floor lights and our Samsung Smart TVs. We can’t wait to have you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The Sonesta is an amazing resort with top notch service and amenities to match. We were able to check in early and added a 4th night because we did not want to leave. The zero entry pool was perfect for our 2 year old. Everything including the rooms were spotless. The food at the pool bar for lunch and Heywards for dinner was delicious and so fresh. We would go off the resort for dinner and regret not staying at the resort. Omar gave us great service at the restaurant and brought out a fruit plate for our daughter for dessert. The bartenders were always friendly along with the front desk. Prices were in line with being in a hotel and considering the top quality of the food and drinks. The grounds were gorgeous with bridges leading to the beach. The live music at the pool was great. I can't express enough how clean this resort is which was so important to us when traveling with a 2 year old. We plan to return in July. We found our new go to resort in Hilton Head, the Westin doesn't stand a chance!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of our resort. Omar is one of our fantastic team members in our food and beverage department, and we will let him know of your kind praise. We are glad you enjoyed our delicious food and beverage delights at Heywards and Sweet Cane. Our live music selections definitely enhance the outdoor spaces of the hotel. We are glad to hear such positive feedback about our zero entry pool. We love being your new go to resort on Hilton Head Island, and can’t wait to have you back in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We first booked a room for 4 nights for me, my husband and our 2 granddaughters. My husband had a business meeting at this resort. We thought we would go earlier and spend 2 nights in Savannah before going to HHI. After thinking about having to unpack and repack we decided to just add the 2 nights to our Sonesta reservations to avoid the hassle. I called a few days before leaving and made reservations for our 2 extra nights and made it perfectly clear that we wanted to be sure and stay in the same room for the entire 6 nights. The gentleman that took my reservations said that would not be a problem...same room entire stay! Once we checked in, Frank checked and said he wasn't sure he could put us in a room for the entire stay and he called Kelli over to take a look. She worked it out and said we would keep the same room for the 6 nights. Once we got to the room, the manager called and said we could only stay in that room for 2 nights and then we would be moved to another room for the other 4 nights. Not happy! We lived out of our suitcases for 2 nights to avoid all of the unpacking and repacking to move which is what I was trying to avoid to start with. The best part of the trip was meeting Charlie. He was so nice and gave great recommendations for great places to eat and places to take the grand kids!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovingthemtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for offering your feedback about the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are delighted you decided to spend some extra time with us outside of your business meeting dates. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with your room change. We strive to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible during their stay. We are in the process of ensuring all of our reservation and front office communication streams are perfectly functioning and that the proper training is being administered. Thank you for your kind comments about Charlie, we will definitely forward him your praise. Before your next visit, please contact our hotel directly so that we may ensure that your visit is perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Property: Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing