We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do what you tell me you'll do!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We first booked a room for 4 nights for me, my husband and our 2 granddaughters. My husband had a business meeting at this resort. We thought we would go earlier and spend 2 nights in Savannah before going to HHI. After thinking about having to unpack and repack we decided to just add the 2 nights to our Sonesta reservations to avoid the hassle. I called a few days before leaving and made reservations for our 2 extra nights and made it perfectly clear that we wanted to be sure and stay in the same room for the entire 6 nights. The gentleman that took my reservations said that would not be a problem...same room entire stay! Once we checked in, Frank checked and said he wasn't sure he could put us in a room for the entire stay and he called Kelli over to take a look. She worked it out and said we would keep the same room for the 6 nights. Once we got to the room, the manager called and said we could only stay in that room for 2 nights and then we would be moved to another room for the other 4 nights. Not happy! We lived out of our suitcases for 2 nights to avoid all of the unpacking and repacking to move which is what I was trying to avoid to start with. The best part of the trip was meeting Charlie. He was so nice and gave great recommendations for great places to eat and places to take the grand kids!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovingthemtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for offering your feedback about the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are delighted you decided to spend some extra time with us outside of your business meeting dates. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with your room change. We strive to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible during their stay. We are in the process of ensuring all of our reservation and front office communication streams are perfectly functioning and that the proper training is being administered. Thank you for your kind comments about Charlie, we will definitely forward him your praise. Before your next visit, please contact our hotel directly so that we may ensure that your visit is perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,466 - 2,472 of 2,551 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Came here for a convention, one of two held at the resort the same week. The pros: AMAZING customer service, great pool, great rooms, beautiful beach. The cons: New resort still working HARD to get it right. We had to wait an hour after check in time for our room. It was not cleaned; refrigerator with left overs and dirty, counter tops not wiped with sticky rings on them, HOWEVER when we reported this to the manager they not only cleaned this up, they left us a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with a cheese and cracker tray, they then called to make sure our room was satisfactory. The room was spotlessly cleaned every day of the four days we were there. Wonderful resort for conventions with great children's programs, beautiful gardens and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkieteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding our customer service and renovations. We are always appreciative of positive comments about the beautiful structural adaptations, but more importantly we wish to hear of how well we are taking care of our guests. This review will be given to our Director of Housekeeping, to ensure that the proper training has been administered where necessary to make sure every element of each room is pristine. We are happy you were pleased with such a delightful recovery of delectable treats preceded by a personal follow up. Thank you for complementing our overall resort complete with lush tropical grounds, Just Us Kids, and a myriad of delicious restaurants. Before your next visit, do let us know ahead of time so that we may perfectly prepare for your arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I went for a long weekend to hilton head and the Sonesta was a features deal on a website! When we arrived they had our room ready ahead of schedule and were very accommodating! The concierge service and front desk staff were great, recommending restaurants/activities and even helping out with reservations! Good beach access and pool area! I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would go back myself!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbarton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your esteemed review of our property. We love hosting last minute guests that have the opportunity to be truly wowed by our resort and staff. Our concierge and front desk teams are always happy and ready to help with any type of need or inquiry. Our outdoor oasis and pool areas feature family friendly elements with Sweet Cane offering delectable food and beverage choices. The proximity to the beach is perfectly nearby. Thank you for recommending us to others. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Sonesta on Hilton Head for four nights. The resort has undergone a complete renovation and the common areas and the rooms are absolutely gorgeous! Every staff member we encountered was accommodating and genuinely pleasant! I had multiple treatments at the spa and would highly recommend their signature massage! I also loved the fact that one resort fee was charged and that included the Wi-fi, the beach towels, the pool towels, parking , etc. Being from Boston, I was familiar with the Sonesta brand and they certainly did not disappoint with this new property in SC!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manofleisurebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding your recent stay. We love that you enjoyed and appreciated the renovated common areas and guest room spaces. We are extremely proud of how pleasantly and happily you were treated by our entire staff. Arum Spa offers incredible services, and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your massage and would like to recommend the spa to others. Our resort offers you excellent amenities daily. We are always excited about hearing of our guests becoming acquainted with the Sonesta brand and our individual properties, each with their own unique look and feel. We can’t wait to have you back to visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My huband and I chose this resort for our 5 anniversary vacation. We enjoyed ourselves from the moment we got there and did not want to leave. When we arrived we immediately got a delicious drink at the pool bar and walked around admiring the scenery. We then went to our room and went to our balcony that offered a beautiful view of the beach. We took the short walk past the pool to the beach and swam in the ocean. This became our daily routine fast. We ended up borrowing bikes from our friends that lived close by and loved the easy access to the bike paths that offered views of the pretty golf
course. We didn't have a bike lock and the hotel
offered a complimentary lock to use during our stay. The
staff was always friendly and helpful. We ate at the
pool bar Sweetcane more than
once and enjoyed the tasty food. Each night we enjoyed the hot tub, which was never crowded. We also hung out on the hammock and looked at the stars. Our last day there we were able to extend our checkout and ate at Heywards for a breakfast buffet that was delicious. We are already discussing our return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmj2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your glowing 5 star review of our hotel. We are pleased you were able to appreciate every element of our resort, from dining on delicious food in Sweet Cane and Heyward’s, to lounging and relaxing in the hot tub, nearby ocean, and hammocks. Shipyard is a perfect bike friendly area to go for a ride, and we are pleased you were accommodated so perfectly with a complimentary lock to use during your anniversary celebration. Thank you for your positive feedback, we look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I were not only impressed with the resort and its amenities,but also with the staff.
Each one that we had contact with was cheerful, smiling and made it a priority to do whatever was necessary to be of help. Unfortunately, I don't have all their names, but I do know that James on the front desk, Bunny on the concierge desk, and James at the valet stand were so helpful and pleasant to help me when I called on them. There were others whose names I didn't get, but all the
staff was always smiling and friendly.
The resort is beautiful and has so much to offer if you just want to stay there. There is also much to see on this lovely island.

Room Tip: Our room was nice and quiet and beds were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your fresh feedback about the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are pleased to know that the beauty of our new renovations accurately reflects the quality of the service within. We will definitely forward your kind and appreciative remarks to all members of the front desk, concierge team, and valet staff. We agree, the resort is perfect to stay put for your vacation, but is housed on the pristine Hilton Head Island, which allows for a myriad of activities and adventures. We hope to have you back soon to visit and enjoy our wonderful resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My review would have been 5 star had it not been for the hidden charges. The room is gorgeous and the grounds are beautiful. I did NOT like the charges at check out. Surprise. I thought free internet and parking was just that. Not that we would be billed at checkout. That's not free. I also thought the area around the resort was very pretty. Wish that there were more dining options. There is a place for burgers in the afternoon, there is a place for fine dining in the evening. Its expensive and the only true restaurant on property, so you need your car for other options. I will return because the accommodations are great, I just know now that there are additional charges.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank QweenBeeachMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonestaHiltonHead, Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy you found our rooms and grounds as beautiful as we do. Our Resort Facilities Fee actually includes the following amenities: self-parking and unlimited access to our gated Shipyard Plantation, unlimited island-wide local calls, basic high-speed wired and wireless package of up to three devices in each guest room, 46” internet-ready smart TV, 24-hour access to our Tech Lounge, 24-hour use of Fitness Center, heated outdoor pool, shade pool, hot tub, and pool towel service, transportation to and from Shipyard Golf Course, daily newspaper, in-room Keurig coffee makers, Just Us Kids and some resort activities. We will ensure that all front desk agents are accurately communicating this information at check in, as well as make sure that our reservation agents are relaying these amenities when rooms are being booked. We strive to offer food and beverage options that are viable and appropriate for all of our clientele. We also have a concierge and front desk team that would love to assist you with finding the perfect dining destinations during your time with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
4.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.0 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island

Address: 130 Shipyard Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $159 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is the perfect getaway for families and couples, destination weddings, and is the place to meet for groups of all sizes. Located within Shipyard Plantation, the Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island is adjacent to Van Der Meer Tennis and Shipyard Golf. Our hotel is only 35 miles from Beaufort, S.C., 45 Miles from Savannah and 100 miles from historic Charleston. Hilton Head Island and the Lowcountry is also home to the RBC Heritage Golf Tournament Presented by Boeing. We are one of the closest, upscale Hilton Head Resorts to island shopping and restaurants. The Sonesta Resort features 331 guest rooms and 9 luxurious suites. All rooms feature private balconies or patios, many with spectacular views of our lush tropical gardens and the horizon of the Atlantic Ocean. Hotel amenities include Arum Spa, an extensive fitness center, outdoor and shaded pool, child's water feature, 24 hour business center, Pearls Market and Just Us Kids(seasonal). Enjoy our breakfast in Heyward's Restaurant, or have lunch at our poolside bar, Sweet Cane (seasonal). Friday evenings, Heyward's features a bountiful seafood buffet (seasonal) which is a local favorite. Seacrest offers lunch options and small plates. Bayley's Lounge offers daily happy hour specials. For the ultimate vacation experience or the premiere meeting spot, the Sonesta Resort is the place to be on Hilton Head Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hilton Head Island Beach Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing