We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reisterstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We travelled from Maryland, a family of six, including four children - ages 9, 7, and 4 year old twins. It was our first time in Hilton Head and for me and my wife, first at a Westin in over a decade. The staff was great, particularly the front desk and especially all associated with the kids club. We attended many activities there - Natasha, Jocelyn and Luke were simply amazing. Also, the proximity from the pools to the beach is awesome. Thanks for a great trip.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank vsrskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback on your family vacation at The Westin. We were delighted that your family enjoyed our beachfront location and the kids club activities. We especially appreciate your comment that our staff was great; especially Natasha, Jocelyn, and Luke as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating escape.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    320
    128
    35
    30
See reviews for
436
429
26
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I gave this a average rating due to our check in experience. Upon reservation (which I went through the hotel directly= 340.00/night) I requested a room with a view of ocean - not the building, not the trees, not the roof of another building and guess what "they" tried to put our family on the 3rd floor over looking the restaurant roof. The front desk fixed the problem by placing us over looking a patio on the 3rd floor (party room) which was LOUD at night-- and we could see the ocean through trees (this was better) . When you check in the front desk has a picture of the view you will have ask to see it-- I guess the moral is you will not always get what you are expecting. The room took 3 hours to be cleaned after being told it was 20 min.?? They were to call me when ready - never happened. After all that the rooms are very clean, the beach is awesome, the work out area is clean, the deck is fun and the food is good. Oh yea NO high def TV amazing for 2014!

Room Tip: high level rooms (floors 4 &5) on the left side of hotel. Get out of the trees.
See more room tips
Green Features: 3rd floor in middle of hotel has an outside patio that people party -- until after 12 midnight
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie4601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your stay at The Westin. We appreciated your comments that you enjoyed our awesome beach and courtyard areas as well as the Westin Workout and the good food you experienced. Due to the configuration of our building, we do have several types of room views that include the ocean such as ocean/pool view, ocean view, and ocean front. Some of these room types do overlook our courtyard and operational areas while still providing a view of the ocean, and I am sorry you were not pleased with your initial guest room view. We are sorry if there was any misunderstanding with the room type reserved. If we had been aware of any noise issues at night, we would have promptly responded to ensure the comfort of all our guests. We are working with local providers related to the HDTV issue, and hope to have this resolved shortly. We do hope that you will return in the future so that we may meet and exceed all your expectations at that time.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My family and I stayed August 2-4. We had a most pleasant experience. With 4 pools, everyone from the youngest to the oldest in our party had a good time. Poolside service was carried out with a smile, the food at the on-site restaurants was top-notch and maid service was accommodating and thorough. My husband did the checking-in and out process with ease. We loved the location and look forward to vacationing at The Westin again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AshFinkSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a great place to stay and that your family had a very pleasant experience. We are delighted you enjoyed our pool environment and top notch food at the restaurants. We appreciate your comment that housekeeping services were accommodating and thorough. We look forward to welcoming your family back soon for another renewing escape.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

First the good: Very comfortable, large rooms. Nice bathrooms. Even the non-view rooms have a view of the quiet wooded areas surrounding the property. Right on the beach with several pools and a short walkway to the beach. Lots of self-parking available (including a garage to protect your car from the elements). Several onsite restaurants including one with a breakfast buffet (quite good). Reasonably priced spa. Little cafe serving Starbucks coffee in the lobby. Attractive lobby with several sofas/comfy chairs. Chair/umbrella rentals on the beach.

The negative: The chairs around the pool have big fluffy off white cushions. This may seem luxurious, but it was actually pretty gross. The material was stained and often had ketchup spills and rogue french fries left behind. After the rain, they were soaking wet and took forever to dry. There are no fitted towels designed to cover the chairs so protecting yourself from the nasty cushions was a matter of grabbing a lot of towels and creating layers. Ugh. Also, all the chairs were always full - not of people, but of stuff holding chairs that no one was ever using. They may have multiple pools, but only one is large and there is no slide or other entertainment. They do a "dive in movie" one night but have it at the really small pool on a blow up movie screen and no place for parents to sit (did I mention the chair hogs??). The employees in the cafe do not actually know how to make the Starbucks drinks on their menu. I totally threw them off with my order and finally just gave up and settled for something they did know how to make. The cafe also had very few choices for quick breakfast food. Maybe the holiday weekend (we were there July 4th) threw them off, but it was disappointing. Don't think about spending the day at the spa or even arriving early. The prices for services are lower than I would expect and the environment in the spa is why. There is a utilitarian steam room and a small sauna. That's it. Neither one made me feel relaxed - the ones at my gym are nicer. Very small locker room. Dark waiting/relaxation room with three chairs and a long bench. Not even somewhere I would go to read a book. Two showers in need of refurbishment. Just go for the service (my massage was very good - and did I mention surprisingly affordable?) and then leave.

Summary: Very comfortable place to stay in a great location. They have a couple of issues to work out though to really provide a luxurious experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yogachick23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your stay at The Westin. I was delighted that you enjoyed our very comfortable guest rooms and baths as well as our spectacular beachfront location. We appreciate your noting that your massage in the Heavenly Spa was very good, but were disappointed that the environment did not meet your expectations as most of our guests share they enjoy the renewing and relaxing atmosphere and amenities. We apologize for the condition of the chairs you observed outside, and know that we are constantly cleaning and maintaining the product and working with the manufacturer for a permanent solution. We do have a policy in place where chairs left unattended poolside for a certain time period have items removed by our staff to ensure that all guests have the opportunity to relax in this area. It is always our intent for our guests to feel renewed and relaxed so upon departure they feel better than when they arrived. I do hope that you will return in the future so we may meet and exceed all your expectations at that time.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We recently stayed at the Westin Hilton Head for 4 nights for a family vacation. We came back after a brief stay last year because the property was beautiful, clean, and family-friendly. We chose a Carolina Suite for the added space for our children to play and to have meals inside the hotel room. The living space was large enough for our children to play on the floor, and we had a mini fridge for quick breakfasts and snacks.

We also loved the easy access to the beach from our room and the three different types of pools for our children to play in (covered, small shallow pool, and a large pool).

The concierge was helpful in finding rainy-day options and for helping us find off-site family friendly activities.

The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping and room service staff were excellent.

There are a couple of things that could be better as a four-star property:
* Better front door service. It seems like the staff at the driveway are ready to help if you are valet parking the car or when you're checking in/out, but for everyday reasons. On a couple of occasions, I was carrying multiple bags and walking with a toddler, and none of the front door staff offered to help me carry the bags into the hotel. No one offered to put the bags on a cart or help me to my room.

* Better Kids' Menu options - I wished the kids' menu offered additional items that would be more palatable to younger kids. Cobb salad, turkey wraps, etc. may tempt some preschoolers, but not mine.

Room Tip: Go for the Carolina Suite if you have a family. The extra space is totally worth it if you're st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a beautiful resort and that your family enjoyed a renewing family vacation. I was glad to know you enjoyed the extra space offered by one of our Carolina Suites as well as quick beach access and our numerous swimming pools. We appreciate knowing our conceirge and housekeeping staff ensured you were well cared for. Please know that our staff strives to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest, and I am sorry that you did not receive special attention when you had arms full from our front door staff which would be our expectation. We do have many healthy food choices for children and will always assist with special requests or dietary needs. We do hope your family will return in the future so we may meet and exceed all your expectations at that time.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our excitement began with the drive into the resort property, with the well manicured hiking/biking trails under very large trees. Valet was friendly and helpful , although we did not valet our car. Registration very helpful finding us a perfect room in a completely booked hotel, accommodating our small service dog.
The tone of this upscale property was a delightful surprise for lack of pretentiousness. Everything from business casual to swimsuit coverups and flip flops. It's not often I see resort properties with such friendly staff, eager to assist. Housekeeping was respectful of do not disturb sign, and impressively efficient. We dined at the comfortable outdoor bar and shared a large seafood tray for two that was delicious. I can't say enough about the servers, as they were so warm and friendly as they met all our requests.
Bravo to the management team here. They seem to be dedicated to making your stay an excellent experience. At the end of our stay we walked away with our receipt saying "Gladly"!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendi-Funmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing that you had a lovely laid-back experience at The Westin. I was delighted to know that our staff ensured you were well cared for by providing personal and instinctive service. It was also nice to know you enjoyed delicious a delicious meal dining at View 32. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Wonderful property, nice staff , easy beach access and lovely pool = Delightful!
Everyone from the bell staff (everyone of them) to Patrick at View 32 couldn't have been more helpful. Great place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank red221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thanks you for sharing that you had a delightful stay at The Westin and that you enjoyed our fantastic pools and easy beach access. We appreciate your complimentary remarks on our staff as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing family vacation.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.9 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 647 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing