We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking!!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The moment you pull into Port Royal to the drive to the hotel is amazing.The staff was very nice and helpfull.I came for my birthday and the hotel sent me chocolates to my room which were deliocous.Enjoy the breakfast buffet on the patio.And the beach was right at your doorstep.And the pool area is so relaxing.The Westin is very family friendly and also romantic.The Westin is are new vacation spot and told friends and family to make there way to Hilton Head and stay at the Westin.Thank you for an amazing vacation!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkleintop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is your new vacation spot. I was delighted that you enjoyed our beachfront location and relaxing pool environment. It was also nice to know that our staff were nice and helpful and ensured you were well cared for by delighting you with a special birthday surprise. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    395
    159
    58
    41
See reviews for
536
520
31
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sammo50
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

First impressions were not great...head bellman barked orders on arrival for parking etc...We reserved and paid for two adjoining oceanfront rooms. At check in there was a big to do about the rooms being adjoining, and do we have to have adjoining? Standing in front of the front desk personnel were my five year old twins, yes....we have to have adjoining! The checked us into our "oceanfront" room, the only thing it fronted was another building, after 25+ minutes on the phone with the front desk they found something for us. Only one of the rooms were ready and we were promised a call when room #2 was ready plus keys, neither materialized. When we called for keys the "at your service rep" could not have been ruder. My husband called the manager with a promise for a call the next day, that never happened either. I would guess if you weren't someone that complains they would have happily taken your "oceanfront" money and put you in a "resort" facing room. We were given 2 free bfast coupons for our trouble, we never used them as we were a party of 4.
Other negatives the "at your service" line would just ring and ring with no one ever answering. Dated pool area with seating at a premium and zero "kid friendly" zones like a slide or splash zones.
Positives: great kids club staff, great friendly hardworking pool staff, pretty rooms, beautiful beach.
Really nice helpful guy at "outside hilton head" the rental company.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sammo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your recent stay at The Westin. We appreciate your comments on our beautiful hotel and beach and also our friendly and hardworking staff. Please accept my sincere apology for the first impression you recevied from our bellman, as it is always our intent for our guests to have a professional and gracious welcome to our resort. I am sorry for any misunderstanding that occurred with your requested guest rooms being connecting. Our staff did their best to accommodate your request, which is not guaranteed, by locating the connecting rooms required to ensure your comfort. We do have several room types related to a view of the ocean, and I can assure you that all efforts were focused on fulfilling your request based on our room type availability. Most guests relay that our 3 swimming pools, multiple options for kids' fun activities, poolside dining, and our Kids Club program, ensure that children have an optimum pool and beachfront experience, and you are correct that we do not offer the splash zone environment so our guests may also have the option of relaxation. We hope that you will return in the future as I know we can meet and exceed all your expectations on your next stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

First time visiting this property, and will definitely be back in the future. This place has undergone a full renovation, and the results are fantastic. I wasn't sure what to expect coming in, as I generally get disappointed more often than not at SPG properties. Over a busy July 4th weekend, I wasn't sure what to expect, however, this place met my high expectations and exceeded them. They honored all SPG benefits and beyond, without even asking (most places need to fight for these). Service was great, the staff was always helpful and attentive. I found prices to be reasonable for a newly renovated, beachfront property on a holiday weekend. Would not hesitate to stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are worth the upgrade. Higher priced suites don't have the same views.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel offers a Green Choice option. For 500 Starpoints you can forgo daily room cleaning.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hongjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback, as a valued SPG Member, on your holiday weekend stay at The Westin. Delighted to read your comment that our recent renovations are fantastic. I appreciate knowing that you received great service from our staff who was helpful and attentive ensuring you were well cared for. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

You walk into the Westin and the aroma relaxes you. The grounds and rooms are wonderful. The staff is top notch. This is my favorite place to stay on the island. Better place for adults, children will love the pools, but the kid programs are limited.

Room Tip: Suite 3082 has limited ocean view and mostly rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alitt7688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank yo for sharing that The Westin is your favorite place to stay on Hilton Head Island. We are delighted that you enjoy our resort grounds and guest rooms as well as our top notch staff. We do have a full array of children's activities every day during the summer season as well as Kids Camp, with information posted as well as available through our concierge team, and I am sorry if you were not aware of all the options. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our stay this year was our 8th. It was a five night stay, No grandchildren this time. The lobby and front entrance gives you the feeling of luxury. The staff always greets you cheerfully. The pool area is great and there are rental chairs/umbrellas on the beach. You can order drinks at the pool and try the Splash pool side restaurant for lunch and then right back in the water. The food is really good. The grounds are just beautiful.

Our stays have been part of a conference but we arrive early to enjoy the non-conference days.

Room Tip: Upper floors to see over the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback about your 8th stay at The Westin to attend a conference and also to enjoy some personal renewal time. We are delighted to know that you like our recently renovated resort and "coastal chic" decor as well as our beautiful grounds. We also appreciate your noting that you enjoyed the great food and drinks at Splash. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have attended a conference (and brought along my family) at the Westin Hilton Head for the last seven years. In the past five years they have made significant improvements to the property, management, and staff. This is now a truly enjoyable place for a conference and for a vacation. The rooms are updated, extremely comfortable, and well maintained. The food is excellent. The pools and beach are great. Above all, the entire staff is friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing that you had an enjoyable stay at The Westin, as one of our valued repeat guests, while attending a conference as well as experiencing a family vacation. Delighted that you enjoyed our recently renovated "coastal chic" resort and our comfortable and well-maintained guest rooms. It was also nice to know you experienced excellent food and our fantastic pools and awesome beach. We appreciate your noting that our entire staff is friendly and helpful as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming your family back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I'm reviewing this as I am staying here. This is our second trip to HHI, we stayed at Sonesta last year and so that will be my comparison as well as other Westins we have stayed. I'll start with the negative and end on a positive. We booked three nights/4 days as a preferred member. My 4 year old woke up this morning (day 3) at 0600 with a 102.4 fever and vomiting. At 0800 I went down to the front desk to ask if we could check out early as I didn't know how her illness would play out. The lady said certainly but we would be charged an early departure fee of one nights stay plus taxes. I told her our situation and that it was 8am and she gave me a look of "oh well". She offered no help, no suggestions. So here we sit taking turns sitting in the room with a sick child and one at the beach. I haven't been charged for a nights stay when checking out before 0900 esp with a vomiting, febrile child. I also was not asked by the front desk staff if there was anything we needed. Unfortunately, with frequent travels, we have had this happen before and you can tell a lot about a hotels staff and mission by how they respond when a guest is very ill, especially a child. Nothing from this hotel. Not even a "hope she feels better", can we send up some ice? Towels? Nothing.
The other flaws I'll mention are the hallway carpets have not been vaccumed over the past 3 days. There are crumbs and trash and sand littering the 4th floor hallway. The lobby and pool areas are pristine but for some reason the hallways are neglected. Our room hasn't been vaccumed either as I feel sand on the tile floors when walking.
We ate breakfast one morning outside and were disappointed in the food. The waffles were incredibly dry. We stayed at sonesta last year and Haywood's breakfast was amazing. This paled in comparison. The last less than stellar experience was a young lady at concierge our day of arrival. She had little to offer in restaraunt suggestions and made no offer to make a reservation anywhere. She offered zero suggestions or enthusiasm regarding activities, food selection or anything else she is there for. I'll again compare this to our experience at sonesta last year. Their concierge made us reservations every night which included Ella's, topside and their restaurant . All suggestions were amazing and we got in last minute July 3 and 4th. She was very informative and seemed to know hilton head inside and out. Those customer service performances are what makes people feel as if the hotel wants to please their guests and help them achieve a fantastic vacation. When you are not familiar with a destination you want concierge to help you out. I will say that this westin falls short in the concierge and front desk dept when compared to Sonesta down the road.
The upside:
Pools maintained well and clean. The property outside is beautifully landscaped and provides lots of shaded lounging. The pool food is delicious as are the drinks. I appreciated the staff walking around and taking drink and food orders and delivering them to your chairs. There is a place to rent bikes on property. If you rent ride to the north side and enjoy the vast beach and tide pools at low tide. It's breathtaking. There are kids activities during the day that are free as well as the kids club (which we didn't sign up for). Each morning a nice gentleman comes to the koi pond to let the kids feed the fish. They loved that.
My overall impression is that the resort is beautiful with great poolside drinks, food and some kid planned activities. We have stayed at westin resorts before and you become accustomed to a certain level of service. Unfortunately, this westin fell short for us regarding our sick 4 year old and the concierges lack of desire to perform her job well or at all. This is our second year at hilton head and I am sure we will be back next summer but I'm not convinced id return to this wonderful resort due to it's customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craquell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback on your stay at The Westin. I was glad to read the many favorable remarks on our facility and numerous amenities. It was, however, quite alarming that our staff did not provide a medical recommendation for ensuring your 4 year old daughter was well cared for in regard to the circumstances you noted. We hope that she has since recovered. It is always our intent for our guests to receive efficient and courteous service from all our associates, and I am very sorry your expectations were not met. We value your feedback as we continually strive to meet and exceed guest expectations and look forward to welcoming your family back for a positive and renewing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
9.0 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#9 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing