We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Marriott's Grande Ocean(Hilton Head)
$454
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$153
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$186
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hilton Head(Hilton Head)
$69
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$271
$215
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$313
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,736)
Filter reviews
1,736 results
Traveler rating
985
441
191
69
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
985
441
191
69
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarolina roomheavenly bedpool areakoi pondocean viewcovered poolself parkingkids cluboutdoor barbeautiful propertyhilton head islandhot tubhousekeeping stafflounge chairsthe entire staffoff seasoncommon areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,316 - 1,321 of 1,736 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

An overall excellent hotel!

Rooms were fantastic!

Housekeeping staff was amazing, friendly and exceeded expectations!

Pool areas were exceptional! On the beach, great pools, fantastic drinks and service.

Carolina restaurant was fantastic for breakfast buffet. Exceptional Staff!

Kids movies at the pool were fantastic!

Check In/Check Out was very good. (had called months in advance for a specific room and we did not get the room of our choice which was disappointing).

Rooms were fantastic, if you don't have a Westin bed at home, think of getting one! Dream come true!

Overall an exceptional stay at Westin Hilton Head!

Room Tip: Ocean View If getting a Carolina Suite, ask for 5th floor so you have the best view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pineappleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for sharing that you had a simply spectacular time at The Westin. Delighted to know that the housekeeping staff exceeded your expectations, and that you experienced exceptional staff throughout your stay as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service. We were glad that you enjoyed our beach and pool environment as well as the guest rooms and our signature Heavenly Bed. While we do our best to honor specific requests for guest rooms, this is not always possible due to room type availability, guest stayovers, etc. It is always the intent for our guests to feel special and well cared for, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another exceptional and rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa is the best resort on the entire island. I have stayed here several times and after their $30 million renovation of the property its even better. The updates to the rooms, lobby and pool area make the property fresh and clean with a modern touch on a beach resort. You definitely need to request a ocean view room on the third floor or higher. Whenever staying on Hilton Head Island you must make this your resort of choice. The pool is great for familys of all ages. You can lounge by the pool all day and have the resort pool restaurant, Splash, serve you food and drinks after 11am. We had a server name Ian and he was absolutely the best. He is a very nice young man with customer service oozing from every poor. Make sure to ask for Ian while out by the pool. He also works parties and banquets at night so he works hard but smiles the whole time doing it. The beach is a quick walk over the board walk so you can actually play at the pool and walk out on the beach for a touch of salt with ease. The resort is perfectly located as you come onto the island with plenty of shopping and restaurants near by. If you want to play golf, then you have the Port Royal Golf Course next door to the resort. Truly no reason to leave Port Royal at all once you arrive at The Westin unless you want to shop or check out some local restaurants. I will definitely be returning for another stay.

Room Tip: High floor room, level 3 or higher, with ocean view away from the elevator or ice room
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDB0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for sharing that The Westin is the best resort on Hilton Head Island. We appreciate your noting, as one of our valued repeat guests, that our recent "coastal chic" renovation is clean and modern. Delighted that you enjoy our invigorating pool environment and Splash; particularly the outstanding service provided by Ian. Our staff strives to ensure that all guests are well cared for by providing personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

My review is a bit negative due to the sheer number of people at the resort. While the grounds and hotel are very nice, there is simply not enough space for everyone when the hotel is at full occupancy. By 9am, every pool chair that is in a reasonable location, is taken by either towels or people. There are 3 pools; however, they are small. We rented chairs and an umbrella on the beach (only $34 and they set it up) but the beach was so crowded. I felt like I was at a public beach. There are also lots of jellyfish.

The restaurants are nice; however, the food is average hotel food and there was a substantial wait- except for breakfast. When there is a wedding (we encountered 3 in 4 days), it is extremely loud at midnight, even in your room. The balcony is small and our view was partially blocked by trees and we were on the 3rd floor (there are only 5 floors). When we asked to move, we were told the hotel was at full occupancy. The place is huge and it takes at least 10 minutes to get from an upper floor to the outside.

I technically do not give bad reviews on vacation but I was disappointed and will hopefully stay at another resort while in HHI.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for sharing your perspective on your recent stay at The Westin. We appreciate your comments that the resort grounds and hotel are very nice. Our pool and beach environments are very popular with guests at this pleasant time of the year, and we do have many options for pool lounge chairs in either shady or sunny locations, near the restaurant/bar, ocean view, near one of the 3 pools or outdoor hot tub, etc. depending on their preference. We do remove guest belongings on unattended chairs after 30 minutes to ensure that all guests have access to this amenity. We also have private cabanas available for rental which include lounges, refrigerators, and televisions. It is always our intent to ensure our guests are well cared for, and we are sorry we could not accommodate a room move due to availability. Had we been aware of any loud noise issues, we would have promptly responded to ensure the comfort and relaxation of all guests. We usually receive very favorable comments on our restaurants/bars and quality of experience, and we are sorry for any wait you experienced due to their popularity. The Town of Hilton Head Island contracts with a private vendor for all public beach services and rentals on the island, which we do not control. However, our usually pristine beachfront is regularly recognized as being one of the best locations on Hilton Head Island. Our ocean waters have a very healthy ecosystem that is teaming with sea life, and jellyfish can be seen at certain times as well as starfish, sanddollars, crabs, fish, dolphins, etc. We hope that you will reconsider our resort as I know we can meet and exceed all your expectations on a future stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this property many times and this visit was amazing as usual. The pool area is beautifully landscaped and is a very tropical relaxing area. There is ample seating around the pools in very soft comfortable lounges. There are seats in the sun and many in shade. The multiple pools provide a lot of area to go swimming so you never feel crowded. When we were at the hotel it was sold out and still did not feel crowded. I do not have children, but the recreation staff from what we observed were amazing. They go from playing in the pool to other activities in the blink of an eye. All of the kids seemed to be having a great time. The view 32 bar/ restaurant has an amazing view and amazing food. The staff when you pass in the hallway always have a smile and greeting. The only way to get closer to the water than the ocean front rooms is to sleep on the sand! The view from the balcony in the room is breathtaking. The long walk on the hallways to the ocean front rooms is well worth it! The public beach at the hotel is staffed by lifeguards from the town and provides a safe place to swim!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rbvny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for sharing, as a repeat customer, that you had an amazing stay at The Westin recently. Delighted to know that you enjoyed our relaxing pool environment and for your comments on your observation of our recreation staff ensuring all of the chiildren had a great time. It was great to know your ocean front guest room enhanced your experience by providing the breathtaking view for which we are known. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Westin for our honeymoon. I fully admit, I am totally biased when it comes to the Westin. It's my favorite hotel chain. The room was huge and had a spectacular view of the hotel's pools, as well as the ocean. There is 4 restaurants in the hotel, so there really was no need to leave the hotel for meals. (And since it requires a $20+ taxi ride to get anywhere else to eat, it really was the cheaper option.) The staff was courteous and did everything in their power to ensure our stay was enjoyable. We visited the hotel's spa while we were there, and got an amazing couples massage. The concierge also booked us a fishing charter through Outside Hilton Head, which was the most awesome day ever! Our boat captain, Marcus, was not only knowledgeable, but was a blast to work with. Everything about our stay was perfect and I would highly recommend the Westin and Outside Hilton Head.

Room Tip: The heavenly bed was SO COMFY! And if you stay at the Westin, you must get a room with a view!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Congratulations on your marriage. Thank you for choosing The Westin for your honeymoon destination and for sharing that you enjoyed your guest room with a spectacular ocean/pool view and our on-site dining options. We appreciate knowing that your couples massage experience at the Heavenly Spa was amazing, and that you enjoyed an awesome fishing charter adventure with Outside Hilton Head. I was also delighted that our staff was courteous and ensured you were well cared for as it is always our intent for our guests to receive personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews