We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel to relax at. Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is our second trip to Hilton head both in the off season and our first time at the Westin. Last year we stayed at the omni while it was under renovations and while nice seemed dated. The Westin finnished their Renovation and I want to complement the team as it is now a wonderful property and well appointed in many details. I do have a concern during high season the fitness room will not have enough equipment as it seemed small for a hotel this large. The rooms are a touch small but very well put together and comfortable. The balcony is large and private. A place you can relax and be away

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jonToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a great hotel for relaxation. We appreciate your complimentary remarks on our recent renovation, comfortable guest rooms, and nice balcony area. We have found that the Westin Workout space does nicely accommodate guest needs as the facility is available to guests on a 24 hour a day basis with the latest in fitness equipment. Delighted that you chose The Westin on your return trip to Hilton Head Island, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,354 - 1,360 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I decided to seek a warmer climate on the 26th of december,, 2 suit cases a set of golf clubs and a cooler w/ soft drinks and munchies. Lets drive south. Our destination was Savannah, we ended up on Hilton Head SC. We called for reservations for Westin in Savannah around the time we hit the middle of N. Carolina,, BOOKED,, the operator set us up at Westin in Hilton Head, Around 12 hours after leaving home,, we arrived in Hilton Head and drove in to the Westin Resort,, exhausted we where greeted by a very nice young man ( Matt ) who confirmed our reservations and took care of my car. The room was a welcomed site,, it was Clean,, top to bottom as well as the bathroom. As a habbit I have always pulled the sheets down to ,,yes inspect them ( would you dive into a pool you couldnt see the bottom ) clean and crisp. I asked for an ocean view,,and got,,an ocean view ( 4th floor ) The bathroom was perfectly laid out double sinks w/ elbow room glass accent tiles and well lit. The shower had 2 choices rain head and a hand held almost pressure washer ( lol )The tub was ideal for soaking it's trimmed with about 4' of slab stock marble whoever desiged it,, had a brain. Good closet space and drawers standard chair & ottoman large flat screen standard channels and of course a coffe maker. Great ocean view w/ pool and courtyard below.The elevators where responsive always. There is a morning coffe bar and a all purpose store an ATM machine by the concierge desk. Everyone we saw either a guest or employee said hello. Pet friendly place I saw a few little dogs here and there, never heard them other than that. I was very happy w/ The Westin and the staff and everything else. Definately a return trip in the future.

Room Tip: Ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed your December visit to The Westin. We appreciate knowing that you found the ocean view guest room exceptionally clean and that you were quite satisfied with our resort amenities. It was great to know that Matt made a favorable impression at check-in and that our staff was very friendly. We look forward to your return in the near future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Had my first massage at the Westin Spa. The environment of the spa was very relaxing, clean and had a warm modern feel. The employees went over and beyond to make you feel comfortable and relaxed. Highly recommend everyone to get a facial or body massage. Complementary mimosas and champagne are offered.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing feedback on your Heavenly Spa experience at The Westin. Delighted to know that you enjoyed our relaxing spa environment and that our associates provided personal and instinctive service to ensure a renewing, wellness experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable and rejuvenating spa day.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

It was a surprise for my birthday and I loved it. The food was a little pricey...$10 for cereal andmilk, $26 for shrimp & grits, $6 for yogurt, and so on...your best bet is to go out to eat. The staff is friendly and the ocean view was amazing:)) I will definitely be going back...the nail techs were sweet ladies also ...love them!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsNice_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your surprise birthday stay at The Westin. Delighted that you loved your ocean view guest room and our staff in the Heavenly Spa. Our food & beverage pricing is very competitive with other Hilton Head Island and east coast resorts, and we always strive to provide a high quality product for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I wasn't very excited about staying at a Westin though it had been years. Nevertheless, I recommend this Westin to anyone staying at Hilton Head. The room was generically nice and had a lovely private view from the balcony. The hallway to our room had to be as long as a football field and I'm hardly exaggerating ! But what stood out were a few people, the outdoor pool area and the beach. The beach is perfect for walking- flat, very wide and clean. The Westin pool area is inviting and as nice as very expensive alternatives we've been to in Mexico and the Caribbean . But what made the Westin stand out were 2 people. We strolled down to the front lobby to find a cocktail and the first employee we ran into was the assistant director of finance,Michelle, who personally escorted us to the cafe where we were allowed to sit at the bar 20 minutes before they opened at 5:30. Still, the bartender, John, made us drinks as he stacked his shelves for a busy Friday night. He casually conversed while not being obtrusive and we winded up having a particularly engaging conversation. This guy is the quintessential bartender who can talk to anyone and make one feel at home. Whatever Westin is paying John and Michelle should be raised! We paid around $180.00 for the night before the assorted taxes which included a 20 dollar resort fee, which we were mystified about but oh well, it is the high season.

Room Tip: 5th floor but be prepared for a good long walk to many of the rooms closest to beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive recommendation of The Westin. We are glad that you enjoyed our pool area and fantastic beach. It was a pleasure to learn that John and Michelle ensured you received personal and instinctive service. Our resort fee is clearly defined as part of the reservation process/confirmation and includes numerous amenities such as shuttle service to resort golf, tennis, and local shopping mall; local and 800 toll free phone calls; access to the resort fitness center; resort self parking, as well as wireless internet. We hope that you will return in the near future for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We decided to spend a few pre Christmas days at the Westin, our favorite Starwood property. We got a great off season rate, ocean front room (platinum), and had most of the place to ourselves. This is a great time of year, you pretty much have the beach to yourself.
The staff at the Westin is the best. We had great spa treatments, and as we were on our way, John Green the Director of Housekeeping, asked in the hall how are stay was. He was genuinely interested in our guest experience, and surprised us with a nice gift. We were so impressed! The hotel also supports local charities, especially this time of the year.
Even before the renovation, we loved the location. Now with the fresh look and 5 star staff, it's the best!

Room Tip: Ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed your holiday stay at The Westin in one of our ocean front guest rooms. We were delighted to know that you had great spa treatments at the Heavenly Spa and that our staff provided personal and instinctive service. We certainly appreciate your comments on John being interested in your guest experience and ensuring you were impressed. We hope that you will return in the future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel is wonderful...all newly redone. Great staff. This hotel is right on the beach so it was amazing to go down stairs and walk onto the beach. Parking is a breeze and easy to access.
The restaurant was very good. Would highly recommend...also Kids would have a great time here. The pool area is beautifully done...great place to relax and enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank designer1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Westin. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our newly renovated, oceanfront resort and that your restaurant experience was very good. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another relaxing and renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
9 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
4 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $140 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on Hilton Head Island's famous white sand beaches and nestled amidst swaying palmetto trees, The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa offers travelers a lush tropical oasis. Enjoy the array of inspired amenities available at our Hilton Head Island resort, including private access to miles of pristine beaches, three beautiful swimming pools and four on-site restaurants. Children will love spending time at the Westin Family Kids Club, while you can escape to the Heavenly Spa by Westin™ for a rejuvenating massage. We also offer hotel guests access to the adjacent Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club for championship golf and tennis. All guestrooms feature the Westin Heavenly Bed® and double-vanity Heavenly Bath®, as well as a private balcony, many of which boast stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing