We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and property.”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The Westin Resort Hilton Head remains one my favorites. The inn underwent a renovation this year and is much updated. The poolside amenities are stellar, with a great restaurant. The inside restaurant is fresh and healthy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyBHoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a favorite and that you enjoyed our upgraded and renovated resort inclduing the poolside amenities and our restaurants. We hope that you will return in the future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    413
    166
    66
    44
See reviews for
577
533
32
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We decided to stay here last minute as an add on to our trip to Savannah. The hotel was just renovated ( we were told over $30 million was spent), the public areas and guest rooms were beautiful. The Manager treated us very well when she found out if was our anniversary. We were there off season, so the beach and pool area was quiet and unattended ( no chairs on the beach) which was our only disappointment. Most of the rooms have wonderful views, anything with a pool view will have a view of the ocean too it seems. We will return here in peak season. There are so many wonderful restaurants in Hilton Head, which is important for us when we travel. The staff was very accommodating, we look forward to returning here in the spring.

Room Tip: Avoid garden room, the trees blocked our ocean view, if the hotel pruned back some of the trees all...
See more room tips
Green Features: Westin always seems to be a leader in being environmentally friendly it seems.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback that our recently renovated Westin is beautiful. Delighted to know that you enjoyed your anniversary visit and that our staff was very accommodating. The Town of Hilton Head contracts with a vendor to provide beach chairs and amenities on the beach which typically starts in March and ends in October. Our resort is not permitted to set-up beach chairs, etc. on the beach. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next spring for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We got married in October at the Westin and our experience was incredible. Julia did a great job of making our day magical. Our guests commented on how great the food and service was. Bartenders were great, the mashed potato bar was spectacular and this place just shines!

Cara did a great job of putting the welcome party together and View 32 is a great location.
Olivia at the front desk was able to help all of our guests. All the bellman were terrific. Rooms were clean and high quality. Sara at View 32 was excellent bartender and lunch was delicious.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Njtrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing that your wedding experience at The Westin was incredible. Congratulations on your marriage. We appreciate your complimentary remarks on Julia, Cara, Olivia, Sara, the bellmen, and the bartenders as our staff always strives to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I took my wife to the Westin in Hilton Head for a surprise getaway last weekend. She had a spa day at the Heavenly Spa on the property and raved about it. She was treated like a queen, and the staff made special arrangements due to the fact that my wife is pregnant. They were very accommodating. The room was gorgeous. It was very modern in its decor and accents, with a very modernly designed bathroom, and an incredibly comfortable bed. The pool area which includes 4 different pools with lunch and bar options wasn't in full swing as we visited in the off-season, but it was beautifully landscaped and well maintained. The Westin has all of these amenities, AND it's beachfront! We will definitely be back for another visit in the warmer weather.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed the amenities of The Westin on your getaway weekend. We were glad to know that your wife was well cared for at the Heavenly Spa and that our staff provided personal and instinctive service. We appreciate your comments on the modern-designed guest room and our comfortable, signature Heavenly Bed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Westin late in September. A friend who moved down to the Hilton Head area suggested it, and it was a great choice. The property is beautiful, and the beach is the nicest on the island. While we were only there two nights, and did not use any of the resort food facilities, the service was fast and friendly, and we were more than satisfied with our room. It was a relaxing comfortable stay, and I would absolutely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing that your visit to The Westin was a great choice. We appreciate your comments that the property is beautiful, the beach is the nicest on the island, and that service was fast and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing and relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have never been more disappointed in a resort! You would think a manager passing you in the lobby would smile and say good morning. Not at this pathetic excuse for a resort. Expect a nasty face and miserable swagger. You'd think if you asked for a crib prior to checking in it would be in your room. Not here! As a matter of fact, the crib didn't show up until after 11pm! Oh and we asked for it 4 TIMES starting at check-in around 6pm. I also must comment on the terrible service and food at the Carolina Cafe. We were given water and then no one came back for a drink order for over 30 minutes. The manager contently walked around aimlessly never questioning why we didn't even have a drink in front of us. The food was seriously disgusting and ridiculously overpriced for the incredibly poor quality. If we were not attending a wedding the following evening, we would have checked out immediately and probably would have had a crib in our new resort room sooner. The actual building is very nice and clean so at least we could bare that aspect. The wedding was on the beach and that was beautiful. The service at the wedding was terrible. We actually had to ask the servers to clear plates and glasses from the table. I have never been more disappointed and disgusted with the service of a resort. Honestly, I have experienced better service at hotels one third the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaclyn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your recent stay at The Westin. We appreciate your noting that our resort is very nice, beautiful, and clean. We apologize that the service you received was not up to our usual high standards as most guests respond very positively about our staff providing personal and instinctive service. Regarding your crib request, we would have had the crib in the guest room upon your arrival if it was noted in the reservation, and we also have an internal tracking system that should have ensured your check-in request for a crib was handled promptly. I am very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced which has been shared with our team for further investigation and corrective action. We usually receive accolades on the Carolina Cafe, as well as wedding events, in both service and quality of food. We always appreciate guest feedback so we may improve, and I apologize for any shortcomings which are being reviewed further with our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. We hope that you will provide us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future as I know we can meet and exceed your expectations at that time.
Be Well,
Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville, nc
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I have traveled for 35 years, and this place was the worst place(and this includes some real dives) I have ever stayed. From the service, to the layout, to the room, to the attitude of the management(I feel like I'm rambling, but it all was TERRIBLE)....THE WORST...."Oceanview" is a view of treetops(maybe call it "birdview?")....Walking distance from lobby to THE ONE elevator is 570 ft(almost 2 football fields)and then more walking to the room...They will not let you use a luggage carrier to take your luggage those 2 football fields(you can only pay a staffer to walk you to your room with it)....Inadequate parking....and a special added "Fee" (in addition to the $250 for the room)for the "privilege" of staying at the "resort"(which came to $100 dollars for 2 days)....When I told them the first night I was very unhappy, they shrugged and said "We are familiar with your room, and know you room is not what you expected, but we are keeping the $500 you already paid, but we will waive the resort fee of $100"....and act like they did me a BIG favor....They came to clean our room on Day 2 while we were getting ready for dinner(almost 6pm)...And finally, some of the room lights did not work, the bathroom door would not close.......Best time I ever had?....No....made me not want to go back to Hilton Head, where I have been several times before and loved it....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NotRestinatWestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We were very disappointed to read your review about your stay at The Westin. It is always our goal for our guests to have a renewing and rejuvenating stay, while ensuring they are well cared for. Most on-line reviews are very positive regarding our newly renovated resort, as well as the top notch service for which we are known, and we apologize that you did not have an enjoyable stay. We do have many room types due to the configuration of our building, and ocean view does provide a view of the ocean, although it is not an ocean front view without any obstructions such as trees. We do have 3 lobby elevators and an elevator located in each of our towers which are close in proximity to the courtyard and beach access, and I am sorry if you were not aware of all locations. The rooms with spectacular views are located further away from the lobby area towards the ocean. I am sorry if we were not able to offer you alternative accommodations to meet your satisfaction. For safety reasons, our insurer does not permit guests to utilize the luggage carts, although our valet service is always complimentary for guests. I would like to clarify that our resort fee is $20 per day and includes numerous amenities such as shuttle service to resort golf, tennis, and local shopping mall/marina, local and 800 toll-free phone calls, access to the resort fitness center, resort self parking, as well as wireless internet. Many of our guests prefer the one-time fee to paying separately for each amenity. The only other fees charged are applicable state and local taxes which are mandated by law. Our housekeeping team does work from 8:30 a.m. until approximately 6:00 p.m. cleaning guest rooms, however, if a guest has a certain timeframe they would prefer, we are happy to accommodate a request. We are very sorry there were issues in the guest room with a door and lighting not functioning properly, and had we known of the issues, we would have rectified immediately to ensure your satisfaction. We hope that you will reconsider staying at The Westin on your next trip to Hilton Head Island as I know we can meet and exceed your expectations.
Be Well,
Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
771 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
848 reviews
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on Hilton Head Island's famous white sand beaches and nestled amidst swaying palmetto trees, The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa offers travelers a lush tropical oasis. Enjoy the array of inspired amenities available at our Hilton Head Island resort, including private access to miles of pristine beaches, three beautiful swimming pools and four on-site restaurants. Children will love spending time at the Westin Family Kids Club, while you can escape to the Heavenly Spa by Westin™ for a rejuvenating massage. We also offer hotel guests access to the adjacent Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club for championship golf and tennis. All guestrooms feature the Westin Heavenly Bed® and double-vanity Heavenly Bath®, as well as a private balcony, many of which boast stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing