We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed The Mark in a Few Areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Missed The Mark in a Few Areas”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just finished a three night stay at this Westin, attending a convention with my wife and adult daughter. I must admit I had pretty high hopes and expectations, based upon the website, its recent renovation, and previous Westin experiences. First the minuses. Check-in was glacial, with only a maxiumum of 4 check-in service bays, but only two staffed at 3:00 PM on a weekend. My reservation was messed up and it took a rather unpleasant and lengthy conversation with the MOD to correct it. The restaurant menu looks quite imaginative and inviting but breakfast, lunch and dinner samplings were disappointing and expensive. The service, however, was exemplary. The room was average size - with two queens all the only seating was a single chair - with no reading light. The rooms are dimly lit and lack adequate power outlets. Double sinks are a plus but a tub/shower combination reflect the dated layout. Our ocean view room had a small balcony but quite a bit of outdoor bar noise. At least no rooms look out over the parking lot but the pool or varying aspects of the ocean. The pluses include ample and free parking - including in a garage directly underneath the hotel with elevators directly to your floor. The bedding is awesomely comfortable. All rooms have a small refrigerator. The pool area and grounds are attractive but not overwhelming so. The beach is huge and easily accessible, with hard-packed sand. There are ample restaurants near at hand - including an Atlanta Bread Company. The Harris Teeter grocery store is also close by. All things considered, an okay experience. I would likely look elsewhere next time I come to Hilton Head.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRV_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin. We were delighted to know that you enjoyed the ample parking, our comfortable signature Heavenly Bed, attractive pool and resort grounds, and our fantastic beach. We appreciate your comment that the service you received in the restaurant was exemplary. We usually receive very favorable comments on our restaurants and bars and are sorry you were disappointed in the menu items and pricing which is very competitive with other Hilton Head Island and east coast resorts. We were glad that our MOD was able to assist you at check-in with an issue and apologize for any inconvenience. Our brand new bed furniture actually has reading lights built into the headboard, and I am sorry if you were not aware of this feature. Many of our guests do prefer to have a tub/shower combination, in addition to the brand new dual sinks and completely renovated bathroom, which includes a new deeper soaking tub. We hope hope that you will return in the future so we may meet and exceed all your expectations at that time.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    413
    166
    66
    44
See reviews for
577
533
32
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

After a long day of traveling, our room upon entry was 64 degrees. It was October 25th and in the high forties outside. We turned the heat on in our room and it never got warm. The maintenance man tried to fix it, and brought us back a dirty space heater that blew a fuse and broke. Since our room was on the first floor, he suggested that it would be warmer if we moved upstairs and we could get the room up to 75 degrees. We had already been at this for an hour waiting for the room to warm up and it was midnight. We packed up our things and moved upstairs and went through the same charade. I asked for blankets and received two dirty brown wrinkled fleece like blankets that were worse than the old airplane blankets. Upon returning them to the front desk disgusted, I was promised two down blankets with duvet covers. What materialized much later were two lumpy white quilts without duvets that were not down. In addition the promise of another heater never was fulfilled. You could not take your shoes off and walk on the floor in bare feet bc it was so very cold. The room was blowing cold air that would only ever reached a high of 68 degrees. It wasn't until 1:30 am that a new maintenance man on duty finally admitted that the room would never get any warmer bc the hotel heat hadn't been turned on yet and wouldn't be until sometime in November. At that point, we got on our iPads and scrambled to find a property nearby that had the heat already on. We left at 2am exhausted and completely disgusted with the "heavenly Westin experience". What a nightmare. Since we were there with a large group, the next day my husband went back and when he spoke with the manager, she offered him a free breakfast! How kind for our trouble. I would never recommend staying here before confirming whether you have the ability to have the thermostat in the room actually work and make the room warmer than 68. I can only imagine elderly people or others that would not tolerate it being so cold. The level of service was abysmal and if they had been honest from the beginning, we could have left much earlier and not been completely exhausted and angry. The managers on duty were very plain faced and didn't follow through whatsoever to see if our problems had remotely been resolved. This hotel needs a lot more than the multiple million dollar renovation that it received. It needs a heating and cooling system to each room and a staff that is responsive, follows through and offers more than a breakfast when two people leave in the middle of the night to a competing property with heat.

Room Tip: Don't go in between seasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paint1868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts, as a valued SPG Member, on your recent stay at The Westin. It is always our intent for our guests to feel well cared for, and I am sorry there was an issue with the heat in the guest room not warming up quickly, as well as any misunderstandings regarding the temperature control. Our guest rooms all have individual thermostats which the guest can control at any time of the year to ensure their comfort. Our weather in October is such a beautiful time of the year, and we are sorry we could not get you comfortable. Our staff did provide a new space heater in the second room and checked that the thermostat was working correctly to adjust the temperature. The staff also provided blankets and comforters that were freshly laundered, and I am sorry they were not satisfactory. The Manager on Duty offered several options to accommodate for your dissatisfaction which you declined prior to your check-out. In checking both rooms after your departure, both thermostats were functioning properly. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations for a comfortable stay and hopefully you will return in the future so we may meet and exceed your expectations.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stay on property for the first time .went with a co work for a convention and i was amaze.all I have to say if it wasn't for the golfing it would be perfect for a lover gettaway.I wasn't impress with the town it itself it was hard to get around when you not from there But I give the resort a 2 thumbs up

and

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing that your visit to The Westin was perfect and that you were amazed. Our resort has a lot of amenities besides golf that ensure a great visit such as our courtyard and pool area, Heaveny Spa, tennis, beachfront location, restaurants, etc. We hope that you will return in the future for another memorable getaway.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

What an awesome first time visit to HHI and the Westin Resort and Spa. The place was incredible, immaculately clean, every person we encountered was pleasant and always ensuring we were having a great time. We were also pleasantly surprised to find a cake in our room as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. I casually mentioned this when I had to call to adjust our reservation by one night as my wife had to have a root canal done. I mentioned how it was unfortunate as were were celebrating an anniversary. That is all I said, and the reservation specialist took that and next thing we had a beautiful and delicious chocolate cake. We will be back for sure on many future occasions. Room was great, bar, pool, spa, first class operation for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean front was well worth it!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you had an awesome first visit to The Westin for an anniversary celebration. We appreciate your noting that the facility was incredible, immaculately clean, and that our staff ensured you were well cared for. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit Hilton Head Island and we made reservations at the Westin Hilton Island Resort and Spa. The room was newly remodeled and beautiful and our stay there was fantastic! We had a great view of the ocean and choose the breakfast for 2 option and had a wonderful breakfast each morning while we were there. The staff was great and I would highly recommend you staying here if you are in the area! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Fifth floor rooms offer the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you had a fantastic stay at The Westin recently. It was nice to know that you enjoyed the ocean view from your guest room and wonderful breakfast each morning. We appreciate your comment that the staff was great as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our 2nd time to the westin first time was last year in April when the renovations were just finished. It is so tropical you feel like you are on a island, well i guess the island of Hilton Head. They have made some enhancements since last year that were well deserved. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful, from front desk, concierge, pool, pool bar and housekeeping staff. Donna was a great help to arrange a number of plans for our trip. There is now outside seating for breakfast at Carolina café.
A few things I must note: We stayed in a Carolina suite, it is a lovely room however not a lot of privacy that you expect from a suite, there is no private door separating the rooms, however maybe sometype of curtain along with the tv unit to have some privacy when someone is sleeping. Also a frosted door for a bathroom door, the privacy is fine however the light is blinding through it. And there was no full length mirror anywhere in the room, Even in the regular rooms there is a full length mirror. Pool area, by the back pool area, all the chairs and lounges were removed to have weddings, I thought that on Monday the lounges and chairs would return, some did but not enough on the sunny days, as that is the area that gets the most sun in the afternoon. Also the pool bar (Spash) closed after our first day there, for the season, it was disappointing not to have chair service around the pool, but then it opened up for a day or two when I guess the hotel was busier. Though View 32 was always an option the outside bar that is fun to hang out at.. See you next year Hilton Head....

Room Tip: any of the rooms offer a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfgalPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you had another great trip to The Westin. We appreciate your comments on our upgraded and enhanced resort. Delighted to know that our staff was very friendly and helpful as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive servicel; and especially appreciate your comment on Donna. We do have some restaurants which are open based on seasonality, and Splash, our poolside restaurant, is usually closed at this time of the year. As you mentioned, we do have View 32, another outside bar and dining area, which is currently available as an option. Your comments on the mirror and pool chairs have been shared wtih our team for further investigation, but we do always have plenty of lounges and chairs available throughout the courtyard area. We hope that you will return in the future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Hall, Arkansas, USA
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and I have nothing negative to say. Ocean view, several pools, and some of the best food I have ever had! All the staff was very nice and the rooms were very nice and comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed your visit to The Westin. We appreciate your comments that the food was the best, the guest rooms were nice and comfortable, and that our staff was nice as they strive to ensure our guests are well cared for. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
771 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
848 reviews
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on Hilton Head Island's famous white sand beaches and nestled amidst swaying palmetto trees, The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa offers travelers a lush tropical oasis. Enjoy the array of inspired amenities available at our Hilton Head Island resort, including private access to miles of pristine beaches, three beautiful swimming pools and four on-site restaurants. Children will love spending time at the Westin Family Kids Club, while you can escape to the Heavenly Spa by Westin™ for a rejuvenating massage. We also offer hotel guests access to the adjacent Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club for championship golf and tennis. All guestrooms feature the Westin Heavenly Bed® and double-vanity Heavenly Bath®, as well as a private balcony, many of which boast stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing