We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit Hilton Head Island and we made reservations at the Westin Hilton Island Resort and Spa. The room was newly remodeled and beautiful and our stay there was fantastic! We had a great view of the ocean and choose the breakfast for 2 option and had a wonderful breakfast each morning while we were there. The staff was great and I would highly recommend you staying here if you are in the area! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Fifth floor rooms offer the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you had a fantastic stay at The Westin recently. It was nice to know that you enjoyed the ocean view from your guest room and wonderful breakfast each morning. We appreciate your comment that the staff was great as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    350
    141
    46
    37
See reviews for
498
475
26
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our 2nd time to the westin first time was last year in April when the renovations were just finished. It is so tropical you feel like you are on a island, well i guess the island of Hilton Head. They have made some enhancements since last year that were well deserved. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful, from front desk, concierge, pool, pool bar and housekeeping staff. Donna was a great help to arrange a number of plans for our trip. There is now outside seating for breakfast at Carolina café.
A few things I must note: We stayed in a Carolina suite, it is a lovely room however not a lot of privacy that you expect from a suite, there is no private door separating the rooms, however maybe sometype of curtain along with the tv unit to have some privacy when someone is sleeping. Also a frosted door for a bathroom door, the privacy is fine however the light is blinding through it. And there was no full length mirror anywhere in the room, Even in the regular rooms there is a full length mirror. Pool area, by the back pool area, all the chairs and lounges were removed to have weddings, I thought that on Monday the lounges and chairs would return, some did but not enough on the sunny days, as that is the area that gets the most sun in the afternoon. Also the pool bar (Spash) closed after our first day there, for the season, it was disappointing not to have chair service around the pool, but then it opened up for a day or two when I guess the hotel was busier. Though View 32 was always an option the outside bar that is fun to hang out at.. See you next year Hilton Head....

Room Tip: any of the rooms offer a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sottilared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you had another great trip to The Westin. We appreciate your comments on our upgraded and enhanced resort. Delighted to know that our staff was very friendly and helpful as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive servicel; and especially appreciate your comment on Donna. We do have some restaurants which are open based on seasonality, and Splash, our poolside restaurant, is usually closed at this time of the year. As you mentioned, we do have View 32, another outside bar and dining area, which is currently available as an option. Your comments on the mirror and pool chairs have been shared wtih our team for further investigation, but we do always have plenty of lounges and chairs available throughout the courtyard area. We hope that you will return in the future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Hall, Arkansas, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and I have nothing negative to say. Ocean view, several pools, and some of the best food I have ever had! All the staff was very nice and the rooms were very nice and comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed your visit to The Westin. We appreciate your comments that the food was the best, the guest rooms were nice and comfortable, and that our staff was nice as they strive to ensure our guests are well cared for. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lots of pretty beach to walk here with heated pool and hot tub for our October visit as well as large classic pool. I was particularly impressed by Patrick and Leroy in the Carolina restaurant. I have to eat gluten free and they even found me bread to eat for dinner. The food was very fresh and large quantity. The service was excellent.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rita4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing that your first visit to The Westin was renewing. We were glad you were able to enjoy the beach, hot tub, and pools. Delighted that Patrick and Leroy ensured you were well cared for by ensuring your dietary needs were met and that you enjoyed the food and excellent service. We hope that you will return in the near future for another relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester,NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at this resort for over 20 years and every time is better than the previous visit. The resort is extremely well maintained. I have stayed for business and leisure. The staff is extremely warm and welcoming. The food and beverage far exceeds any expectations at a resort. The quality is outstanding and the price point is extremely fair given the location. Every room/ suite I have stayed in has been extremely clean and well maintained. I have had the pleasure of interacting with many staff members and they are extremely pleasant and caring. Many of whom have been there for many years. Chris the front office manager is always a welcoming face when I return. He really cares about providing excellent service. This resort is one of my favorite hotels and I can't wait to return!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RVKWestchester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for being one of our loyal, repeat customers at The Westin. We appreciate your comments that the resort is well maintained and that you have enjoyed the extremely clean guest rooms as well as the food & beverage options which exceed your expectations. Thank you for sharing that our staff is extremely warm and welcoming and that they ensure you are well cared for at all times. We especially appreciate your comments on Chris providing personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We visit Hilton Head multiple times a year to visit friends and family. We always stay at the Westin. The property location relaxes you the moment you pull up and see the beautiful landscape, the fountain at the entrance, and the staff with smiles. There is very little turnover of staff, so it feels like coming home when you are greeted by name. The staff at the front desk run by Chris are polite and professional. The food in the restaurants is excellent and the waitstaff are great. The new outside bar/restaurant provides delicious food and an even better view. Can not wait for our next visit!!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rbvny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your perspective, as a repeat loyal customer, on your recent stay at The Westin. Delighted to know you had another outstanding visit and that you enjoy the excellent food in the restaurants. We especially appreciate knowing that our staff ensured you were well cared for by providing personal and instinictive service, and thank you for mentioning that Chris has a polite and professional team at the front desk. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights at the Westin in Hilton Head and were not as fortunate as most of the reviewers on this site.

One of the beds in our room was emitting a foul odor when we pulled the covers back. We, with the help of a very embarrassed but helpful Housekeeping Supervisor, found a topper underneath the clean sheets that had a 3 foot wide urine stain on it. The odor was overbearing but apparently had been ignored by someone on the cleaning staff when the previous guests had checked out. Carrying your belongings to a new room at midnight in your pajamas is not a fun experience. It is made even worse when your wife is immediately greeted by a large cockroach in the bathroom of the new room. I think my wife and daughter both tried to sleep with one eye open for the rest of that night.

I have already communicated with someone at the hotel and we are being credited with 20,000 SPG points. Unfortunately this will not be of much use to us since we will not be staying at another Starwood Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are extremely disappointed that our previous attempt at resolving your concerns have not been sufficient after communicating with our executive office regarding your stay. As previously communicated, we sincerely apologize for both incidents you mention with the stain issue being investigated further by our Director of Housekeeping as this was truly an isolated incident. Our resort is located in a sub-tropical climate with a very healthy ecosystem, and we do contract with a nationally recognized pest control company who regularly maintains both inside and outside resort areas to provide a pest free environment. We are sorry for the pest incident, but when notified we can take proper actions immediately to rectify the situation. I was glad that we were able to immediately relocate your guest room and provide compensation for your inconveniences. It is always our intent for our guests to feel renewed and relaxed, and we are very sorry we did not provide you with an outstanding experience during your visit. Starwood Hotels & Resorts are known for being top notch properties, and I hope you will reconsider and enjoy staying at one of our premier properties in the future.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
8.9 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing