We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and friendly resort, located on a beautiful piece of beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and friendly resort, located on a beautiful piece of beach.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed after labor so we had plenty of room in the pools. There were plenty of chairs in the sun, and we were able to rent beach chairs. Our view was fantastic. Only problem we had was the restaurants. If you are super fancy and love crazy things on your food you'll be fine. We however do not and had a hard time finding something normal to eat. We ended up ordering pizza to be delivered on the last day because we were in need of normal food. Other than that everything was great. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIVIDALOCA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a beautiful resort in a great location. We were delighted that you enjoyed the resort amenities and fantastic ocean views. We do have numerous food & beverage restaurants available throughout the resort with extensive offerings, and I am sorry we did not meet your needs in this regard. Please know that our culinary team would have honored any special requests or needs you may have had to ensure your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating and relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    417
    167
    66
    44
See reviews for
579
536
32
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I am a long time Starwood travller, and am accustomed to the comforts of a Westin. I have come to find though, that there is a major differentiating factor among Starwood properties - and that is service.

Katie at the front desk was the nicest and most helpful staff member I have encountered in many years now, and with an average of 50 nights stayed over the past 7 years I have extensive experience. She gave us great tips, assisted immediatley when we had an issue with the room, and went out of her way to make sure we were happy and settled in.

But not just her provided great service. The wait staff at breakfast, the pool side servers, the maids, the bellmen - everyone was curteous and helpful.

5 stars for service, and whoever is managing this staff (and Katie) deserves a promotion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your perspetive that The Westin is an excellent resort. We were delighted that our staff was able to impress you with courteous and top notch service; especially your comments on Katie being very helpful and ensuring you were well cared for. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing and rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton NC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Was at the hotel the week of September 9 and the hotel met every expectation! The recent renovations to the hotel has made the hotel top notch! The pool area has extensive decking area with several pools. You can be in the middle of activity or quiet and restful with a pool to suit your choice. Self parking is the way to go. The underground parking garage has plenty of spaces and good elevator location to hotel lobby. The room (we had ocean view) was a pleasant size, clean and quiet at night. There were really nothing but upsides to this property!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is an excellent hotel that met all your expectations. We were delighted that you liked our recent renovations including the guest room and outside deck and pool areas. We hope that you will return in the near future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a great resort. It is located on the beach, has several pools, a hot tub, bars and outdoor sitting areas, a nice fitness center, and much more. The room was clean and spacious. We had a room that overlooked the pool and we could see a small part of the beach. We were traveling with our dog which caused a minor inconvenience due to a lack of diligence on my part to really dig around on the website to find the pet policy, but Patricia at the front desk took pity on me and was a tremendous help making our stay all the better.

Wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed some of the spa options!

Room Tip: Ask for a room poolside, but not too far from elevator...it has very long hallways!
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer a $5 coupon to use on food/drink if you opt not to have towels refreshed everyday.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntheWind13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback that The Westin is a great beachfront resort. Delighted that you enjoyed the clean and spacious guest room with a view as well as the pools and outdoor areas. Thank you for noting that Patricia was helpful and ensured you were well cared for. We hope that you will return in the future and have the opportunity to experience our Heavenly Spa at that time.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here last weekend and was very impressed! Staff was fabulous and quality of food was top notch! One example of the great customer service was as follows, we were having lunch at one of the 3 restaurant's and my wife wanted a grouper sandwich, that restaurant did not have it on there menu however the waitress offered to go to the other restaurant and get her the sandwich! Can you believe that!!! Remodel is great and the View 32 Bar and Restaurant is fabulous with a million Dollar View. We will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chitwood72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a great resort and that you were very impressed with your visit. Delighted that you enjoyed our renovated facility and fabulous ocean view. We appreciate knowing that our staff was fabulous and provided personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've always loved the Westin and have stayed there at least 4 times. I was looking forward to seeing the renovations but was truly disappointed. I hated the new look. It is dull and cold. The lobby is the most unwelcoming. The laminate flooring looks cheap the lights are a bit weird. The carpet throughout the hotel is awful and looks old rather than new. The sign in area is also unwelcoming. Taking out the large check-in area and putting in the little cubicle type things that are hidden as you come in is not functional at all and everyone has a longer wait. The bathtub in the rooms is a hazard to get in and out of. The tub is slippery and the ledge makes it awkward to try to climb out of. As always the men in the front are always smiling and friendly but didn't get that feel throughout the hotel as I normally do. I requested when I made my reservation and followed it up with a 2nd call that my room be very close to the main elevator since I have a hip problem that makes walking long distances not easy for me. When we were checking in, I again asked about the closeness to the main elevator and was told we were close to the pool elevator which is exactly what we did not want since that means we are as far away as we can be from the main elevator. Was told then that we could be put on the first floor. I know that floor is where all the pets are kept. So I declined that suggestion. It was eventually resolved and they did find a room close to the elevator. Sorry I can't give a glowing review this time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your recent stay at The Westin as one of our valued repeat guests. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with our completely renovated resort; particularly our lobby area. Most of our guests are providing very favorable feedback on our updated and top notch "coastal chic" decor including the new check-in pod stations, custom lighting features, and new carpeting. The flooring you reference is not laminate, but is actually 3/4 inch bamboo which enhances our new coastal chic decor. All guest rooms, as well as restaurants, public areas, and outside courtyard and pools have been completely upgraded and renewed. We are sorry that there was an issue with your bathtub being slippery and would have responded had we known there was an issue. We do always try to accommodate guest requests for a particualr room type or location whenever possible, and we are glad you did receive a room close to the elevator location you preferred. Westin is a pet friendly brand, and we do accept small dogs. Although many guests prefer a location close to the dog walk area outside which is close to the first floor, guests with pets do not necessarily have a guest room in that location. We do also have an extensive protocol for cleaning guest rooms after a guest with a pet departs the resort so guest rooms are always fresh and renewed. We hope that you will return in the future for a rejuvenating and relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We loves our week at this Westin Resort in July! Check in was smooth even though we had to wait about an hour for our room. It was ready about 30 minutes before check in time.
Our room was well appointed and looking over the ocean and family pool area. A complaint here about the noise. The very first morning after a good nights sleep on the Heavenly Bed, somebody in the pool area was blasting the music super loud! It was really obnoxious and I began to worry it would be like that all week as the music persisted for almost a full hour! However, it did not happen again.
The pool area was clean and even though some chairs were wet the staff handed out enty of towels. Some of the towel girls needed work on their service smile and personality as they often made it seem an inconvenience to hand over 3 towels.
We didn't eat at the restaurant because the prices were too high for their rating here on Trip Advisor.
The housekeeping service was ok. A few times we were in the room and didn't get changed but overall not a big deal.
Also, while we were there the little store was being re-done. We would have used it several times so that was disappointing!
The only other complaint I had was an injury that occurred to my 3 year old son. He smashed his finger in the sliding door to the bathroom. The nail is still black to this day so please watch your little ones when heading to the bathroom. That door is very heavy!
If you can get a good rate at this hotel don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epcotitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at The Westin in July. Delighted that we were able to provide you with an early check-in and that you enjoyed your well appointed guest room and the signature Heavenly Bed. Our restaurant pricing throughout the resort is very comparable to other Hilton Head Island and east coast resorts, and we always strive to provide a top quality food & beverage product. Our Resort Store opened shortly after your visit, and guests are commenting very favorably about the numerous products available. We are glad to know you felt the pool areas were clean and are very sorry for an isolated incident with loud music in the area. We are also sorry that our staff providing towels did not provide exemplary service as we usually receive very nice comments on the Recreation Team providing personal and instinctive service to each guest. We will certainly review this further with our team. Please accept our sincere apology for the incident that occured with your son which I hope was reported to our security team to investigate as we take any guest comments about an injury very seriously. We hope that you will return in the future for an enjoyable and renewing stay with your family.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
773 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
849 reviews
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on Hilton Head Island's famous white sand beaches and nestled amidst swaying palmetto trees, The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa offers travelers a lush tropical oasis. Enjoy the array of inspired amenities available at our Hilton Head Island resort, including private access to miles of pristine beaches, three beautiful swimming pools and four on-site restaurants. Children will love spending time at the Westin Family Kids Club, while you can escape to the Heavenly Spa by Westin™ for a rejuvenating massage. We also offer hotel guests access to the adjacent Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club for championship golf and tennis. All guestrooms feature the Westin Heavenly Bed® and double-vanity Heavenly Bath®, as well as a private balcony, many of which boast stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing