We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely renovated westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Macon, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nicely renovated westin”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just came back from a long weekend stay in this newly renovated westin. It is located in Port Royal on Hilton head . The rooms were clean and spacious. Nice large bathroom. The sitting areas outside by the pools and the restaurants are very spacious and the chairs very comfortable. Only few feet away from the beach. At the time we were there ( end of August) it was not busy so it was kind of nice not to have a huge crowd.
Very highly recommended .

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the garden and would have preferred the ocean view but did not want to pay extra...
See more room tips
Green Features: They recycle which was a plus for me. there is also the option of not using the room service to change towels.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your perspective on your recent stay at The Westin. Delighted to know that you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms and baths that are clean and spacious as well as our spectacular beachfront location. We appreciate your high recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    408
    162
    63
    45
See reviews for
563
532
32
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited the Westin Resort and Spa for a long weekend with 10 other couples for the second year in a row. It's perfect for our group as we enjoy walking the beach, sunning and eating lunch by the pool, and gathering outside in the evening by the fire pits. The rooms have been updated since our visit last year. They are beautiful and welcoming. The suite we had last year is now called a junior suite. There is not a separate bedroom but a partial wall with open shelving that separates the sleeping area from an area with a sofa, chairs, refrigerator and small round table. The standard room is spacious for a standard room but there's only 2 drawers for clothes. The beds are comfy, very comfy, with great reading spot lights built into the headboard. There is a clock with phone charger beside the bed. There's also a refrigerator in the room. The staff, from front desk, security, pool waiters and those who work in the shops are all friendly and attentive to the needs of their guests. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCL421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you returned to The Westin for the second year in a row with 10 couples to enjoy our beach, pools, and outdoor environment. Delighted to read your complimentary remarks on our new guest rooms being beautiful and welcoming, and we especially appreciate your noting our brand new signature Heavenly Beds are very comfortable. Thank you for advising that our staff was friendly and attentive in ensuring our guests are well cared for. We look forward to welcoming your group back in the future for another memorable visit.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel on a great stretch of beach. Rooms are clean and modern. Only bad thing about this hotel is I couldn't stay longer! Really great place for families or couples. Bring your own umbrella and chairs for the beach though, as this service is provided by a private company that charges ridiculous rates.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny6183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a beautiful hotel on a great stretch of beautiful beach that is a great location for families or couples. We appreciate your comment that the rooms are clean and modern. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing and relaxing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a perfect location for a beach vacation. We were upgraded to an ocean front room which was extremely comfortable. The pool, beach and amenities were first rate. The restaurants were better than we had expected without being unreasonably priced. Service was superb. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing that the Westin is a beautiful hotel in a great location which was perfect for a beach vacation. We appreciate your comment that your ocean front room was comfortable, and that the pool, beach, amenities, and restaurants were first rate. It is always nice to know that service was superb as our staff strives to ensure personal and instinctive service for each guest.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at the Westin Hilton Head Island Resort and Spa. We had a great time! The hotel is beautiful and well maintained! We got a Pool/Ocean View King room and it super nice and very clean! And the view was exactly what they claimed a Pool/Ocean View it was also awesome that they put us on the 5th floor(highest floor available) which made the view even better!! Access to the beach is very easy and convenient; and maybe it was the time of year, but the beach was never overcrowded! The pools and grounds are amazing and well cared for, we didn't spend very much time at the pool though, they were just always crowded with kids! We like kids, don't get me wrong just a bit annoying that parents allow them to run wild with no supervision around the hotel and grounds!
We thoroughly enjoyed two evenings after eating dinner out, at the Oceans Restaurant bar. We had a nice beer and glass of wine and chatted with the bartender John, who was very nice and attentive!

My one and only complaint would have to be the lunch we had on Saturday at the Splash poolside restaurant. The food was "ok" My husband got a burger and fries and me a Caesar salad w/ side of fries ( drinks were just a coke and a water) , but in my opinion it was very overpriced for the quality! Our lunch bill was about $30. And I hate to say this, but our server was not very attentive at all, we had our food for 20 minutes with no silverware and couldn't find our waitress or any other to ask for some. My husband had 3 flat cokes, the first one we didn't wanna complain thinking the next one wouldn't be flat, but there were some other small issues too, like not getting drinks refills even though she walked past us 3 times....we ended up not saying anything about the issues, because the waitress had several other tables too and could not be found. A woman who appeared to be management actually came and took our card to pay. we considered complaining to her, we try to be nice and overlook things, maybe this was just an "off" day for the staff. Not saying that will be everyone's experience. On our last morning there I found out that the coffee shop inside the hotel also serves lunch, a "make-your-own" salad bar and several choices of deli type sandwiches that looked very good and were even cheaper than the Splash lunch we had had the day before!! My husband and I both agreed we wish we had known about that coffee shop served lunch beforehand and we would have NOT eaten at Splash!! Definitely will eat lunch at the Coffee shop next time(sorry can't remember the name of it, but it is inside near the lobby)!!

But other than that one lunch at Splash we had a great stay at the Westin! And we definitely plan to go back in the future! It is by far the best hotel in Hilton Head!

Room Tip: The Pool/Ocean View is a great value and you still get a great view! Even if you cant afford the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevie5302009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thankyou for sharing that you had a great time at The Westin last weekend and that this is the best hotel on Hilton Head Island. Delighted to know that you enjoyed your guest room as well as the pools and grounds. We usually receive very favorable comments on the Splash poolside retaurant, and we are very sorry for the issues you experienced which are not up to our usual standards. Your comments have been shared with our Director of Outlets for further investigation. Our food & beverage pricing throughout the resort is very comparable to other Hilton Head Island and east coast resorts, and we always strive to provide a top quality product. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so we may meet and exceed all your expectations.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our first time to HHI and it was truly a wonderful experience. The Westin Hotel is beautiful, with a large inviting lobby and amazing grounds and right on the beach. The pools were busy but there was ample seating poolside. As a concession for a delayed check in, we were given a complimentary cabana for the 5 days of our stay which was extremely generous and greatly appreciated by our family. The staff were amazing. In response to my request for an upgrade at check - in, we were offered two adjoining rooms at no additional cost to us, which was wonderful. The rooms were beautiful and spacious, each with a small refrigerator that we made full use of. We had a pool/ocean view and it was stunning. Housekeeping was thorough; and as an added bonus, if you declined service on a day, you were given $5 to use at the resort or 500 SPG points. A nice touch to help the environment. It was also my husband's birthday and in honor of that, we received a complimentary bottle of champagne, a cheese and fruit platter and assortment desserts which was a very nice surprise.
The beach was beautiful and peaceful; we even saw dolphins swimming on our last morning there.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to HHI.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing that The Westin is an amazing hotel with a beautiful beachfront location. We are glad that you enjoyed the upgraded guest rooms and view. Delighted to know that our staff recognized your husband's birthday with a special amenity surprise. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Remodeled and on the beach... Rooms are spacious, pools and grounds are manicured, lobby is open and expansive and the food and drink are right on. Service is above expectations. Maybe one of the best beach walks in the USA...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback that our renovated Westin resort is spectacular. We appreciate your complimentary comments on our guest rooms, lobby, and outdoor areas and are also glad you enjoyed our food & beverage options. Delighted that the service you received exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for another rejuvenating stay and beach walk in the near future.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
764 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
817 reviews
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing