We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Heavenly" Stay at The Westin Hilton Head Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A "Heavenly" Stay at The Westin Hilton Head Island”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful vacation at the Westin Hilton Head Island Resort. This was our 3rd visit to this resort with our kids and each time we go it just gets better and better. The renovations to the rooms, bathrooms and hotel generally are just beautiful. The Westin staff exceeded our every expectation. Our hotel room was upgraded to ocean front without even asking. Check in and check out were seamless. I recommend starting your vacation with Dee Dee whose massages will ensure that your vacation begins on the right, relaxing note. The best part of our trip, by far, was being pampered by our favorite Westin employees. We look so forward to seeing Christopher – Bellman Extraordinare – who is so pleasant and professional. He always has a smile on his face,. Anything you need, he will take care of it. He is such a sweetheart. The same can be said for Clemencia who works at In Room Dining. Clemencia has her finger on the pulse of how to make a guest feel at home. She definitely has the right touch when it comes to making her guests feel special. She is really thoughtful. When you go to Carolina Café, ask for Gavin – Gavin treats you like a guest in his home. He makes you feel like royalty. He remembered our kids favorite things to eat -- he is just so kind that way. He will ensure that you food is prepared exactly as you want it, and if it is not on the menu, that does not matter. Gavin will make sure you get what you want and that you are happy. That is just the way he is. He is simply outstanding at what he does. Other employees who stand out at Carolina Café are Patti, Duke and Jose. When my daughter inadvertently forgot her retainer on the table, and it was thrown out, Patti and Duke would not stop until they found that retainer. Even when I was ready to give up looking, they would not stop. Patty and Duke took excellence in customer service to an entirely new level. You will find that same level of customer service at Splash Restaurant by the pool. At Splash, the excellent food is matched only by the high quality service you will receive. We so enjoyed seeing Kendra, Danielle, and Maeve every day at lunch. They go out of their way to make you feel so welcome. Our girls just loved them. We look forward to seeing the whole crew next summer. It was a wonderful family vacation.

For dinner outside the hotel, be sure to visit Wiseguys for excellent fare (and chocolate fondue); One Hot Mama’s for amazing BBQ; Giuseppe’s for authentic pizza; Truffle’s for the delicious pork burger, sweet potato fries and awesome desserts; and The Salty Dog for crab cakes and chocolate/peanut butter pie. Wiseguys and Truffles accept reservations by opentable, but you may have a wait at the others as long as an hour since they don't take reservations. But it is worth it.

The only restaurant for us that didn't live up to its hype was Robert Irvine's Eat! restaurant. The food was good and the service excellent, but the menu was limited and I found it to be very over-priced.

Room Tip: We prefer the ocean front/view rooms that are in the right tower facing the beach (closest to Ocean...
See more room tips
Green Features: While the hotel has always made efforts to be environmentally friendly, after the renovations we noticed new shower heads and toilets that use less water. You also can skip linen service.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsGirlMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing that your 3rd visit to The Westin was Heavenly. We are glad to know that our recent renovations exceeded your expectations. We certainly appreciate the detailed complimentary remarks you shared on our staff members who made such a favorable impression on you and your family. Our team always strives to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing and relaxing vacation.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    398
    161
    61
    42
See reviews for
548
525
31
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This property was recently renovated and it shows. My family (two sisters, cousin with husbands and children) thoroughly relaxed and enjoyed our time at the Westin. The staff was extremely helpful and fun. A personal thank you to Chris Penman and his team, including Linda Bryan for our time there. A huge Thank you very much from the Romero's - see you next year!

The weather was great and the resort was fun - I cant say enough. I have been going to this particular property for years and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinoR1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing that your family had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at The Westin recently. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We certainly appreciate your repeat patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've been coming to the Westin HHI for the past 8 years and this past trip in July was excellent. The rooms are completely redone and up to par with Westin standards. The swimming pools are redone with nice poolside seating and cabanas for rental. The SPA has always been exceptional. The breakfast buffet is always very good. The best part of the hotel is the location. Just wake and and roll out of bed and head over to a prime part of the beach on Hilton Head.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and upgrade to a suite. It is definitely worth the comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VinATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you had an excellent trip to The Westin in July. Delighted that you enjoyed our renovated facility including the swimming pool, poolside seating, cabanas as well as the Heavenly Spa. Thanks for noting the breakfast bufffet was very good as well. You are absolutely correct that we do have a fantastic and prime beachfront location on Hilton Head Island and are happy you fully enjoyed the convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days courtesy of another Hotel chain. One of the best we have ever stayed at. Will not disappoint you. We had ocean view and it was breathtaking. Grounds are maintained and clean. Place was recently renovated and rooms were luxurious with the best of everything. Highly recommend if you can afford it. It is pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoreluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are delighted that you had the opportunity to stay at The Westin and that it was one of the best hotel stays you have had. Delighted that you enjoyed our renovated, luxurious guest rooms and breathtaking ocean views as well as our resort grounds. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful property with upscale amenities. Recently went through a 30 million dollar renovation! Staff members are all incredibly accomodating and very personable. Highly recommend this property if you are going to be visiting Hilton Head!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hpedevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent long weekend stay at The Westin. We appreciate your recommeding our beautiful renovated property with upscale amenities. Delighted to know that the staff were all incredibly accommodating and personable as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing escape.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed a three day get away with family on HHI. The renovations are amazing, service was brilliant and the weather, well it is HHI and it was soggy in the afternoons so we did resort stuff- eat, drink and shop.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doinit_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed the luxury of The Westin Resort for your recent family getaway. We are delighted that you found our renovations amazing and the service brilliant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating and renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Once again Westin delivers and good vacation. I'm a SPG member and really enjoy this resort. Our room had an ocean view and very quiet. The pool area is the best on the island. Food is overpriced but you do to have to drive anywhere. We will be back year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DisneyDad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing, as one of our valued SPG members, that you had a relaxing vacation at The Westin. Delighted that you enjoyed your ocean view room and the best pool area on the island. Our food & beverage pricing is very competitive with other island and east coast resorts, and we always strive to offer a top notch, quality product. We look forward to welcoming you back next year for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
9.0 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
757 reviews
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our delightfuly renewed 416 room oceanfront resort revitalized in a "coastal chic" style. Guests can relax on our sandy white beaches, unwind in the Heavenly Spa, and enjoy our championship golf and tennis. Seven dining venues offer creative cuisine inspired by our local seafood and sustainable ingredients. Every inch of our beach resort has been refreshed. Our newly designed resort lobby welcomes our guests with a botanical conservatory and our two-story "living wall" vertical garden. Our guest rooms offer the latest Westin comfort elements including the Heavenly Bed in soothing coastal palettes. Our baths feature the new Heavenly Shower with dual vanities and backlit mirror. All new outdoor plush furniture and firepits have been placed throughout the nooks nd crannies of our expanded beachfront and poolside decking. We offer incomparable ways for our guests to retreat, connect, or entertain amidst naturally beautiful surroundings. The natural beauty of the South Carolina Coast, the myriad of land and sea activities available, and the sheer variety of golf and recreation options on our island, allows us to offer truly memorable experiences to our guests - now at an all new luxury resort property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing