We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was visiting a great cousin this past week and had the opportunity to stay at the Ocean Palms Resort within the Westin Resort and Spa Resort Complex. What a beautiful oceanfront resort on a beautiful
island. Very family oriented and if you love to walk on the beach
this is one of the best. The hotel has many activities for children.
Hilton Head is such a beautiful place with many "simple pleasures" to enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing that you enjoyed our beautiful oceanfront Westin resort. We appreciate your sharing that we have lot of of activities for children as our resort welcomes many families; particularly in the summer season. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,563 - 1,569 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary together at the Westin Hilton Head. It was our first vacation in years, and we didn't know what to expect. We were first greeted by Hannah at the front desk. She was warm, pleasant, and professional. She took the time to give us a personal tour of the beautiful facilities, and was absolutely delightful. She also helped to upgrade us to an Ocean View room since it was our anniversary, and the room was truly amazing. We had a minor issue with the air conditioning unit during the middle of the night, and Gary at the front desk went out of his way to correct the problem for us. Maintenance was dispatched to correct the problem immediately, and we felt Gary was a hero for helping us to resolve the issue at 4:00 in the morning. We indulged ourselves at the amazing onsite Spa facilities, and we received first rate service from Jeremy at the Spa reception desk. He helped us get the appointment times that worked best for us, and more importantly he had an excellent sense of humor. The pool area was fantastic, and that is where we spent most of our time. The pools were large, clean, and they had both sun and shade sitting options available. The pool staff was wonderful as well, especially Katie who took time to get to know us while we spent hours at the pool. She went out of her way to spoil us, and to make sure we did not want for anything food and drink wise. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a beautiful getaway. The facilities are of course first rate, but it is the wonderful staff that truly helps to make this a special place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDandLD2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing that you had a memorable 10th wedding anniversary trip at The Westin and glad to know we provided upgraded accommodations. Congratulations on your milestone anniversary. We appreciate that our facilities are beautiful,and that you enjoyed the pool areas. Delighted to know that Hannah, Gary, Jeremy, and Katie ensured you were well cared for as our staff always strives to provide personal and instinctive service. We look forward to welcoming you back for another renewing escape in the near future.

- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful extended weekend at the Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa in SC. This place amazed me as we have been timeshare owners for over 36 years and I thought I have seen the best till we stayed here! The resort just finished renovating. Everywhere you turned was nothing but beauty. The numerous pools and whirlpools were so beautiful, with palm trees and flowers everywhere. They even had yard groupings with intimate gas fires around by the bar and pools. All of the workers were courteous and helpful. Our third floor room overlooking the pools and ocean was spacioius with all the upgrades and included a balcony. The beach was just steps away and the outdoor bar had live music. A wedding was being celebrated while we were there and everything was so organized and the gardens so well planned out, they still had their privacy as we had ours. I woul recommend this place to honeymooners, familys and anyone wanting to rejuvinate! We will be sure to tell our friends and we can't wait to return soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pools. Check out the fitness center.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marylou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing that you had a wonderful extended weekend at The Westin and that you were amazed with our renovated resort. Delighted that you enjoyed our outdoor amenities as well as your guest room. We appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you back soon for another rejuvenating stay.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times. Being a general aviation pilot, it is convenient to the local airport, only a couple of miles away. In the past, I have always booked the cheapest room possible. However, this time, we stayed in the "premium ocean view" or ocean front room. During high season, the hotel can get very pricey. And this time, we drove from Atlanta instead of flying. (Which reminds me - if anyone says you can drive from Atlanta to Hilton Head in four hours, they are either lying or crazy. The trip will take at least 5 hours, probably more with all the construction on the interstates and the heavy traffic going on and off the island.)

A lot of families with little children stay here so if you are looking for a quiet, romantic getaway, this might not be the place. But then again, Hilton Head in general is mostly a family vacation destination so if you want a romantic getaway, you might have to try another island. And while we were there, we must have seen at least four weddings at the wedding gazebo they have at the beach.

Regarding room selection, you'd probably be better off just getting the regular "ocean view" room as long as it is closer to the beach end of the hotel instead of paying the extra for the premium ocean view. The rooms that are "angled" toward the ocean have very good views of the ocean. The problem with the "angled" rooms that are closer to the lobby is you have the noise of kids playing in the pools and the seemingly constant live music. The problem with the premium ocean view or ocean front rooms is you can hear everything people are saying when they are on their balconies, even from inside the room. At least with the "angled" rooms, they are displaced so you don't have a bunch of neighbors.

The hallway to the ocean front rooms is long or as many have referred to it, reminiscent of the hallway in the "Shining." The room itself was nice with the standard Westin earth tones and fine appointments. Apparently, the hotel was refurbished no too long ago. For the most part good, but you can tell on the outside that the hotel is aging e.g. the rusted grates on the balconies that were simply painted over. And the HVAC unit. OMG. Sounds like a '52 Buick about to throw a rod. We had to turn it off at night to sleep.

For some reason, the room came with only two big towels and one robe. And although I usually look forward to the "Heavenly" bed, this one was lumpy, hard, and uneven. And speaking of the HVAC unit, I noticed a strong mold smell going out the door to the hallway. Kept smelling it and I finally figured out it was coming from in the room, near the closet. In fact, clothes that I had hung in the closet smelled moldy when I went to pack them. I think it was coming from the HVAC unit overhead. I did tell them about it when we checked out and they seemed very concerned and said they would investigate.

The pool areas are nice. There are four with one being a hot tub. One has a roof over it and there is a round one that seemed to be the kiddie pool. The large, main pool was were we spent most of our time, when we weren't on the beach. The pool area has very comfortable, cushioned lounge chairs. We hardly saw a server for drinks or food while we were there and we did notice that when people left their plastic cups, etc. around the pool and at the chairs and tables, they sat there for a long time and it didn't seem like it was anyone's job to pick them up.

On the beach, two chairs and an umbrella run you $18 for a half day and $32 for a full day. And I must say, they were not very comfortable. The worst part is that they didn't fully recline so if you want a nap on the beach you'll have to do it sitting up. The service, run by the lifeguards, also have other assorted activities you can pay for like kayaks, sit-down beach bicycles, etc.

I thought the $17 per night charge for valeting the car was reasonable. The valets were great and we never had to wait for more than a few minutes for our cars. In fact, the entire staff was professional, cordial, and friendly. They didn't have that "Oh my God, if I have to wait on another darn tourist, I'm going to kill myself" attitude that one finds at so many vacation destinations.

We drove all over the island and saw all of the enclaves including the one that has the lighthouse. (They charge $5 to get into the neighborhood that has it.) We ate at a number of restaurants and they were all okay, but none fantastic or memorable. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't help you there.

All-in-all, this property isn't bad but for what we paid, it should have been better. We like Hilton Head and remember our stay at the Marriott about halfway down the island (stayed there a couple of years ago) was just as good if not better and cost much less. And it had the required "must see ocean while lying in bed view" that we require.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pramstroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin. We appreciate your detailed feedback and complimentary comments on our entire staff being professional, cordial, and friendly as they always strive to provide personal and instinctive service. We did recently complete a 30 million dollar renovation, and are very excited about our new "coastal chic" environment, and thank you for noting the guest room was very nice. Most guests respond very favorably about our brand new signature Heavenly Beds and our ocean front guest rooms, and I am sorry you did not have a comfortable experience with the bed and the closet issue. We are also sorry that you did not have responsive service at the pool area, and we will review immediately with the team to ensure the proper training occurs. Had we known of these issues while you were here, we would have taken immediate action to review and resolve them. We hope that you will return in the future as I know we can meet and exceed your expectations for a renewing visit.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I attended a wedding in HHI and stayed at the Westin where the welcoming reception and farewell breakfast was held. The experience was wonderful. Our room overlooked the ocean on the 5th floor. It was breathtaking. We are coming back!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FreeandEasy2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing that your visit to The Westin to attend wedding events was a wonderful experience. We appreciate your comments that your guest room ocean view was breathtaking. We look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful and renewing experience.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Loved my stay there! Hated to leave, and plan to return. Immaculate rooms, beautiful decor. Food is very good, as well as the drinks. Property is top class. Beach is awesome as well are the pools. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: any room is a winner
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing that The Westin is absolutely beautiful and top class. Delighted that you enjoyed your guest room, decor, pools, food & beverage, and our beachfront location. We look forward to welcoming you back for another renewing stay in the near future.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay even for the little one! Great private pool area, they had live music. Great bar, bike rentals, very peaceful. I will come here again and again. Wonderful experience and I'm assured anyone else will love it too!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing that The Westin is a wonderful place to stay and that you had a wonderful experience. We were delighted that you enjoyed the pool area, live music, great bar, and bike rentals. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back, again and again, in the future for more rejuvenating and renewing experiences.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
9.0 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
295 reviews
4.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Grasslawn Avenue, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5583
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#4 Spa Hotel in Hilton Head
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $173 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on Hilton Head Island's famous white sand beaches and nestled amidst swaying palmetto trees, The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa offers travelers a lush tropical oasis. Enjoy the array of inspired amenities available at our Hilton Head Island resort, including private access to miles of pristine beaches, three beautiful swimming pools and four on-site restaurants. Children will love spending time at the Westin Family Kids Club, while you can escape to the Heavenly Spa by Westin™ for a rejuvenating massage. We also offer hotel guests access to the adjacent Port Royal Golf & Racquet Club for championship golf and tennis. All guestrooms feature the Westin Heavenly Bed® and double-vanity Heavenly Bath®, as well as a private balcony, many of which boast stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort And Spa
The Westin Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing