We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Head Resort(Hilton Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hilton Head(Hilton Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Hilton Head(Hilton Head)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,735)
Filter reviews
1,735 results
Traveler rating
985
440
191
69
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
985
440
191
69
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarolina roomheavenly bedpool areakoi pondocean viewcovered poolself parkingkids cluboutdoor barbeautiful propertyhilton head islandhot tubhousekeeping stafflounge chairsthe entire staffoff seasoncommon areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,695 - 1,700 of 1,735 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We love Port Royal it is the best plantation, the best beach, the most beautiful hotel, and yes wonderful for families, and has the only covered heated pool on the island, should i say more?
Do you know what is like when the sprinkle of a shower is coming on, and you can still lounge in the pool, that is correct, you can. I love riding my bike here as well as it is the hardest sand especially in the morning, you can go and see the edge of the island by bike,
The golf is great, they have three lovely courses, and yes there is tennis available as well.
The seafood buffet is gone, but there is talk they will reinstate it, weddings are still held here on the beach, they know how to accommodate families as well. The spa is top notch and a massage is great especially when you have driven a long distance.

Room Tip: HIgher location is betterview.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitterSaddleRiverNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing that The Westin is absolutely the best property on Hilton Head Island. We are thrilled that our 30 million dollar renovation is completed, and appreciate your comments that this is the msot beautiful hotel on the best beach and that is a wonderful vacation escape for families. We are glad that you had such a renewing visit and look forward to welcoming you back for another rejuvenating stay in the near future.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The newly renovated Westin is very nice. It is clean, green, sleek and modern. The decor is calming and serene.
The service was friendly, and attentive. I would recommend this place to a friend and I will come back.

Room Tip: I especially liked being on the first floor overlooking the pool area.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gowest62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at our newly renovated Westin resort. We appreciate your comments that this is a peaceful place to stay with calming and serene decor. Our new and innovative spaces prserve wellness in tavel and provide a full sensory experience that uplifts and energizes.

Delighted to know that you experienced friendly and attentive service as the staff strives to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest. Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you for another rejuvenating visit in the near future.
- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed for 5 days/4 nights while attending a conference and had never been to Hilton Head before. I did enjoy the location - easy to get to shopping, golf courses, beach, etc. It was especially good for shopping - check out the Tanger Outlets - good quality (there is a Tanger 1 and 2 - spend your time at Two). The Westin Hotel was in a lovely spot - I was unfortunately in a room with a small view of the ocean but it was on the 5th floor so the view was indeed nice. And the amenities were awesome - GREAT bathroom, robe, towels, furniture and the Heavenly Bed is of course blissful. I'd come back again - would bring family next time. There are a lot of walking trails, the pool looked great, the Splash Bar closed early which was bizarre, but always nice to sit around the pool after a day in a conference room and have a cocktail.

Room Tip: I was at the very end of the hall on the 5th floor - the view was "squished" because I was up against the adjacent outside wall (in a corner). It was noisy too because the pool and bar area were below me...the noise from high heels on the wood deck flooring was noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NonaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin. Delighted to know that you enjoyed our beachfront location which is convenient to many amenities. We are glad you enjoyed the guest room amenities; particularly, our signature Heavenly Bed which was blissful. We do have dining and bar options available when the pool bar closes, but we will have extended hours at the pool area in our busy summer season. We look forward to welcoming you back with your family for a renewing family escape.
-Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Westin has completely redone the rooms, furnishings, lobby, outdoor furniture and restaurants. Everything was fresh, clean, and a very contemporary feel from the moment you walk in. The hotel is gorgeous and comfortable. The outdoor pool area has been refurnished and looks fabulous. The seating, lounges, outdoor restaurant/bar area was very comfortable. The drinks were great, and the lunch we had that first day was very good. Charlotte at the check-in was very helpful and efficient. She was friendly and had a smile the entire time we checked in. She recognized us as SPG members, and informed us that we had been upgraded to a top floor ocean view room. One thing to note is that the closer your room is to the beach, the longer a walk there is from the elevator to your room. We had 2 'long' corridors to walk to our room. Our room and bath were terrific. The location is at the heel end of the island but is very close to the William Hilton Parkway so it is easy to get to any island restaurant, shopping area or golf course at Hilton Head. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back to the Westin again.

Room Tip: Ocean view should be on the 5th floor if you can get it. The pool side views are best above the second floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMHvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your perspective that our recent renovation is terrific inside and out as we are thrilled with the newly upgraded "coastal chic" environment.

We are delighted that we were able to upgrade your accommodations as we truly value our SPG guests, and are glad you enjoyed the guest room and bath. We appreciate your comments on Charlotte being friendly, helpful, and efficient as our staff strives to provide personal and instinctive service to each guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another renewing escape.

- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I travel quite a bit and stay at many resorts. The property at the Westin has all been remodeled and I think they said they spent 30 million - they should have spent 31 million and done it right in my opinion. Don't get me wrong it Looks beautiful and the staff is great But let me start with the room. The TV was all screwed up and it took over two days for it to get fixed, the room safe had to be replaced and the toilet did not flush unless you stood there and held down the handle. The beds were comfortable and rooms are laid out nicely. As for the property - Everything is monochromatic and comes off very sterile - It is sleek and modern but I found it very Blah - no pop of color anywhere and for some this may be nice but I found if very unimaginative. Two restaurants that are both decent - nothing special. The Oceans Bar is the only gathering place to have a drink and congregate..besides the lobby area that has a place to get coffee and a sandwich. The location is beautiful and this could be such a great place but I have no desire to come back and am not inclined to recommend.

Room Tip: If you are a SPG card holder make sure you like to walk as those rooms which are near the beach are very far from all the other amenities.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Life is a Cabernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery W, Director of Operations at The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We are thrilled with the completion of our 30 million dollar renovation. We appreciate your noting that this is a great location and that everything looks beautiful and great, and also that you enjoyed the signature Heavenly Beds and room lay-out.

Our new View 32 outside covered bar is a great place to gather for a drink, and I am sorry you were not aware of this location, as well as our Barony Bar located in side the Carolina Cafe restaurant. Our new and innovative spaces preserve wellness in travel and provide a full sensory experience that are designed to uplift and energize. Please accept our sincere apologies for the television, room safe, and toilet issues you expeirenced. Whenever we are made aware of any issues, we quickly respond to remedy a situation, and I am sorry your television issue took longer than anticipated.

We hope that you will reconsider and return in the future as we would welcome the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations on your next visit.

- Jeff Waddell, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews