We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottages by Spinnaker
Nearby Hotels
$327
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$306
$272
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$335
$319
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$193
$179
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa(Hilton Head)
$349
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$143
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Grande Ocean(Hilton Head)
$669
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's SurfWatch(Hilton Head)
$649
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
31
19
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
19
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsback porchshipyard plantationbedroom cottagegolf coursefull kitchenhealth clubsmall pondhilton head islandspent a weekrci exchangefitness centerlow tidein great shapebeds were very comfortableminute drivenice stayhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 58 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We bought a timeshare here way back in 1997, but always used the unit to trade for other destinations around the world. We stayed in our unit for the first time this year. My rating is based against the timeshares we have been able to trade into and is a very, very generous 3 given the other properties we have stayed at in Italy, several in Hawaii, North Carolina, Florida, Aruba, and Tennessee. To be fair, the unit is clean and quiet and the grounds are immaculate. The beach is a 5 minute drive. Unless you're young and spry, the pool is a drive. Bottom line - anybody who has traveled extensively and has seen what else is out there (in the way of timeshares/vacation condos) will be disappointed. There are dozens of better opportunities in the same price range on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MidLifeCrisisGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Rather than fly to a vacation destination and avoid the hassle and expense of air travel we have chosen to explore other options eight hours or less away from home by car.

This led us to book a couple of weeks in Hilton Head South Carolina. The first week we stayed in a timeshare resort The Cottages At Shipyard owne dby the Spinnaker Resort Chain.

Essentially we had a two bedroom town house located in an area surrounded by palm trees, and lush greenery. Our back porch fronted on a lagoon and there are miles of walking/biking trains in the complex.

Within a couple of minutes drive out the front gate, you are in a location surrounded by many fine dining and shopping areas nearby.

If you like a "life on Golden Pond " like experience then the cottages are for you. You cna rent bikes for as little as $18.00 per week or play golf on a variety of courses in Hilton Head, an area renown for World Class Golfing.

If shopping is your thing, there are two Tanger Factory Outlet Locations a mile or two away. We both agreed that this was one of the best vacations we ever had.

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. You can rent even if you don't have a timeshare.

We will be coming back to Hilton Head often. Another reason to stay here is that a short less than a hour drive away is the picturesque city of Savannah Georgia. Rich in history and with numerous attractions Savannah is my favorite US City and ranks before New Orleans and San Francisco in my preference.

The dynamic duo of Hilton Head and Savannah makes staying in this area a terrific value. The beauty of both places will make this a memorable vacation spot for couples or a family.

.

Room Tip: Try to book into Egret Point which is in the same complex as the pool is located there..
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pcloverva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Got this cottage thru Hotwire for a decent price. Was very pleased with the room and location. Area is very wooded and quiet. Cottage is quaint and comfortable. Not far from Coligny Beach, grocery stores, and shopping/Resturaunts.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mommyofgavinray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent a week at the cottages unit #53 in January. The condo was very clean and quiet and came complete with everything. It surpassed all my expectations. The layout is great and I felt right at home. The location is close to everything and for $20/wk everyone in the condo can use the facilities at the players club.I will stay there again and I highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cuathebch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Cottages at Shipyard for Christmas this year on an RCI trade. Check in was fast and easy. We did end up having to move to different unit though since the smoking policy allows for smoking outdoors and our first neighbor was outside smoking a very smelly cigar. The smell was permeating the interior of our unit. The folks at the front desk were very nice and moved us immediately to a comparable unit. Although we did not have any kind of view, it was a lovely 2 bedroom, 1 story end unit and suited our needs. The activities coordinator was a bit persistent after check-in with asking me to sign-up for activities for free as long as I attended one of their sessions to discuss what I thought of the unit and resort, and called several times after that. I was not interested in a sales pitch. I'm also not sure if there was a pool or hot tub available for these particular units, I could never find one.

There were several maintenance issues that we noted throughout our stay: the wireless was very spotty, broken blinds in a couple of rooms, a dryer that squeaked very loudly, cracked bathroom tiles, worn and torn carpet in several areas, and there is a terrible ant problem. We noted all of this on our comment card when we checked out.

We rented bikes from the Bike Doctor and did several day trips to Beaufort and Savannah. Love the area and the resort. Will stay again when we are allowed (this exchange is only allowed once every 4 years....which does not seem fair). Hopefully, we can find another RCI exchange in the HHI area next year.

Room Tip: Travel during the winter months. Less traffic, fewer vacationers, much more enjoyable.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelNCGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews