We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cottages by Spinnaker
north myrtle beach,sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved it !”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent a week at the cottages unit #53 in January. The condo was very clean and quiet and came complete with everything. It surpassed all my expectations. The layout is great and I felt right at home. The location is close to everything and for $20/wk everyone in the condo can use the facilities at the players club.I will stay there again and I highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuathebch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Cottages at Shipyard for Christmas this year on an RCI trade. Check in was fast and easy. We did end up having to move to different unit though since the smoking policy allows for smoking outdoors and our first neighbor was outside smoking a very smelly cigar. The smell was permeating the interior of our unit. The folks at the front desk were very nice and moved us immediately to a comparable unit. Although we did not have any kind of view, it was a lovely 2 bedroom, 1 story end unit and suited our needs. The activities coordinator was a bit persistent after check-in with asking me to sign-up for activities for free as long as I attended one of their sessions to discuss what I thought of the unit and resort, and called several times after that. I was not interested in a sales pitch. I'm also not sure if there was a pool or hot tub available for these particular units, I could never find one.

There were several maintenance issues that we noted throughout our stay: the wireless was very spotty, broken blinds in a couple of rooms, a dryer that squeaked very loudly, cracked bathroom tiles, worn and torn carpet in several areas, and there is a terrible ant problem. We noted all of this on our comment card when we checked out.

We rented bikes from the Bike Doctor and did several day trips to Beaufort and Savannah. Love the area and the resort. Will stay again when we are allowed (this exchange is only allowed once every 4 years....which does not seem fair). Hopefully, we can find another RCI exchange in the HHI area next year.

Room Tip: Travel during the winter months. Less traffic, fewer vacationers, much more enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelNCGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

For Christmas we made our way to the great Hilton Head Island in South Carolina. Having been before with very favorable exchanges, our expectations were high and The Cottages at Shipyard did not disappoint. Suprisingly it seemed a fairly slow week on the island and the Cottages were sparsly populated as well which made for a quiet relaxing week.

Our cottage was situated offset from a fairway and on a very small waterway which due to drought resembles a ditch, with other mostly unoccupied units across the way. Our large cul de sac had a grilling area, pool and heated outdoor hot tub. Parking was convenient and the location was perfect for access to the course, town, and the bike paths It's easy to love the Shipyard plantation. It's large, its gated, and it is beautiful.

The unit itself was a nicely appointed, lovely three bedroom townhouse style condo with front and back poches. The furnishings were very nice and like new. The decor was tasteful and up to date. We had four adult guests and the unit easily accomodated six adults.
Even the dining table was large enough for all. The kitchen was well stocked and being the holidays we cooked several meals in and had everthing we needed and room to move. The place was clean, the beds were comfy and all you could ask for. It wasn't a huge unit and the living room dining combined offer enough seating but it was good we didn't do Movie Night or livingroom seating would have presented a challenge. With everyone on the move at all times, it was perfectly sufficient, but I wouldnt call it spacious. Again, we were six adults and a couple would have felt it to be larger feeling; maybe perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf view or check on the size of the lakeview you might get. We will ask better details n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LifeIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the Cottages for a week on an RCI trade and enjoyed our time there.

The rooms are large and the location is within easy reach of pretty much anything including the beach. It is especially nice to get around via the bike paths.

The grounds are well kept and very pretty.

Our room had a poor view so we didn't spend any time on our deck. The furniture could use updating, although everything was still in very good shape. The kitchen was large and fully stocked.

WiFi was free and worked well, and everyone was helpful and friendly.

A good choice in the area. We would go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank C from NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The Cottages at the Shipyard in Hilton Head are really wonderful. We stayed at a 2 bedroom cottage that backed on to a lagoon. Our first good decision was to rent 2 bicycles from the The Bike Doctor. They were delivered to us the evening we checked in and we rode them through the great bike trails at this resort every day. The unit was spacious and well equipped....we had absolutely everything we needed including laundry facilities in the unit. The staff at the activities center were great.....we went for an hour walk in the resort with them in the mornings and thoroughly enjoyed it. They also gave us good advice on area attractions, restaurants etc. The only thing we did that we didn't really enjoy was go to Savannah for a day trip. Taking the trolley ride in historic Savannah wasn't our cup of tea and we enjoyed the resort days much more. The alligators in the ponds in the resort are really interesting! We would recommend this resort to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, Virginia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed in a unit referred to as The Cottages on Valencia Rd.in Shipyard at HHI. They were condo style with 4 to 5 individual units all attached. It was very nice and well furnished. Had a decent size kitchen and dinninger room and was very suitable for 4 people. Check in was a breeze and the staff was cheerful. The activities coordinator was a bit persistent after check-in with asking me to sign-up for tennis, golf, fitness center, etc. She called the next day about breakfast or lunch "to discuss what I thought of the unit and resort." I'm also not sure if there was a pool or hottub available for these particular units, I could never find one. But close to the plenty of bike/walking paths and a quick drive to the beach. I recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanM0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

this was our first trip to Hilton Head. We had two cottages the week leading up to Labor Day. Check in was easy and friendly. One was a ranch style with 2 bedrooms, a large kitchen, front and back porch - it was an end unit and very private. The other was a 2 bedroom up and down, 2 baths up, and a 1/2 bath on the main level with a back porch. Both had well appointed kitchens with plenty of dishes, utensils and cookware. Towel and maid service did not come with our rentals but when we called for new towels, the staff was friendly and brought them right away. We had an issue with our dryer at first, and someone came within the hour to look at it. The furniture in the living areas seemed newer and the bedrooms were clean. The beds were a bit soft for me, but clean - which is the most important part!

The resort property was well groomed, overlooking lagoons and a golf course. It was nice to have parking outside the unit as we drove everywhere. While most people rent bikes, we have two babies and couldn't use bikes for transport, so we drove a lot. The only thing within walking distance was the pool.

The pools were just pools - no frills - but plenty of chairs, umbrellas, trees for shade and towels.

When we return to Hilton Head, I hope to stay somewhere closer to the beach or with more amenities within walking distance. Or we may wait until the kids are older.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grandtraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
268 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.7 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.9 mi away
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages by Spinnaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages by Spinnaker

Property: The Cottages by Spinnaker
Address: 10 Shipyard Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottages by Spinnaker 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimate setting at The Cottages is perfect for tranquil and lazy days where your biggest concern might be selecting a dinner location. Located on quiet cul de sacs, most of these timeshare units have golf course or lagoon views. Jump onto the bike path and let it lead you through the palmettos and around the 12 miles of bike paths. Discover the serenity of southern living in villas reminiscent of Key West bungalows. Charming porches set a relaxed scene as you gaze out over lagoons and golf fairways, and the lush Lowcountry flora that surrounds you in Shipyard Plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Cottages by Spinnaker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Shipyard Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing