We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Smokehouse

The Smokehouse
Ranked #22 of 365 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Smokehouse has been Hilton Head's celebrated home of wood-fired BBQ since 1999. Their baby-back ribs, pulled pork BBQ, wings and chili have amassed countless first place awards over the years. Other specialties from the BBQ pit include texas-style beef brisket, honey glazed smoked chicken, and turkey. The Smokehouse has a menu filled with many delicious items. Come try the fresh hand cut steaks, juicy burgers, sensational salads, and a wide selection Southern side dishes. Smokehouse on Palmetto Bay Road offers it fine food and friendly service in their spacious dinning room, and outdoor deck complete with fireplace. Enjoy one of their 14 ice cold drafts or cocktail while watching your favorite sporting event in their warm and inviting bar.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Our table had a variety of food, from steak to salad and BBQ. Food was very good, served hot and cooked to temps requested. Stephanie was our server, and she did a nice job making sure we had everything we needed, and helpin us make menu choices. Nice first eve out to start off our week here on the Island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,151
    494
    175
    53
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing standard of meat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing, the service was top and the meat was of really good quality. I had the 12oz filet and it was cooked to perfection. My friend had the baby back ribs and I've never tasted meat as succulent. Well worth it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

With the number of cars in the parking lot, The Smokehoue looked promising. Certainly the wood like atmosphere made for a pleasant entry and the space itself is open and airy. Service was spotty. Nice beginning in terms of prompt ordering but food took longer than it should have for two sandwiches and after that the wait staff did not really check back until the meal was finished and we needed the check. The food was equally spotty. The sides at a BBQ establishment should be as good as the main courses...that is the appeal. However, the red rice, for example, had no flavor and was akin to white rice with some tomato sauce sprinkled over it. Hilton Head has a a lot of restaurant traffic that can make up for lack of quality but The Smokehouse can do better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfgfiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food at Amazing prices!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went as a family to this great restaurant! As a southern at heart, this had some of the best pulled pork BBQ I have ever had! The pork had great flavor, and the sauce was perfect!
The atmosphere was very family friendly and the prices were great! Very reasonable actually surprisingly cheap for the quality of the food. We are planning on going for our second time this trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I went here for BBQ. That was expected to be the best thing...so why was it that the soups and chicken sandwich were the best. Those were very good meals, but the ribs and BBQ are...well....terrible. Full of fat and grease. So next time I go I won't get a pig product. Go with something else and you might be more impressed and enjoy your meal more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoelImit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokehouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing