We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and clean accommodations in a good location for a fair price.”
Review of Royal Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Dunes Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We enjoyed our 6 day stay at Royal Dunes. The condo was roomy and clean, with great ammenities. The beach is a short, pleasant walk. We especially enjoyed the many options for exercise: running and biking on the beach (nice firm sand), well connected and shady bike trails, golf, tennis, and nature parks. We all found activities that we enjoyed just outside our door.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeannew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 123 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

I rented a 3 bedroon, 3 bath unit thru Redweek.com, for the week after July 4th, and was quite pleased. The unit was quite spacious, with updated upholstered furniture and all the bedding was new, Summer weight down comforters and thin coverlets. All bedrooms had ceiling fans and sufficient closet space. Bathrooms, likewise, were large and roomy. Hallways wide and maneuverable.
Our unit overlooked the pool and although we walked just around the corner to Marriott's Barony (owners) for pool and beach, we did make use of the activites around the pool. The corn hole area was a pleasant surprise. They also had a few fun social activities at the pool.
The kitchen was fully functional, but missing a few items,(bring your own outdoor grill tools if you plan to use one of the many grills). The stackable W/D unit is in a large closet to the side of the kitchen. This is one area that needs updating. The sliding wood doors are heavy and because they jump track so frequently, high caution is required. Another thing that needs attention/updating/replacing are the dresser/chest furniture. Outdated and old, evry piece was missing at least one drawer pull, rendering the space useless. A small, but inconvenient matter.
The dining room table and chairs, again, with generous size. Four TVs, and even a nice little stereo unit.
In these times of tough economy and societal upheaval my husband and I appreciated the double door secuity layout and monetary value.
We travel frequently thru our hotel points and timeshare exchanges, and as one of our home resorts is on HH, this property is a definite keeper on our list.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TLOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royaldunesmanagement, General Manager at Royal Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

We thank you for your feedback and are glad that you had a great time here at Royal Dunes. The wooden furniture in the condos was not part of our most recent refurbishment as it has a ten year lifespan. We will began changing this during our next phase that begins in 2014 with a building per year. Our staff works hard to maintain these items and are sorry that you had a few minor issues. Grill utensils are available upon request in the clubhouse. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at Royal Dunes Resort 6/21-6/24 and it was a great stay. Very quite resort and Very clean rooms with all accomidations. Everything you could ask for we received. Free wi-fi so I could carry out business when needed and. We had a great experience with the friendly staff. Very clean pool. We enoyed a fun cookout with the provided grills. We will be back for sure... Well recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jonbon704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This past weekend was my first time to Hilton head and we stayed at Royal Dunes when u first walk in staff was helpful and friendly . That wasnt even the best part! The condo was beautiful spacious clean and private I felt like I was at a resort in the Bahamas with the decor and layout it was tropical and just beautiful! I will come back and stay again and definitely reccommend to all my friends.THe GM just happened to be there when we checked in and personally took us on a tour of property.That is 5 star service ! Great place for families and couples!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Leilonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just got back from a 4night trip to Hilton Head. We stayed in a 3bd 3bth condo at Royal Dunes resort. Was surprised how nice the room was upon arrival. Really big and clean rooms. We went with another couple and still had plenty of room for other guests. Beach was a short walking distance( maybe a block ) but never had to walk due to staff droppIng you off and picking you back up in an oversized golf cart. I will definitely stay there again my next trip to HH. Staff was great as well. Enjoyed the pool and the cornhole on the resor the best. Rob Simpson gives this place 2 thumbs up. It I had another hand I'd give it 3 thumbs up

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hannahrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have been timeshare owners for 6 years here. We come for one week in June and 2 wks in Oct. We first visited HH 40 years ago when we came here for our Honeymoon. Our kids love it here and now our grandchildren. The rooms are always being maintained and upgraded. They are super roomy.We always get two rooms across from each other and kids run all over the place. It's great! Beach is a very short walk. There is a golf cart shuttle, but we always walk.
Everyone here is super friendly and we enjoy the activities they have for us. Today was BBQ for lunch. Very well attended and lots of fun. There are 2 pools, kiddie pool and hot tub. Very well located for many good restaurants and stores. Kitchens big and have everything you need. Pool towels are supplied also. Washer and dryer in room. This year they updated all bedding. Wonderful mattress and linen!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melanieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My parents and I have been going here ever since i was a baby it is kind of a tradition for us, we love to come here each year and play the games and the shuttle service is amazing. It is a short distance from the beach and has good size bedrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert54273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
795 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.3 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dunes Resort

Address: 8 Wimbledon Ct, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: $158 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Dunes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Dunes Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing