We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great get away location for a great price!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Dunes Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great get away location for a great price!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just got back from a 4night trip to Hilton Head. We stayed in a 3bd 3bth condo at Royal Dunes resort. Was surprised how nice the room was upon arrival. Really big and clean rooms. We went with another couple and still had plenty of room for other guests. Beach was a short walking distance( maybe a block ) but never had to walk due to staff droppIng you off and picking you back up in an oversized golf cart. I will definitely stay there again my next trip to HH. Staff was great as well. Enjoyed the pool and the cornhole on the resor the best. Rob Simpson gives this place 2 thumbs up. It I had another hand I'd give it 3 thumbs up

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannahrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
203 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have been timeshare owners for 6 years here. We come for one week in June and 2 wks in Oct. We first visited HH 40 years ago when we came here for our Honeymoon. Our kids love it here and now our grandchildren. The rooms are always being maintained and upgraded. They are super roomy.We always get two rooms across from each other and kids run all over the place. It's great! Beach is a very short walk. There is a golf cart shuttle, but we always walk.
Everyone here is super friendly and we enjoy the activities they have for us. Today was BBQ for lunch. Very well attended and lots of fun. There are 2 pools, kiddie pool and hot tub. Very well located for many good restaurants and stores. Kitchens big and have everything you need. Pool towels are supplied also. Washer and dryer in room. This year they updated all bedding. Wonderful mattress and linen!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melanieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My parents and I have been going here ever since i was a baby it is kind of a tradition for us, we love to come here each year and play the games and the shuttle service is amazing. It is a short distance from the beach and has good size bedrooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert54273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My parents own a tiemshare here and we have been coming for years...This place and it's staff are wonderful. Fantastic location mid-island with three golf courses within the grounds. The units are all three bedroom/three bath (i believe) with a huge kitchen/dining area and fantastic deck, depending on which side you stay one there is either a view overlooking the pool or the golf course. Debbie at the front desk can help with any type of rental or tour you want...and give some great recommendations too! And of course if they is anything needed throughout you stay Audrey, Margaret, and Will are always floating around and are more than super friendly and willing to help out. They do have an owners breakfast (on Sundays I think) and then BBQ (on Wed i think) where you can meet everyone...Overall love this resort and it location. Walking distance to the beach or just relax by one their private pools...

Room Tip: All have large decks with patio furniture, but depending on your sun level Bldg 1 get AM sun versus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robram_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and found the accomodations wonderful. The unit we occupied had 2 master bedrooms with a bath and a third bedroom with a shared bath. The kitchen had all you needed, the bath had a garden tub and one master bath has a jetted tub. Parking was adequate. The hot tub could have been a bit hotter and the pool was heated. Ample chairs and lounges and complementarty USA paper available. Hilton Head has lots of great resturants and bike paths to get just about anywhere. The ocean was a 5 minute walk. Would definately recommend Royal Dunes and Hilton Head in general.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billpall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

two master suites and another bedroom. a huge kitchen that several people could work in together. a nice quiet deck overlooking the golf course. parking underneath building.
the staff put on a wonderful wine tasting with plenty of food. everyone was friendly and helpful. they will hook you up on great deals for bikes and kayaks.
a short walk to the beach. it felt great to be laying on the beach in march in 80 degree weather. a very peaceful and relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: if you have kids, get a room overlooking the pool. if you want it quiet, get one overlooking the go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Royal Dunes Resort(our first visit) and we really liked the three bedroom, three bath units. The kitchen had stainless appliances and granite countertops. The furniture, carpet and tile has been updated. The covered balcony is nice-our unit overlooked the pool. The weather was nice while we were there and we didn't use the AC, but the unit is on the balcony so I can see how this would be a problem during the warmer months. The only negative in the unit was the dryer which took over two hours to dry a load of clothes.

They had a very nice wine and cheese party one afternoon with lots of tasty food and wine.

We stayed on the top floor of building 3 so we didn't hear much noise from our neighbors. I suggest asking to stay on top floor. It was nice to have an elevator and covered parking.

We enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
3.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dunes Resort

Property: Royal Dunes Resort
Address: 8 Wimbledon Ct, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5570
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Dunes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Royal Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Dunes Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing