We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshare owners for 15+ years!”
Review of Royal Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Dunes Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My parents own a tiemshare here and we have been coming for years...This place and it's staff are wonderful. Fantastic location mid-island with three golf courses within the grounds. The units are all three bedroom/three bath (i believe) with a huge kitchen/dining area and fantastic deck, depending on which side you stay one there is either a view overlooking the pool or the golf course. Debbie at the front desk can help with any type of rental or tour you want...and give some great recommendations too! And of course if they is anything needed throughout you stay Audrey, Margaret, and Will are always floating around and are more than super friendly and willing to help out. They do have an owners breakfast (on Sundays I think) and then BBQ (on Wed i think) where you can meet everyone...Overall love this resort and it location. Walking distance to the beach or just relax by one their private pools...

Room Tip: All have large decks with patio furniture, but depending on your sun level Bldg 1 get AM sun versus...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robram_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Royal Dunes Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and found the accomodations wonderful. The unit we occupied had 2 master bedrooms with a bath and a third bedroom with a shared bath. The kitchen had all you needed, the bath had a garden tub and one master bath has a jetted tub. Parking was adequate. The hot tub could have been a bit hotter and the pool was heated. Ample chairs and lounges and complementarty USA paper available. Hilton Head has lots of great resturants and bike paths to get just about anywhere. The ocean was a 5 minute walk. Would definately recommend Royal Dunes and Hilton Head in general.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billpall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

two master suites and another bedroom. a huge kitchen that several people could work in together. a nice quiet deck overlooking the golf course. parking underneath building.
the staff put on a wonderful wine tasting with plenty of food. everyone was friendly and helpful. they will hook you up on great deals for bikes and kayaks.
a short walk to the beach. it felt great to be laying on the beach in march in 80 degree weather. a very peaceful and relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: if you have kids, get a room overlooking the pool. if you want it quiet, get one overlooking the go...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jlk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Royal Dunes Resort(our first visit) and we really liked the three bedroom, three bath units. The kitchen had stainless appliances and granite countertops. The furniture, carpet and tile has been updated. The covered balcony is nice-our unit overlooked the pool. The weather was nice while we were there and we didn't use the AC, but the unit is on the balcony so I can see how this would be a problem during the warmer months. The only negative in the unit was the dryer which took over two hours to dry a load of clothes.

They had a very nice wine and cheese party one afternoon with lots of tasty food and wine.

We stayed on the top floor of building 3 so we didn't hear much noise from our neighbors. I suggest asking to stay on top floor. It was nice to have an elevator and covered parking.

We enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We have stayed in many timeshares on Hilton Head Island and consider this at the top of the list for Place to enjoy the beach, biking, golf and access to on and off Island destinations.

Considering these units are usually filled to capacity every week of the year, I think the staff does a great job of keeping them in excellent shape while managing finances allow the best
Maintenance fee for the island's timeshares.

Three bedrooms, three baths, covered parking, responsive staff, with beach, biking, golf, movie theaters, plays and concerts, Starbucks, Barnes and Noble plus great seafood minutes away, who needs the expense of an indoor pool, much less a gym. Those can be readily found in Wisconsin, Minnesota, North Dakota, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms are basically identical.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed here for a week. Wonderful condo, 3 bed 3 bath all units, elevator, very comfortable and plenty of room. They have an onsite office, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. I would have given 5 stars if there had been an indoor pool. Close to beach and golf is almost at your door! I would definetly recommend this resort. Great for golfers or those that just looking for a place to relax and enjoy the area. We are Global Discovery Vacation members and took advantage of our membership.

Room Tip: All units are the same, updated every 4 years so there are no bad units.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2togoohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I find most of the other reviews to be accurate. It is only a short walk to a very nice beach area and found the staff friendly and accommodating with good recommendations for dining and activities. We thought the kitchen was small and in need of updating. The carpet is very clean but showing signs of wear. The bedrooms are good sized and bed reasonably comfortable. The living area with TV was small and the furniture not especially comfortable.

This is a relatively quiet small resort without many extra activities (if that is what you are looking for). There is covered parking and outside grills. I'd stay there again but don't expect to be blown away like some other Diamond Resorts.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have a better view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
6.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
785 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
4.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dunes Resort

Address: 8 Wimbledon Ct, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5570
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: $150 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Dunes Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Dunes Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing