We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chicken salad sandwich on the island.”

Stu's Surfside Subs
Ranked #83 of 365 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a sub shop, the best on the island and you have us listed as closed on a holiday weekend and the page is not allowing me to edit the hours, this is really not good! :( Donna Zigelstein Owner Operator
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best chicken salad sandwich on the island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Service is great food is great. Fresh bread with the best chicken salad on the island. They treat locals and visitors great!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Njtrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    50
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stu - named for the fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Best sub on the island. Fresh bread made daily, generous portions and quality meats,etc.. I love the Beach Club with avocado spread and turkey. The restaurant itself is so fun- small, surf shop with cool music playing. You can even play Pac Man while you wait. I love to sit at the counter or outside. Fast, excellent food!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meticulouslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, SC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Subs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Fresh bread...that is what a good sub starts with and Stu's makes the grade! They pile on the meat, unlike big named chains (Subway's yuck) and they are consistantly excellent. Perfect for taking to the beach and enjoying a picnic lunch or they have a very small dining area inside and larger space outside, the dining area isn't much to look at but the food is phenomenal. Frendly staff as well. IF ITS' A SUNNY...BEACHY DAY...save yourself some time and CALL AHEAD...the secret is out and people, local's (which I am) and tourists know about this place. If you are a SUB connoisseur you must try this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMC843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stopped by Stu's right before closing on our last night on the island. We wanted to just get something quick to enjoy on the beach. I read on Tripadvisor this was a great place so we decided to try it out. Wow! I'm so glad we did. The bread was phenomenal. We didn't have to wait that long even though it was busy, maybe just 15 minutes. They even gave us extra bacon to take with us since it was near closing time. This is the perfect place to go when you are in the mood for something easy and the staff were all very friendly too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Subs are OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

bread is good, sub was average. It is very hard to get too and the wait for them to make the subs is crazy. we waited over 45 minutes and there was no one in the shop!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JESBF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stu's Surfside Subs also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Stu's Surfside Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing