We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
oh
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

There are many good things about the resort that have already been mentioned. I will add a couple observations.

I would prefer there be a fitness center on site. We had access to another fitness center at Coral Sands about one mile away, but it would be more convenient to have one on site.

There are two pools, only one is heated. The weather was chilly, so of course everyone came to the heated pool, which made it crowded. There were maybe 20 chairs for a whole lot of people. Not nearly enough chairs. Why doesn't the staff bring the chairs from the unheated pool to the heated pool???? Easy solution! Or even better, buy more chairs!!!

More bike racks are needed near the 100/300/500 buildings. There was one rack on the side of the 100 building and it wasn't easy to get your bike in and out of. There were tall bushes on the left side and it meant scraping yourself up to get your bike out. There are two racks behind the 300 building and they were full just like the one by the 100 building. And this is off season! I can't imagine the pool chair situation or bike rack issues when it is prime season.

The welcome breakfast is on Tuesday morning. Check in was on Saturday. Why wait so long to have the breakfast? If you have good info the share with people about the area, they want to know early on in their vacation, so they can make plans of what to go see and explore. Waiting till Tuesday seemed pointless.

Our two bedroom unit was fine. The twin beds in the second bedroom could be updated to XL twin beds. They seemed extra small and short. The unit was decent overall. The bedspreads need to be updated. And also, a flat screen in the 2nd bedroom would be nice.

I just felt like there was not enough info given out regarding the entire Shipyard Plantation. There was a Shipyard Ocean Club facility.....I still am not sure if we were allowed to access that. There was a walkway to the beach by the Sonesta Hotel and it had benches and a bathroom area. Again, are Port O Call residents allowed to use that facility? It definitely is part of Shipyard, but it just seemed confusing. We wondered if there were restaurants within the Plantation, if so, what were their hours? It is like a huge plantation with several sub divisions, but we were never told what we actually had access to.

During check in our male clerk said he would drop off some restaurant info/discounts to our room. He said both he and his parents live in the Plantation. Well, we never heard from him again! I guess because we didn't sign up for the timeshare pitch, he wasn't interested in us anymore!

One other thing, the whole island is dimly lit and not easy to navigate at night. When you enter the plantation, you drive for about 1.5 miles and then turn right onto a road, and then left into the actual Port O Call development. The sign on the main road (when you need to turn right) is burnt out, thus making it impossible to see! I called maintenance to report this and the lady was very indifferent, stating they were aware of it, and was quite blunt about it. It never was fixed the entire time we were there. I hope this is not their general attitude toward maintenance issues. Since most of the buildings are at least 20 years old, there is plenty of maintenance to be done.

Overall, we enjoyed Shipyard and would return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank drpc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    94
    31
    12
    2
See reviews for
170
113
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit at Port o'Call and found the location was convenient and surroundings were well maintained. Lovely entrance and decorated with lights and ornaments for Christmas. The unit was large and comfortable with a screened in balcony. The kitchen was very well equipped and had all appliances from a dishwasher to a blender. The only thing that was a little aggravating was that there was an elevator but when we tried to load all our belongings onto the luggage cart and go from the vehicle to the elevator, we couldnt get the cart up the steps to get to the elevator!!! Not very well thought through on their part. A short walk down to the beach through a secured gate from the property. Would stay again. Overall a g

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lizardqueen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We used this resort via RCI exchange. Let me start by saying this is NOT a gold crown resort, despite what RCI claims. They seem to label a lot of resorts "gold crown", I would like to know what criteria they use for such designations. The resort is conveniently located, close to the beautiful beach. The check in was a nightmare as we arrived late and we had to call RCI emergency # etc. By the time they returned our call, fortunately we had found the # to call to get the lock box location, got to the lock box and got our paperwork to enter the plantation. The lock box/check in is at a diff location than the resort location, this was not made clear to us. The plantation itself is beautiful. The one bed room unit was clean and adequate but NOT GOLD CROWN QUALITY as mentioned earlier. Corridors were smelly all the time! The beds were not good at all, they were bouncy and limpy. There should be more pots for 4 people for a week. We had to keep washing the two small pots by hand often and reuse. There is no dish drain. All other utensils like peeler, grater, scissors, cutlery, cups/plates etc. were adequate. Washer/dryer very convenient within the room. Kitchen floors etc. were hard stone, old grout. Only soaps, no shampoo etc. kept. I really wish liquid soap was kept as it's more hygenic than small bars for washing hands. Not enough soaps either for each to use their hand washing soap. While things are convenient, they are by no means close to luxurious to be called a gold crown property! Showers were powerful but three of us couldn't shower without the second/third person getting luke warm water. They sent maintenance guy promptly and he left a note that the temp was increased for the hot water heater but the issue was not resolved. I don't know if it was the high volume of the shower or inadequate size of the water heater. We didn't use the pool or sauna. Small, fat TV in the bedroom, flat screen in the living room. One thing I am very tired of is while we are charged a lot of money/points for exchanging etc. based on its "gold crown" status, THERE IS NO CLEANING SERVICE AT ALL FOR THE ENTIRE WEEK. This is becoming almost the norm for a lot of timeshare properties while maintenance fees keep going up every year. Even a cheap $60 hotels provide such service. We would have liked cleaning service at least once in the entire week. RCI really needs to do something about this. We had enough towels etc. as we used them judiciously but we had no extra sheets/pillow cases to change during the week. Discounts by bicycle company for this resort was good. Gym code never worked and it's not on property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rkramadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed for a week in a 3 BR unit on the top floor of a condo building. That unit was lovely, private and spacious, equipped with everything you might need. The area is great and with a rental car we were able to travel to both Savannah, GA and Charleston, SC (staying overnight in Charleston). The top floor condo was great, but I can't say if the other units would be as private. We had booked a 3 BR cottage, but were told we had not and were given the condo. And there was a couple before us at check-in that had the same situation. The management was firm and we (as well as the other couple) were very disappointed, as we chose this week for that reason (for the cottage). However, that top unit was very nice. That being said, I would be hesitant about coming back unless I had in writing what unit I was actually getting.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathyFitz2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very nice accomodation with lots of space and well equiped appartment. Access to the beach is good and close. If you like golf Hilton Head is the place to visit. As we visited in November the weather was not the best and a lot of places were closed "out of season".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Wingers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
156 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed in a studio for the week before thanksgiving. My husband had meetings all week in Savannah so although the unit was not much more spacious than a motel room if was fine as we were not in it together except to sleep. The linens, quality of furniture, condition of unit was perfect. It only had a microwave which did keep me from baking a meal.
While he was gone all day I found miles of bike paths to ride, played tennis round robins at Vandemere Tennis Center and yoga at the check in center 2 mornings.
The pool was lovely and access to the beach very easy.
Would definitely stay at Port O'call again.

Room Tip: Enjoyed 100 building adjacent to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psl126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a 3 BR unit for 3 couples in PortO Call over the Labor Day week! The 3 BR units are separate from the main building and it like your own condo.Very comfortable and spacious unit, Well stocked with everything you need for a great stay. Keyless entry made it easy for all 6 of us to come and go easily. Short walk to the beach and close by to Coligny for most everything else. We love HH and go there every year and Port O Call was as nice as any we've stayed. In fact we have already book for 2014 and will stay in Port O Call again, only this time a 1 BR unit. Hopefully, it will be as nice as the 3 BR units

Room Tip: If booking a 3 BR try to ask for units that have king/queen beds. Our only drawback was other than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmg320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#3 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation

Property: Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation
Address: 66 Pope Ave, Hilton Head, SC
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in a hotel when you can stay in a fully equipped villa or cottage with washer & dryer, entertainment centers, TV's in bedrooms and living room, DVD players, all kitchens utensils and tableware. Each unit is professionally decorated and refurbished every year. Port O' Call, a member of The Palmera Vacation Club, is located on beautiful Hilton Head Island, perhaps the finest resort community along the Atlantic Coastline. Hilton Head Island boasts natural beauty along with a playground of outdoor activities. World renowned for it's golf and tennis, Hilton Head also offers a variety of water sports, miles of bike paths, wonderful restaurants and great shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port o`Call Shipyard Plantation Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing