We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We own here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We own here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

It is always nice to go back to Port O'Call. It's like a home away from home. You are nestled on a plantation with trees. There are two pools, tennis and water activities for both adults and children. The units are clean and updated. You are only a few blocks away from the ocean. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Room 103 I believe is a great room. You come off the terrace and your poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrissie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    94
    30
    12
    2
See reviews for
169
112
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have been going to Hilton Head for summer vacations with my husband and kids for years and this is the first time that we stayed in Port O'Call, but it won't be the last! The 2 bedroom unit that we had on the third floor (there is an elevator) was an end unit and it was perfect for us. Both bedrooms were like masters because they each had a king size bed and a master bathroom--but one of them had a door out to the living area, so we considered this one the kid's room! The kitchen was small, but functional--we don't do much cooking on vacation anyway. The floor plan was open--the dining room and living rooms (there were 2) were all open to eachother--and to the kitchen. The sliding glass doors in the living room led to an open balcony over looking the pool area, and the master bedroom had a screened in balcony facing the same way. The master bathroom had a jacuzzi tub large enough for multiple people! I liked that the two bedrooms were not side by side, but rather on opposite sides of the unit.

The grounds were well kept and the pools (there are two of them--one is heated) were clean with plenty of tables, chairs, lounge chairs and umbrellas. The tennis courts are located right next to the pool and were available most of the week--it was May when we were there.

The beach is a short walk from the units--down a quiet street--the beach here is not supervised by a lifeguard--for the "public" beach, you have to walk almost a mile. There you will find rest rooms, showers, changing rooms, umbrella & chair rentals, and access to the outdoor bar and restaurant at the hotel. Coligney Circle is right there and you have all the restaurants, shops and supermarket. We rented bikes so this was a nice option some days instead of going to the same beach spot every day.

The fitness center is at the Coral Sands Resort welcome center where you check in--about a mile away. I didn't use it, but it's new (about a year or two old) and the lazy river pool is there too. We did the time share presentation and found that they were not too annoying--we were well compensated for our time. We usually pass on this, but everyone always tells us about the freebies they get so we tried it!

Room Tip: I've been told that the one bedroom units do not have a balcony, so if you like to sit out witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nairb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
268 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We traded our timeshare with RCI and got a three bedroom to Port O'Call. I had read the other reviews and was hoping I had made a good choice. Got our info packet from Coral Sands Resort and headed on to Shipyard and the Port O'Call development. The three bedroom units are the houses located around the three floor units. We were in villa #35 and found it clean and well stocked. The master bedroom was large and the two other bedroom's had two single beds (small) but comfortable, each with its own bathroom. The living area had a nice flat screen TV, but the three bedrooms had older model TV's and did not get all the cable channels. The master bathroom had a nice large jet tube, but you have to know the hidden location for the on/off switch. ( Look behind the bathroom door and no label) Had to call management and asked why the switch on the tube was not working.

The WiFi was good, so you have computer capability if you want. Daily activities at the pool and other buildings if you want to participate. On Monday, there was a breakfast for all and the local vendors are there to let you know about there offerings. Bicycles are nice and no parking issues. The pool was clean and the hot tube was 103 degrees. There was a locked gate that you have access to the beach, close to the villa. Nice screened in porch for eating or just relaxing. The upstairs bedroom was the big hit for the grandchild, called it her "hideaway room". She could play, and we could rest downstairs.. LOL

Some maintenance issues we had were the dishwasher had an issue when closing the top slide. The outside grill, had a broken igniter so matches were needed if you wanted to use. We had 2-roaches seen and did a write up when we left.

All considered, we had a good week and I would trade back there again. Hope this is helpful to readers.

Room Tip: I liked the villa better than a the three floor 2 bedroom units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have been going to Hilton Head since I was a little girl. It has something for everyone. This summer my husband and I are taking our two young children there along with my parents. It's been a vacation for our family from one generation to another! Shipyard Port O'Call is a lovely place to stay with activites for young and old and is just a short walk to the beach!

Room Tip: Whether you want a single condo or a two or three bedroom condo or a cottage. All of the rooms are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLNB_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, NY
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed here the first week of April 2012, having traded thru RCI. We had a two bedroom condo on the 3rd (top) floor of the 900 building overlooking the pool and adjacent tennis center. The unit was large, in impeccable shape, well furnished and well stocked. We had a screened-in balcony off the master bath and a balcony with screen door off the master bedroom (the balconies are only off the end units). The master bath had a 2-person jacuzzi. The living room has a large flat screen TV and DVD player. The bedrooms had somewhat smaller flat screens (maybe 26").

This part of Shipyard backs on to North Forest Drive, so is quite close to the beach and less than a mile to all the shopping and restaurants of Coligny Plaza. The biking is terrific. The island is so flat you don't need gears (most rental bikes don't have them). [Tip; to visit Sea Pines by bike you must ride down the beach and come in via path; they won't allow visitors to enter by bike at the gates.] Much of the beaches are very hard packed sand and biking on them is easy.

Cons are few. Unfortunately the tennis center next door starts blowing leaves and junk off the courts shortly before 8:00 am even on Sundays, so it helps to have ear plugs. While we received an hour a day of tennis gratis at the tennis center, there was no break on golf. There is no music system in the condo to play CDs or connect an IPod to. And strangely, they do no recycling at Port O'Call; at least half our trash by volume we would normally recycle at home but had to throw out with the trash here. That said, we would certainly not hesitate to return to Port O'Call.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swegnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, PA, USA
Level Contributor
350 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a timeshare/rental property within the beautiful Shipyard Plantation. We occupied a 3 BR, 3 Bath cottage with a huge and fully equipped kitchen, lovely furnishings and easy access to 2 community pools. Shipyard has 27 holes of championship golf and excellent tennis facilities. A great choice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Neck, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a nice condo property - nothing fancy, but very comfortable and spacious and a short walk or bike ride to the ocean. We're here off-season, and it's perfect. If we were going to be here with more folks, the 3 bedroom cottages across the parking lot look perfect. Only criticisms are the noise - upstairs neighbors are noisy, and the construction is not that good for sound and vibration blockage. Early morning there are a number of trucks and work machines that begin too early for a resort when you're trying to sleep.

Room Tip: If you don't have problems with stairs, then stay upstairs to avoid noise from upstairs neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AGenealogistMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#3 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation

Property: Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation
Address: 66 Pope Ave, Hilton Head, SC
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in a hotel when you can stay in a fully equipped villa or cottage with washer & dryer, entertainment centers, TV's in bedrooms and living room, DVD players, all kitchens utensils and tableware. Each unit is professionally decorated and refurbished every year. Port O' Call, a member of The Palmera Vacation Club, is located on beautiful Hilton Head Island, perhaps the finest resort community along the Atlantic Coastline. Hilton Head Island boasts natural beauty along with a playground of outdoor activities. World renowned for it's golf and tennis, Hilton Head also offers a variety of water sports, miles of bike paths, wonderful restaurants and great shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port o`Call Shipyard Plantation Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing