We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We were in Unit 707 (2 bedrooms) with RCI. VEry comfortable bedrooms, spacious leaving accomodations, perfect wifi set-up. Great pool, tennis - the biking is amazing. We had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike072560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    102
    32
    12
    2
See reviews for
190
121
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We were fortunate to have friends that asked us to come along on their vacation to Hilton Head Island, SC. They have a time share and were going to be staying at the Shipyard Plantations, Port O'Call location.
This was a lovely location. Everything from the bike paths to the bathroom was beautifully maintained. We traveled several times by the bike paths. So much fun and so very relaxing!
This is a great place to stay and I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed right at the tennis courts. No problem with noise or foot travelers as I had expected. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lissco4jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We spent our fall break here. (10/1-8,2011) We stayed in unit 501, our was a 2br,2ba with two sleeper sofas. It is about a 15 min walk to the beach or a 20 min walk to Coligny plaza. We didn't discover shipyards beach club until the evening of our last day. Thats okay because the beach access we used was never crowded. There was one strange looking bug in our villa but he never botherd us. He drowned in the shower by accident though so he won't be frightening the next guest. I'll include a photo just in. case he had family.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank primetimewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Reading other reviews, i think one of the main differences as to whether you will really like this resort is the room-type you get. Through RCI we got a 2 bedroom that sleeps 8 people. This was a wonderful setup for 6 of us. We were in room 712...

You go to another condo area to check-in. We arrived around 2:30pm - did a pre-check in at the counter, then told we had to wait until 3pm to get our check-in stuff. Around 2:50pm I noticed people around us going up to the desk and leaving. Hmmm - I walked up and asked whether we could get our check-in stuff and the man checked and everything was ready to go.

Both bedrooms had a comfortable king bed with comfortable pillows + extra linen and blankets for the 2 extra pull-out couches. Master had larger everything, of course, but both had TVs. Master had small screen balcony with 2 chairs that overlooks the activities center + small view of tennis courts. Master bath was great - large shower, large jacuzzi tub. Both baths had towels for 4 people + starter soaps (I would bring 1 or 2 extra for the full week). + enough toilet paper for the week + hairdryer.

Combo washer/dryer was fine. The dryer started out leaving rust stains on our clothes until we wiped it down - be careful of that!

Kitchen was small but had almost everything we needed. I've found timeshare baking pans are usually odd shaped instead of usual 13x9 pan / round cake pan, etc, but you adjust. Lots of glasses including a set of plastic glasses you can take down to the pool. Blender worked ok (not the best but it worked). Dishwasher was good - they provided a LOT of dishwasher detergent. 1 roll of paper towels provided. Dish towels, hot mitts, can opener, etc all provided. NOTE: We went to the grocery store on the Saturday we arrived around 9pm and around 9:30 the store announced it was closing in 1/2 hour - we had to rush like crazy people to buy our stuff.

Kitchen had glass table with 6 chairs. Sitting area was ok with a couch and TV + another small sitting area off of that with another couch + dressers for anyone who may be sleeping on the pull-out couches + an ipod charger radio. Another balcony off the sitting area had 4 chairs (not screened-in). Our unit didn't have a table on the balcony but I noticed that most other balconies did. Having a balcony is really nice (except when it's so hot as it was fur us on our visit) + great for leaving towels and bathing suites out to dry, eating snacks and reading, getting away from the tv in the condo. Our balcony overlooked the pool + tennis courts. i can see where if you don't have a balcony your opinion of the resort would not be as high (and we had 2 balconies!!)

As everyone has said before, LOVED Shipyard + rented biked from the company recommended by the condo. Having never been to HH before - I thought Shipyard was really, really, really confusing for the first few days, but as the week went on you get more comfortable with the layout. We had such a hard time just finding our condo (NOTE: always follow the Port O'Call signs). Fun to have a pass to go through the gate with a nice man waving you on. Bike paths were wonderful, alligators are around for alligator-watching fun..

It was funny trying to find the gate to the path to the beach, when it ended up being really close to our condo. That was a funny adventure. It was a full 2 blocks walk to the beach, but a pleasant walk. Out of the gate, turn right, and at the first yield sign turn left and walk to the beach. PS - VERY fun riding your bike on the beach. NOTE: In early August, within 10 minutes, 3 of the 4 of us that got in the water got stung by jelly fish. That was it - no more ocean swimming for us. Good thing the pool at the condo was really nice. So pretty with the palm trees + how wonderful to swim at night (pool's open until 10pm). Fun!!!

The condo is in a wonderful location to bike to Coligny Plaza. What a perfect beach vacation thing to do. Out of the gate, turn right and ride your bike for approx a mile (probably less) along a nice path. Wonderful touristy stores - again, perfect vacation thing to do, especially with bike that has basket to bring back all the things you buy. We bought some cupcakes from Caroline's Cupcakes one day, put the cupcakes in the basket and rode back to the condo (too bad it was so hot that some of the icing melted, but still fun sampling the cupcakes). We got 4 different cupcakes and for dessert one night we divided each cupcake into 6 pieces so we each could try each flavor.

Condo activities: welcome breakfast (didn't go), water aerobics (good - attended by older women - some who were funny and some who were cranky), bike ride (didn't go - activities girl said no one showed up), hot dogs + chips by the pool (didn't go), hair wraps ($5 for my daughters long hair - she's still wearing it, so i'd say that was a good deal - it takes a while to do - maybe 20 minutes per person so be prepared to wait a while), Scategories (there were only us 4 who attended, but it's fun - we love this game and were able to take it back to our condo), bingo (2 families showed up for a total of 6 people - pay $1, get really, really bad prizes, such as pencils or postcards, but it was pleasant), movies (didn't go - it was at another condo, but they said they do provide popcorn), decorate 2 cookies for $1 (didn't go), basketball shootout (nephew went + one other boy showed up so they cancelled the event but the boys played anyway).

All 6 of us agreed we would like to go back to the same condo - that says a lot! Really nice vacation!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank waggyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Shipyard Plantation is a wonderful location - close to the beach, shops, restaurants, many within walking or bicycling distance.

Check-in was a bit of a chore. People at the desk seemed to be impatient and annoyed by questions. Don't believe it when they try to tell you that the "concierge" across the lobby will complete your check-in. She's there to set up a time share presentation, aka "resort update." Say "no thanks" quickly and move on.

Pros: it's a small thing, but I loved the self-chosen key code for the unit door lock - no more searching for or keeping track of keys or key cards, especially to and from the pool. The welcome breakfast was fantastic - a full cooked meal! Pools and hot tub were clean, and we had no trouble finding chairs or shade when we wanted them. Tennis courts were also plentiful and well-maintained. The bicycle service recommended by the resort was a real bargain. Bikes were waiting for us when we arrived and picked up when we left. Internet access in the unit was a plus.

Cons: we had a small "inside" two-bedroom unit. It was adequate but fairly dark compared to an end unit with more windows. Our tiny screen porch looked out over the ... bike rack, and with only one side open, offered little air movement or ventilation. The lock on the sliding door was broken, leaving us vulnerable. They came out and adjusted it, but it fell apart again a day later.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay - Hilton Head is amazing with lots of bike trails, great restaurants, beautiful beaches and wildlife areas. Don't miss the Pinckney Island Refuge rookery just before sunset!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mathtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We had a one bedroom suite. The appliances were mismatched, the bedroom was MINISCULE, the compressor for tthe AC was in the bedroom and hummed all night, we shared the washer and dryer with the inhabitants of the studio across the hall which we were not made aware of. The carpeting in the bedroom was frayed. When I asked to change our room and explained how unhappy we were, no effort was made to help us,Also, there was no balcony in our unit. Other units did have them. This also was not made known to us when we booked.
Fortunately HHI is beautiful and we did not need to spend much time @ Port o Call.
RCI places are usually much nicer with better amenities. This place fell way below our expectations!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank copwife02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Just left Hilton Head where we stayed in Unit 910, a two bedroom condo. The condo was very clean, somewhat dated, adequately stocked. We stayed during a very hot week.
Room temps climbed to above 80 every day and could not be brought down until around 3 AM. Two calls to maintenance were quickly responded to however the problem never solved. On our last day our key broke off in our lock. At 6 PM no one was ever able to reach
Reba management to help us. Another guest had to call the police for us. Meanwhile I had to bike all the way to the front gate to try and get help as well. Unit is in a very good location, easy beach access. No internet in room. Lighting in bathroom way below adequate, especially in the second bath.
Staff was friendly but not overwhelming in helpfulness.. All in all Ok but not great

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.0 mi away
Coral Sands Resort
Coral Sands Resort
#2 of 52 in Hilton Head
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation

Property: Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation
Address: 66 Pope Ave, Hilton Head, SC
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in a hotel when you can stay in a fully equipped villa or cottage with washer & dryer, entertainment centers, TV's in bedrooms and living room, DVD players, all kitchens utensils and tableware. Each unit is professionally decorated and refurbished every year. Port O' Call, a member of The Palmera Vacation Club, is located on beautiful Hilton Head Island, perhaps the finest resort community along the Atlantic Coastline. Hilton Head Island boasts natural beauty along with a playground of outdoor activities. World renowned for it's golf and tennis, Hilton Head also offers a variety of water sports, miles of bike paths, wonderful restaurants and great shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port o`Call Shipyard Plantation Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing