We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to Rate - Kids had fun”
Review of Lawton Stables

Lawton Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lawton Stables offers horseback riding, pony rides, a small animal farm and horse-themed gift store in the heart of the beautiful resort island of Hilton Head, South Carolina.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tough to Rate - Kids had fun”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The kids loved the petting farm, but the animals looked like they needed a good brushing down to me. Dandruff and fur knots. They had roosters, donkeys, goats, a deer, sheep. You buy your food for the farm animals - just $.25 a bag - and have them eat out of your hand. Kids liked that alot. We also took a pony ride, just a short ride 2x around the goat pen, maybe 2 minutes and then get a picture at the end. The kids enjoyed it. Cost $10/ea. You can feed the horses in the corral by the Animal Petting Farm if you bring your OWN apples and carrots. They had a Shetland looking horse (not sure if that was the exact breed) but again I wanted to give him a good brushing. Saw some lovely horses in the corrals on the opposite side that were in terrific shape. One even put on a show for us and ran and bucked and ran some more. We then saw that a rider was coming for him. It must have been exercise time. That was fun. . .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank irysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    96
    29
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great for kids and adults”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

offers a free petting farm with different animals and you can walk up to horses at the fence. They also offer horse back riding tours and pony rides for the younger kids.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hawksIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“horses on hilton head”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

this stable if very nice, and even if you don't ride horses, it is very interesting. they also have different animals for the children to see, pet, and feed. they do have trail rides through the forest preserve which i hope to do on our next visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelbydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“KIDS LOVED IT”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We make this stop every year. The horses are trained to take you on a pretty good ride through the "jungle". The place is getting fixed up more and more each year. Way to go!! I love the new energy and the staff was wonderful as always! A must do in Hilton Head!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Farm”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Note: $5 to enter into the neighborhood where the farm is located.

We went to Lawtons for the horseback trail ride. The farm is very well kept. All the employees we encountered were very nice and helpful.

We visited the petting area with our niece before the horse ride. The animals in this area are very friendly and allow the children to get very close to them.

Like others stated, they do not give a lot of direction on how to ride horses. It seems they are very trusting of the horses to follow the path and behave. We had pretty smooth ride, other than horses trying to stop and eat and the occasional trot, our horses were very well mannered. Katie our guide spoke about the land, local vegetation, and even recommend more activities and places to dine in Hilton Head.

Overall, we enjoyed ourselves and would return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccamartens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawton Stables also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Lawton Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing