We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place”
Review of Lawton Stables

Lawton Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lawton Stables offers horseback riding, pony rides, a small animal farm and horse-themed gift store in the heart of the beautiful resort island of Hilton Head, South Carolina.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We loved this place”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great place for kids. They have a variety of farm animals - goats, pigs, donkeys, chickens, sheep and horses. Our 3 yr old son loved the pony ride ($8). Take along quarters to buy animal feed ($0.50).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 465Jeffb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    95
    27
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best stables ever.....”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very nice, relaxing ride. Very clean stable and nice to have things for all ages. My 2 year old decided not to ride the pony and it was a easy refund. It was great we brought apples and carrots and fed the horses. You can tell they take great care of the horses.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“could have been better”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife, 11month old, and I took a trip to Hilton head to see some of the animals at Lawton Stables, when we arrived we were really excited but that soon faded. We wanted pictures of our son petting animals up close. The staff would not let you in the pens with the animals. You had to remain on the outside and look in. The horses were neat but they were not very nice or welcoming. We were under the impression, from reading online, that feeding the animals was free of charge. When we asked if we could feed them, since it was almost feeding time, they told us it would be a dollar fifty. They were putting food into the trough right in front of us but wanted to charge for a handful. The attitude from the staff was one of inconvenience that we were there. Only great part was I was able to get a few pictures of my son.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank zeplaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Late Afternoon Horse Back Riding”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

It was a rainy day on Hilton Head Island and we were trying to find something to do. We checked with the Lawton Stables and they open for a late afternoon ride. We were taken care of quickly and assigned horses. We rode through a scenic horse trail for an hour. The horses were easily handled. There were several people to make sure the horses stayed on trail and were controlled well. Even though it was drizzling it was an enjoyable ride. The attendants were nice enough to take pictures of us on our horses at the end. After the horse back riding we stayed and fed animals, deer, pig, ram, which was a lot of fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MagVeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Horses”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lawton Stables has a nice atmosphere, but the first bad sign was when the guides didn't share a lot of information about horse body language and how to ride a horse period. Our guide Katie was a nice woman, but she told us hardly any facts about the island and talked on her cell phone twice. On the plus side, our horses, Petunia, Bubbles, and Cinnamon were great and the petting zoo was very cute. Nice place, but guides need to step it up a little bit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JMK220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawton Stables also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Lawton Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing