We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hey...nice Duck!”
Review of Ruan Thai

Ruan Thai
Ranked #80 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Hey...nice Duck!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I came here with 2 other families and their kids(6 adults, 4 kids) while on a mini vacation/reunion with friends. We found the restaurant to be very nice, kid friendly and quite accommodating! Our servers were professional, the food came out fast and was presented well. We enjoyed the choice of different Curry and liked the choice so spicy-ness as well. The interior was upscale.

I was very impressed with the crispy duck- not even being a duck fan, I was asked to try it because I was told it was incredible...it was!

All in all it was a nice experience and we enjoyed our evening...I would highly suggest coming here for great Thai Food! And by the way, get the Duck!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHESAIDYES09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    127
    36
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“There's Two: Mid-Island and Main St.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

There's at least two of these places on the island, both owned by the same family, and offering the same menus, from different chefs, of course. They have lots of traditional dishes at fairly moderate prices. and everything is either ok or good but not great. We like the place at Main Street a lot better than the one at mid-Island. Just a different chef, and the place is smaller and seems to attract an older, less touristy, crowd. The decor isn't much at either place. Our waiter was a nice guy who had very long answers to almost every question and I began to wonder if I wanted to spend more time talking to him than my dinner companions. But there were pleasant surprises, too -- like the three beers they had on draught. Excellent. So were the appetizers. I think we tried one of everything. Just great. Those eating light had the lemon grass chicken; the rest had fried rice, and it was surprisingly good. Be aware the menu offers beer and wine only, no liquor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RufusTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Addicted to Thai”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The best Panang sauce I have had so far. Hard to find because of the signage. A must have if you like Thai.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Thai food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This was the best meal we had while staying on the island for a week. Excellent flavor, attention to detail, & presentation as well as amazing service. Best Thai we've ever had in fact and we eat at a Thai restaurant at home at least once a week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHIslander7
Level Contributor
79 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food Excellent - Service not always”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We eat here usually once a week for lunch and occasionally for dinner. The food is always good. They can do mild, medium, hot or very hot depending on your preference. I have never seen it to be unsanitary in the time that we have been going which is over 6 years. Service is not always great - it depends on how many they have working and who they are. In recent days, they have been understaffed at lunch which contributes to the problem. I love the mango paradise or shrimp and eggplant for lunch and three flavor flounder or sweet and sour shrimp for dinner. My husband loves the drunken noodle and fried rice but he has also gotten other dishes and always loved every one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HHIslander7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruan Thai also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ruan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing