We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food great service”

Captain Woody's Seafood Bar
Ranked #76 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Captain Woody's is a fun and casual seafood restaurant with plenty of options for land lovers as well. The entire menu is available for lunch and dinner with an indoor and outdoor bar and patio seating.
Canandaigua, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food great service”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The food here was good. The fish tacos were especially tasty. Service was great. The wait was long but it was nice since there was an outdoor seating area with live music.

Helpful?
Thank Richyscott13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptW00dy, General Manager at Captain Woody's Seafood Bar, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thankyou for trying out our restaurant and for writing such a nice review. Summer can be crazy but I'm happy you enjoyed the music and that the wait time didn't deter you. Look forward to having you dine with us again on your next trip to HHI.

Sincerely,
Lauren Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    266
    126
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, SC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I love sitting outside at this place!!! Great for kids and a relaxed environment. Some of the menu items are fantastic some are so-so. The baskets and sandwiches are great and a great value. Did not love my crab cake dinner entree. Kids meals were excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brodyhaskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptW00dy, General Manager at Captain Woody's Seafood Bar, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. I'm happy you enjoyed our restaurant and the outdoor deck. Sorry you were not pleased with the crabcakes, they are one of our top selling items. Hopefully that will not deter you from returning and trying some of our other dishes.

Sincerely,
Lauren Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler231232
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We visited on a recent visit to Hilton Head and were pleasantly surprised. We go to HHI a lot and couldn't believe we hadn't been here yet. Food was reasonably priced for fresh seafood (in the mid teens for a plate) and quite good. The whole table enjoyed their food- especially the hush puppies.

Helpful?
Thank Traveler231232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nothing special ”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were hoping up find some great seafood on our trip to HHI. It wasn't here. Food was so-so, prices were fairly high. Our first and last visit. There has to better on the island.

Helpful?
Thank Lauriem66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pricey and not worth it”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I had high hopes. We ate outside on a deck; the ambiance was laid back and beach bar like. Being a native Marylander, I know to not order crab cakes outside of MD. My bad!! I ordered the sandwich. It was a soggy, mushy mess. My husband and kids ordered the fried shrimp. It was just ok. The daiquiris were good, while the Bloody Mary was pretty bad. It was very expensive for lunch (over $100) and simply not worth it. I heard that the owner is very nice, and I wish him well, but something has to change. Without the beauty of his former location on the marina, he may be in trouble.

Helpful?
Thank DuneyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Woody's Seafood Bar also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Captain Woody's Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing