We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Outdoor Atmosphere, Live Entertainment”

Captain Woody's Seafood Bar
Ranked #69 of 368 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: Soups, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Captain Woody's is a fun and casual seafood restaurant with plenty of options for land lovers as well. The entire menu is available for lunch and dinner with an indoor and outdoor bar and patio seating.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
150 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Fun Outdoor Atmosphere, Live Entertainment”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We found this out of the way restaurant, and it was a nice surprise. It was a beautiful night, so we waited about 20 minutes for outdoor seating. We enjoyed live entertainment, and soft lighting. Our server was very friendly and attentive.

Two in our party had crab legs which they gave a thumbs up to. I was seafooded out, so opted for the prime rib (french dip type) sandwich which was just ok. Not totally unexpected as this restaurant is known for seafood. Another in our party had the she crab soup which was very good.

It was a fun evening, and we will go back next trip to the island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maawandoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    252
    120
    39
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Capt Woody's has been well known for their great seafoood to locals for a long time. But with their new location on Target Rd, they have a lot more room, great outside bar & seating area, and they are a lot easier to find. I always go there for the fried oysters and the best New England clam chowder on the Island. I'm also sure you will receive the same great service I have always received. Ask for Linday, she is a great server!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Always great food and service”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My family had a quick weekend trip to HHI this past weekend, we had such an amazing time! There are so many restaurants to choose from so we often talk to locals to find out where to go. We stopped at publix and overheard a group talking about going to "Woodys" it sounded like a fun place so we asked them how to find it. It just happened to be right across from publix so we decided to go for lunch!! I am so glad that we did, our lunch was superb! Best scallops on the island! The He crab soup was highly recommended by our server so we tried it...VERY glad we did! Everyone was so friendly and the decor was so cute!! I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Couldn't have asked for a better evening”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We visited captain Woodys tonight!! My husband and I had such am amazing time! The Lowcountry Boil was a fantastic recommendation by our server who's name escapes me!! I wish we could give her credit for her fantastic service!! We will be sure to recommend this place to all of our traveling friends!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Informal dining on the outdoor deck”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visited the new location on Target Rd several times for Happy Hour and dinner since it was walking distance from our campground. The He Crab soup was our favorite-- we shared the bowl, which was a far better value than the cup at just $1.00 more and was plenty for 2 to share. We had much better luck with the appetizers and sandwiches--try the fish tacos-- as opposed to the dinners. The grilled mahi mahi sandwich was a far better choice than the $21 mahi dinner, which left us hungry. Be sure to check the local coupon books for a 10% discount.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bwatchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Woody's Seafood Bar also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Captain Woody's Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing