We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green still recovering”

Golden Bear Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most parkland-style layout of any golf course on Hilton Head.
Hilton Head Island SC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Green still recovering”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great course layout, challenging course. Greens are just punched, so its not worth paying the big bucks yet. Try HH National instead.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    54
    34
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Course was in great shape”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This course was in fantastic shape and there was no problem securing a tee time. Only thing was that the weather was uncertain and they have no storm warning systems. Desk clerk was rather indifferennt about the whole thing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another nice Nicklaus Golf Course”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Round two of a double play package with Country Club of Hilton Head, good deal. We went off at 8am, finished in just over 4 hours on a busy golf course. Staff was great, course was in good shape, nice target pins for range finders. Greens were good speed for resort golf.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MJH1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Golf Course”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was a great golf course in very good shape. I played with my oldest son and his green fees was his age($9) and mine was $45. We went off at 2:00 on a weekday and the pace of play couldn't have been better for us. We played 18 holes in 2 hours and 40 minutes. The fairways and greens were in great shape and the course was challenging but very fair. I would recommend this course for anyone visiting Hilton Head.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Golf With Alligators”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The fairways and greens were in excellent shape, the course played well. Even though there were a few holes that played with some difficulty, I really did enjoy the layout of the course. The staff was very friendly and also helpful. If you are "lucky enough" you can even run into an alligator sunning on one of the holes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Bear Golf Club also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Golden Bear Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing