We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Packed”

Oyster Reef Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging, but not threatening, golf course that features a collection of interesting holes including one with a beautiful coastal marsh as a backdrop.Carved out of 190 acres of breathtaking low country terrain, Oyster Reef Golf Club's spectacular 18-hole championship course is surrounded by winding lagoons, lush vegetation, and scenic views of the Island.Golf course architect Rees Jones used the natural landscape to create an inspiring course that combines challenge with a sense of fair play. Ranging from 7,014 yards from the championship tees, to 5,288 yards from the forward tees, the course rewards and tests golfers of all skill levels. Oyster Reef Golf Club is home to one of the most spectacular golf holes on the entire island, the Par 3 #6, which plays 192 yards from the championship tees to a green that is set against the backdrop of the beautiful Port Royal Sound.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We played 10/31/12 in the afternoon. It was in decent shape but so crowded that we only could get in 12 holes played. On the par 5's, there were three foursomes waiting to play. I do not recommend playing this course unless you don't mind spending all day waiting to hit. It would take about 6 hours to play a round if you are lucky. The course owners should have refunded our fees.

1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"in great shape"
in 21 reviews
"sand bunkers"
in 6 reviews
"signature hole"
in 5 reviews
"fairways and greens"
in 8 reviews
"pro shop"
in 12 reviews
"hilton head plantation"
in 6 reviews
"nice speed"
in 2 reviews
"rees jones"
in 2 reviews
"great holes"
in 2 reviews
"drink cart"
in 2 reviews
"bag drop"
in 6 reviews
"dog leg"
in 2 reviews
"driving range"
in 4 reviews
"port royal"
in 3 reviews
"challenging holes"
in 2 reviews
"oysters"
in 8 reviews
"water hazards"
in 2 reviews
Filter

146 - 150 of 179 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

First played Oyster Reef 4 years ago and it was very good-the layout is excellent.Each time I have played it since the condition gets worse.Played here in March 2012 and October 2012. It is a pity but will not play it again.

1  Thank 169Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This Course was previously a "Private or Country Club" Course. It has been available to public play for the last several years. Runs $55.00 per person, for 18, including a cart. Sand on nearly every hole. A lot of "tight" fairways. Greens rolled pretty true, but were a bit "fuzzy".

2  Thank Joyce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We've played here a few years in a row and it never disappoints. The design is solid and the place is kept up pretty well. Some bugs to deal with especially on the range.

Thank jorgensen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom K, General Manager at Oyster Reef Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Oyster Reef Golf Club.
We are please that you found the course condition met your approval. We take pride in trying to provide a well manicured course for all of our guest. We hope you come back and play again the next time your in Hilton Head. Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

i am not a great golfer, and enjoyed this course thoroughly. the fairways are mostly wide and forgiving. the green are in nice shape. the landscaping is well done. holes aren't crazy long. price was reasonable considering where you are, and the starter, george was a real gentleman, and very accommodating, checking on us now and then. lots of water, and sand traps, but very do-able. i'd go back.

Thank theislanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom K, General Manager at Oyster Reef Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Oyster Reef Golf Club.
We’re please that you enjoyed playing the course and that it met all of your expectations. I am glad you enjoyed your conversation with our starter, George. We hope you come back and play again the next time your in Hilton Head. Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Reef Golf Club also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Oyster Reef Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing