We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We booked this stay through RCI, so the cost was nominal. The resort itself was nice and clean, and a late night check-in was easy with no problems. The weather was on the cold side for swimming, so we only used the jacuzzi but the pools seemed well kept and they had plenty of lounge chairs and towels. The heated pool was being worked on, which we would have liked to know in advance of our arrival. They could have had more tables for the served lunches however. We sampled several of the lunches, and found them a good value.

We had a end unit (3 bed, 3 bath) overlooking the main pool, which was spacious and well furnished, but outdated. The kitchen supplies were adequate, but we would have liked a few more items. The unit was clean, though our 3 year old found an old razor blade under a bed. Thankfully she gave it to us without incident. On the downside, the unit had several broken tiles throughout and one of the toliets would not stop running.

The resort is in a very good location, close to the beach (we rented bikes for the week) as well as restaurants and shopping. It was nice not to have to depend on a car (and the stapping and unstrapping of kids & car seats) for most of the week. I highly recommend the bike rental as it's the easiest way to get around quickly.

If you're looking for a family vacation spot on Hilton Head, you'll want to check this out.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zxttfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 281 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2009

I recently visited Waterside with my husband and teenage son. We had a great time. The suite was large, comfortable and had everything we needed. The beach was a short walk away as was a grocery store, bike rental and just about any kind of restaurant.
The resort activities were great! The staff was friendly and helpful. There was even a craft that my son liked, duct tape wallets. I hope that we can do the same thing next year.
The only negative that I have was that we were there in Oct. and the pool was not heated. My son didn't mind but it was too cold for us older folks.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachComber063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

A really nice holiday had here in a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom 2nd floor arpatment. The apartment was large, clean, light and airy. The only down side was the small balcony and only 4 outdoor chairs. Everything required was in the apartrment except hairdryers for the 2nd and 3rd bedrooms although once asked for these were quick to arrive. The resort has a large pool which has a large hot tub unit alongside. The down dise was that they played piped music all day. Pool towels provided. There was a smaller nicer pool available at the end of the complex which we used. This was very quiet, the water warm with sun beds, chairs and tables aplenty. The complex is a short walk to the shops including a supermaket and just a little further to the lovely beach area at Coligny. The whole island of Hilton Head is a fantastic holiday destination with plenty of restaurents, shops, sports facilities and things to do. A must is a trip to Savannah only 50 minutes down the road. Take a whole day there and explore on one of the trolly tours. Go to South Beach, Harbour town, Shelter Cove, Honey Horn planation and you must eat at the Salty Dog Cafe,

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MIDGET128K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

I vacationed with my parents 9/5/09 - 9/12/09. The layout of the resort was nice. I requested to be on the top floor and away from the main pool and the scheduler could not have been nicer in terms of accommodating my request. I was in Building 5800 which has a pool in front (not the main pool) so it was quiet for the most part, except when parents brought their children.

The unit was quite spacious, I thought, with a separate laundry room and a bathroom for each bedroom (3). The public beach was amazing and a short drive for those with cars, but the resort did offer hourly shuttle service. Had to call for maintenance twice (leaky dishwasher and problem with the vertical blinds), so I think they will need to upgrade some of the furnishings in the future. And yes, they did call several times asking for "feedback" on the resort, which I knew was a thinly disguised sales pitch, so I just told them no and they stopped calling. Several places to go grocery shopping . Overall I was pleased with my stay. Hilton Head is a lovely island where one can rest and relax.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbearpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Room was clean and comfortable, although the mattress in the master had seen its peak about 5 years ago. All the amenties (kitchen, laundry, internet) etc that you need, and the pool was nice. I was told just to decline the sales pitch, which I did, and had no issue with it whatsoever. If you have small kids like I do, the beach is just short of a 1/2 mile away, which is a ways to walk with tent, towels, boogie board, cooler, etc in tow.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We exchanged our RCI timeshare for a stay at Waterside. Originally, we were booked into a one bedroom apartment, but on the off chance we asked if a two bed was available on check-in and there was. $200 for a week - excellently equipped, spacious in block 5500 overlooking the lagoon. Furnishings of a high quality and the accomodation was great.
We're from England and have stayed in many resorts in Florida, this was amongst the best in terms of location. We collected bikes from "pedals" and used them every day and the kids loved the freedom to explore and visit the small "piggly wiggly" supermarket. The bike routes make it easy and safe transport.

The duty manager on reception is excellent and very helpful, we were warned (on this site) of the attempt to get you to tour the site when picking up keys and politely turned it down.
The site has good pools, the one at the back of the site is quiet and has BBQ facilities, but it's not so quiet that the kids couldn't enjoy themselves with the waterside basketball hoop. Golf at Shipyards next door is great, our 14 year old loved it and there are lots of younger players in the afternoon.

Downsides - hardly any, only thing missing for us was a coffee bar / bar to relax on site whilst the kids were in the pool and no fitness room. On the last day we discovered that there was food packets behind one cupboard left by a previous guest with I presume kids (stuffed the pack behind the bed/cupboard). As a result we saw roaches - this should have been checked, but with quick turn-arounds this is more the fault of the guest than the resort.

Food nearby....
Avoid Smokehouse it's poor quality.
Try "Truffles Cafe", but it's quite pricey.
"Steamers" is OK, has great choice of world beers.
"Old Oyster Factory" - we loved it, try scallops.
"Plantations Cafe", 2 mins away by bike - great breakfast, reviews mention grumpy service but they were fine with us.
"It's all greek to me" - was tasty and service was good.
Don't order from Chinese Emperor when they push the menu through the door - worst Chinese ever!
New York Pizza house, great pizza and only 5 mins to walk or collect!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garyuk2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We rented a 3 BR end unit for a week from a time share owner and thought the place was fantastic. Near to restaurants, food shopping, ice cream, and the beach (maybe 3 blocks). Can get anywhere on the island by bike from Waterside. The unit was spacious, clean, complete with full kitchen, pots/pans/dishes, etc. Very affordable as well. Main pool crowded, back pool not so much. The downside? People congregating in the parking lot @ night are easily and clearly heard all the way up to the 4th floor. Single, small elevator meant lots of stair climbing that we didn't mind, but it's not for everyone. Finally, the sales pitch... There are only so many ways to say no politely, but that doesn't stop the (too) early AM phone call reminders about what activity/ meal you shouldn't miss so you can receive coupons to... whatever. I don't begrudge someone trying to make a living, but if a person has clearly stated no interest in buying a time share, then they should be left alone to enjoy their vacation (which we did).

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandysea5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
6.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Address: 45 Waterside Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4735
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: $153 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfill your leisure desires and access all island activities from the preserved setting of this vacation resort just two blocks from the beach. Walk to the beach or hop on the seasonal shuttle. Dry off long enough to enjoy golf, tennis and proximity to beach restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside By Spinnaker Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing