We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEWARE!!!!! STAY AWAY!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“BEWARE!!!!! STAY AWAY!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Upon receiving our phone call from spinnaker, I asked a million questions, I also made it very clear that I didn't stay in certain hotels, I was very picky. At the time of the phone call, my husband and I were walking in the door from work, so my computer wasn't on. I went through the process and asked about the refund policy, I was told by Christina that as long as we didn't make the reservation it would be fine to cancel! I paid and waited for a call back, during that wait period, I looked them up on the internet and was not pleased with the pictures I saw. I was expecting a resort. When they called I explained this and asked for a refund. They not only will not give a refund, but they also have the nerve to keep calling my husband to make his reservation. I am appalled at this, in this day and age, they will not refund my $200. I will continue to let folks know don't waste your time on this. There are fabulous resorts and spas available for the same price and a better deal. Westin and Marriott to name a few, right there in Hilton Head. I'm not sure they really want me to go, because I will use my time there wisely in letting every guest know what they have done. Also did some research with the BBB, check them out thoroughly even before you take the offer for the presentation, and forget buying anything from them, they are not in the up and up! For more information, check out yelp too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mwilliams463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    114
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
127
77
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was our second stay at Waterside. Our 3Br unit was on the end in building 5700 and was better than the one we had last year. The unit was well-laid out and spacious. Some maintenance issues and wear-and-tear show the unit's age. The resort activities were good, but our favorite one from last year -- Sandtastic Memories craft projects-- was no longer offered. Golf privileges at Shipyard and Port Royal are an excellent benefit. The location is excellent. The bridge and gazebo connecting building 5700 and the activity center is scenic and useful.

Room Tip: End unit is better than center ones near elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Awjssj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Spinnaker Resorts are very nice and clean. Great friendly service. We stayed for 5 nights and had a fantastic time. It is very close to great restaurants and stores. Bring or rent a bicycle, they have excellent bike trails.

Room Tip: Bring your camera. Great location, close to golf courses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have been owners for 7 years....staying at water side for the last 7 years. Furniture is beginning to look worn out...needs to be replaced. While we were there they decided to re-build the whole area housing the outdoor grills located at the main pool. Why they decided to do this during the busy summer month of June was not a good decision. People were waiting in line every night to use the grills to cook their dinner!!! The good news is we traded our unit for a newer more updated place Blue Water Resort. I would highly recommend folks taking a hard look at Blue Water

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Excellent location - short walk to beach, shopping & restaurants. Great pool area for kids. Units are nice and roomy but need updating. Reject any offer for their sales pitch - $40 gift cert isn't worth the aggravation of salespeople who don't take NO as an answer.

I had a 1 BR unit - No shelf for shampoo in shower? Good grief, go to DollarTree and buy a rack to go over the shower head! Take the old clunky TV in BR & the armoire it's in and mount a flatscreen on the wall with a decent dresser below.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful resort to relax and enjoy life. Everything nearby-restaurants, ocean, shopping and golf course 5 minutes away. Very friendly and efficient staff. Definitely 5 star! A vacation to look forward to.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoJoCripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

While the beach was wonderful and I adore the area, the room I checked into was completely vile. There was hair EVERYWHERE. It was all over the shower, the floors, the beds, even. Very nasty, I could not enjoy a bit of that room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheRollingScon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.1 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
6.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Property: Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Address: 45 Waterside Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4735
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfill your leisure desires and access all island activities from the preserved setting of this vacation resort just two blocks from the beach. Waterside timeshare resort features one of the largest aquatic facilities on Hilton Head Island and is also 2 blocks from the Atlantic Ocean. Walk to the beach or hop on the shuttle. Dry off long enough to enjoy golf, tennis and proximity to beach restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside By Spinnaker Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing