We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Relaxing vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Mauldin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful resort to relax and enjoy life. Everything nearby-restaurants, ocean, shopping and golf course 5 minutes away. Very friendly and efficient staff. Definitely 5 star! A vacation to look forward to.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoJoCripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    106
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
119
66
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

While the beach was wonderful and I adore the area, the room I checked into was completely vile. There was hair EVERYWHERE. It was all over the shower, the floors, the beds, even. Very nasty, I could not enjoy a bit of that room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheRollingScon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Recently spent a week with close friends at this resort and found it to be the typical cookie cutter time share resort. However, Hilton Head Island was quite the place, good food, nice scenery and pleasant people. What did the resort need? It needed to be updated as far as colors, artwork and linens go. The furniture looked like a combination from other resorts and was quite dated. We would go back and would recommend the place but do not do so with a glowing report. It was clean and relaxing. The view was pretty good, lagoon on one side, pool on the other. Watching the alligator was fun.

Room Tip: We requested a room on the top floor so we could enjoy a better view. I think I would request a cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I am a Spinnaker owner with another resort and this was my first visit to WATERSIDE. Was delighted with the location, so close to the beach, shops and restaurants. We were pleased with the accommodation, spacious and a nice view overlooking the lagoon. Lovely pool and all in all a very relaxing mini break with my family. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good view of lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hjane060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was a leisure vacation for us...and we hoped we would find some time for reading, walking, and relaxing at the pool areas. We did just that.
The resort is nicely situated near Coligny Circle where there are restaurants, beach apparel stores, bike rentals, etc. The check-in was crowded but moved quickly. Parking it under the units and we ended up in a building fairly close to the larger pools.
The unit was furnished nicely, but a bit dated compared to what we are used to as timeshare exchanges. The bed was comfortable...but the sofa in the living area gave both my husband and I backaches by the end of the week. Add to that the ~25 inch TV. [Yes, we are spoiled by our BIG screen at home].
We found the kitchen had good appliances and utensils...and we had plenty of paper towels, trash bags, coffee filters, etc.
The hot tub jacuzzi left something to be desired. No jet pressure, and not what you'd call "hot." Being situated in a wooded area makes for lots of stuff falling off the trees which can be unsightly.
The staff was pleasant and courteous. Our timeshare tour was short and we enjoyed the perks that were offered.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

On my awesome visit to Hilton Head, this part had to be one of my favorite places. This was my second favorite thing next to all of Hilton Head's cool beaches. I liked the pool and everything here. This is a nice place to visit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Will-rentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here many times. It is busy in the summer and less crowded in the other months. There are 3 pools, hot tub, tennis, etc. The beach is down the road about 4 blocks. Restaurants and shopping very close. Some areas do need upgrading, but overall in good shape for as many people that use it. There are shuttles to the beach usually, or if you want to drive to a public beach access there are several. We usually grill out one night and the grills are fine. The heated pool is nice if the weather is chilly, but no indoor pool. No workout area on site either, but I'm not really here to exercise!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 76543travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.1 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
5.1 mi away
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Property: Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Address: 45 Waterside Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4735
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfill your leisure desires and access all island activities from the preserved setting of this vacation resort just two blocks from the beach. Waterside timeshare resort features one of the largest aquatic facilities on Hilton Head Island and is also 2 blocks from the Atlantic Ocean. Walk to the beach or hop on the shuttle. Dry off long enough to enjoy golf, tennis and proximity to beach restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside By Spinnaker Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing