We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin Walls!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thin Walls!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

First of all, the place was beautiful and our room was bigger than the first floor of our house. That was good. Now the bad: the walls were so thin! We could hear people in the next room and everything outside. Didn't help that our room was just above a major sidewalk. The wifi was practically non-existent, it just kept blinking out, I couldn't even check my email, so their claim of "free wifi" is bull. And everything's just old and kind of run down looking. The TV's were the big, chunky old ones instead of flat screens.

For a "nice" place, there is no excuse for the skimpy walls, poor placement over a busy sidewalk and 1990s electronic services.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Amie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    116
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
129
80
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterson, MN
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife and I had just spent two of the most miserable vacation weeks in recent memory thanks to the historic “Polar Vortex” that visited Myrtle Beach in early February. Armed with a promising forecast and some spur-of-the-moment arrangements we headed to our favorite vacation destination, Hilton Head island. I had booked two nights at Waterside by Spinnaker followed by a week at Players Club. We were encouraged by the weather forecast but anxious about our lodging arrangements. After checking in with a very personable desk staff we drove a short way to the parking area under our building. Before unloading our luggage, we got on the elevator and rode to the fifth floor to check out our space. When we walked into our one bedroom villa at Waterside we were immediately impressed and delighted with our choice. We found a fresh, open design with beautiful furnishings in a wooded setting. There was a large, heated outdoor pool below that was being enjoyed by a group of 4 adults . We loved the abundant windows and the balcony accessible from either the dining area or the bedroom. My wife and I looked at each other thinking the very same thing: We wished that our reservations for the upcoming week would be right here in this resort… right here in this villa. We knew it would be hard to leave. The two days we spent at Waterside were far more memorable and enjoyable than any of the resort time spent before or after. We will make firm plans to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Suitemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The only problems with this resort is in the bedrooms they still have the old tv sand I think that they could easily upgrade the tvs to flat screens and the wifi they have is extraordinarily slow but other than that the room is excellent and the location is perfect. The staff is friendly and attentive, the rooms are always clean, and the pool areas are great!

Room Tip: Ask for building 5600 it will give you the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed a week at Waterside. The unit was very clean with a very roomy 2 bedroom, 2 bath, kitchen, dining and living area. The unit also had a washer and dryer. We had a balcony that overlooked the Lagoon. There were 4 of us and we were all very comfortable with the size of the unit. We fixed some meals in and went out for some. We were within walking distance to shops and restaurants at Coligny Square. The beach was walkable to or you could drive if wanted. We would certainly recommend Waterside to our family and friends and if back in this area in the future we would love to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank 3wheelGoldwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searsport, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

The unit we stayed in was clean, but outdated. The kitchen was tiny as was the so-called dining area. The bedroom and bath were a nice size. I have a pet-peeve about staying in timeshares where management thinks 1 roll of toilet paper should suffice for 2 people for a week...the Marriotts (truly "premier") always provide 3. Doubt we'll stay in another Spinnaker resort if this is what's considered a good one.



Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ClareET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights in a 1 bedroom condo last week. We golfed and had some dinners out. The resort was good and had a very comfortable king bed! The kitchen was VERY tiny but seemed to have all items you would need. Since it was during the winter months, I did not use the outdoor pool at the resort, but the pool looked great! The resort was clean and the staff pleasant. It was easy to' register' and to 'check out' and the 'salespeople' for the timeshare was fine and the presentation was easy and interesting. We did not buy.
I would highly recommend going to dinner at the 'Black Marlin' and ask the manager for their 2 for 1 booklet. We had WONDERFUL fish dinners and obviously many others felt the same.....great spot! You will have to ask someone at the resort for directions since its not easy to find.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadiangolfer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The unit is very clean, and have not seen any cockroaches. That's important down here where it's quite common to find bugs even in the winter. The location is excellent as it's close to Coligny Plaza where there are shops, a supermarket, and several restaurants. It's also close to the beach, but if you have a lot of stuff to carry then you might want to drive. Alternatively, you could ride a bike to the beach. Many of the rental bikes here have baskets. The main reason we come to Hilton Head is for the biking as you can bike for miles along the beach and even more miles throughout the trails. There are organized activities offered here at the resort, so, even if the weather isn't good there is still something to do. One annoying thing is trying to connect to the internet. You have to keep signing on each time, and many times the connection is slow. We've already booked up to return in a couple of weeks!

Room Tip: Corner units are great because you have extra windows.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
285 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.1 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
6.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Property: Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Address: 45 Waterside Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4735
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfill your leisure desires and access all island activities from the preserved setting of this vacation resort just two blocks from the beach. Walk to the beach or hop on the seasonal shuttle. Dry off long enough to enjoy golf, tennis and proximity to beach restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside By Spinnaker Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing