We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a great time -- we'll go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

great location - close to beach, piggly wiggly, restaurants, etc.
unit has everything you'd need - washer/dryer, dishes, fridge, stove, etc - so if you want you can eat / cook some in.

pool is nice. They have another pool we didn't go to. We did see the gator in the lake - that was cool. Turtles too.

they have grills that a lot of people used to grill out.

you have everything you need here. very relaxing and chill place.

beach is close. rent bikes for the time you're there - you can ride to the beach, and to other food options nearby. Go to the burger place - about .5 miles away -- totally worth it. The greek place around the corner is great too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank indycoltsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 281 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

stayed here for a week for 4th of july week. location is great for Hilton head Island which is pretty large & you need a car to move around. this resort is very close to the beach & many shops, grocery stores & restaurants. you can walk or rent bicycles & move around very easily.
pool is nice & not too crowded. we had rented two bed room units, it was clean, had plenty of towels & beach towels. all pots & pans in the kitchen. parking was right in our building so didn't have to walk far to get your car.
over all happy with location & the resort itself.

Room Tip: choose a room towards the lagoon area
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My 3 children and I spent a week at Waterside in a 2 bedroom unit in building 5800. The unit itself was clean, well-equipped with everything we needed and very roomy. The chairs and couch weren't exactly comfy but they served their intended purpose. The secondary pool was right outside our building and that turned out to be a great advantage as it was large and never very crowded. The main pool always had a ton of people in it. The walk to the beach wasn't terrible but you should take something with wheels to carry your stuff to the beach because it does seem a lot longer if you are hauling more than towels and a beach chair. Coligny Plaza is close and has lots of shops, a Piggly Wiggly and several restaurants. Most of the stores/restaurants there are quite pricey. There are many other places nearby and the Island has the most beautiful and serene walking/biking paths. I didn't really appreciate any of my interactions with the older man at the guest relations desk. He was always sarcastic and condescending. I had exactly 3 interactions with him - check-in, returning a unit key card we found on our walk back from the beach & when I took him a bug we found that we thought was a cockroach (the day before we left). I never witnessed his interactions with any other guest so I can't say if he was like that with everyone or just me, but I didn't appreciate it. Even my children (ages 19, 14 & 9) commented about it. We did have to call maintenance a few times (smoke detectors chirping all night with low batteries 2 different nights and blind slats that kept falling down). They were quick to make necessary repairs and friendly. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Waterside very much and I would definitely recommend this resort. We did not participate in any of the activities offered by the resort as there were plenty of things to do in HHI. As a side note, Savannah, GA is an hour's drive from HHI and it's worth taking a day to go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My parents own a condo here and this is the second year in a row we have stayed. It is never a disappointment! The few issues we had (fridge not cold enough and can opener not working) were fixed very quickly and by the nicest man! The pools are great and getting to the beach is very easy by walking, biking or car. It is in a great locations and I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I'm somewhere between four and five stars here. Check-in was easy. We had received a phone call offering six nights for a very attractive price, and we decided we'd go to HHI. We were assigned a condo at Waterside and that is where we stayed. We booked about six weeks before we arrived. I like the fact that there are not that many condos on each floor. The two-bedroom we had was roomy and well equipped. The supplies in the kitchen were adequate. It was well stocked with Corelle wear dishes, cutlery, and pots and pans. Everything was in great working order---the refrigerator, dishwasher, showers, TVs, and whirlpool in the king-size bedroom all worked well. We enjoyed the small balcony with four chairs. The bed was comfortable, too. I agree with other reviewers in that things are a bit outdated, and at the presentation, the gentleman said they are going to start remodeling and putting in new furniture. The condos are very clean. The location, a short walk to Coligny Beach, was great. There is a shuttle that goes, but we never used it. Over Memorial weekend, Coligny Beach was very, very crowded. We used other parts of public beaches, like Burkes Beach, and Adler entrance, and found we enjoyed those spots more because there was less of a crowd.
If we were going to HHI again, I think I'd like to be in a little less busy part of the island. This is not a reflection on Waterside, but just on the fact that Coligny Beach is very busy, especially over Memorial weekend. We found the condos to be clean and convenient. They are stocked with 8 or 10 cup coffee makers, so I was glad we took a much smaller one along for personal use. There are restaurants within walking distance, and the Piggly Wiggly is close also, so it is easy to get a few supplies when you settle in. They delivered exactly what they promised.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have travelled to Hilton Head several times but this was our first visit to Spinnaker/Waterside. We exchanged our RCI week for a 3 bedroom condo and it was perfect. The unit was huge with plenty of space. 2 rooms had king size beds and one bedroom had two twin beds. Only down side is that the twin bedroom window looks out to the main hallway of the condo unit - so no privacy and blinds are closed all the time. There were 3 full bathrooms as well. Kitchen had full amenities except bake ware, so if you want muffins or cookies - bring your own. Yes, unit is a little outdated by today's standards but it was clean and comfortable. I have two small children, so when they spilled, I didn't panic. Tube TV's were not a big deal for us - we were hardly in our condo. Balcony was nice to have with patio furniture. All pools have fountains which I found loud but they are turned off by 9 pm and back on by 9 am. Location can't get much better. You can walk to Coligny Plaza for food, shopping, get your nails done or ice cream. Beach is only a block further. THey have a very friendly shuttle service that takes you to the beach if you don't wish to walk but the walk is maybe 8 minutes. The grounds on Waterside are very well kept. There are 3 pools - one kiddie pool only 1.5 feet deep - a main pool with hot tub area and another pool that is heated year round. BBQ's are located at each pool which was very convenient. They are well kept and cleaned daily. Main pool has many daily activities that my kids enjoyed. We went this past week in May for Memorial day weekend so the sun heated up the pool. As we are not golfers, we would not visit HH before it warms up in May but have no interest in high summer season either. We received the calls to attend a timeshare meeting - be careful - they are vultures. The story they tell just doesn't add up. We really liked this place and considered trading in our current timeshare for Spinnaker but they just weren't telling the truth - ie - rent out your week in high season for $2000 when on the Spinnaker website, you can rent a place for $1400. We left promptly. They don't hound you if you aren't interested, so just don't answer the room phone or say "no thanks".
You can't go wrong with a vacation in Hilton Head - the place is just amazing for what the island has to offer and we would definitely return to Waterside to rent or exchange again.

Room Tip: Avoid building 5100 near the main road. Best buildings are 5700 and 5800 that are quiet and near th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RanleighReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have been Spinnaker owners since 1993 and now own 3 weeks at HHI. We started at Southwind Villa 3107, moved to Egret Point, Carolina Club and now have 2 fixed weeks and 1 "floater". Over the years the management, housekeeping and maintenance have improved to 5+ stars. Waterside is the most convenient TS location around with regard to eating, shopping, beach and golf. Whenever we have stayed at other TS properties we find them smaller, dumpier and less friendly than the Spinnaker properties. The only negative thing is the pushy sales pitch disguised as "owners update". We will never attend again even though the rewards are significant but, I still want to get a Spinnaker polo golf shirts for mom and me. Oh, we have a 3BR end unit, 5355 and it is superb and just updated with new furniture, 1 flat screen TV and a brand new coffee maker. We can't wait for the 2 other old TVs to be replaced. You will find Spinnaker and Waterslide a great HHI experience.

Room Tip: If you a family or visitors, get a 3 BR end unit, building 3 or building 7.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
6.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Address: 45 Waterside Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4735
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: $153 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfill your leisure desires and access all island activities from the preserved setting of this vacation resort just two blocks from the beach. Walk to the beach or hop on the seasonal shuttle. Dry off long enough to enjoy golf, tennis and proximity to beach restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelUp and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside By Spinnaker Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing