We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, units dated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, units dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This resort is in a great location. It has a huge pool (which could be heated just a little more) and everthing nearby. The staff are helpful and friendly and the units are clean. Had no issue with bed bugs as some have complained about last month. The only downside is that the 2 bdrm we stayed in is dated. It needs a refresh of new furniture and decor. It does not have a modern look or feel to it. However, everything is close by including a quaint mall for groceries and restaurants. Recommend renting a bike and seeing the island. The resort is not on the beach but you can walk or bike it easy enough.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet as it did not face the pool area. Having said that, when we were there it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysRushing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spinnakermanager, Manager at Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have posted about Waterside Resort. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    111
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
126
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice place, great location. Not on beach but an easy stroll. Very close to shopping, dining, Piggly Wiggly grocery. If you are one of those timeshare gas grillers, get in line. Very few grills for the many units. Still a very lovely place. Remarkably palmetto-jungle-like. The island founders and developers allowed almost no strip and build. Whole island well-designed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Five's_a_Crowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spinnakermanager, Manager at Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have posted about Spinnaker Resorts in Hilton Head Island, SC. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at Waterside by Spinnaker the first week of August 2012. We had a two bedroom unit which was spacious and had a well equipped kitchen. It was very hot and humid while we were there so we appreciated that the air conditioning worked well, keeping the entire unit cool. We also liked the balcony overlooking the lagoon which is home to turtles, birds and alligators. The large pool was also great and never felt crowded despite being well used.

Waterside is conveniently located near restaurants, shops and grocery stores. The 7 minute walk to the beach sometimes felt longer than that due to the heat but a quick dip in the ocean (or the pool on the way back) cooled us off nicely.

We would recommend Waterside as a good place for families to stay on Hilton Head Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawa_Family_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spinnakermanager, Manager at Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have posted about Waterside Resort on Hilton Head Island, SC. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in 3 bedroom in the first cluster of condos near entrance & the unit was a little "dated" in that sink tops need replacing BUT everything was spotless clean. Plenty of room with 2 master suites. Very well stocked & while we didn't need too much assistance from staff, the ones we dealt with were great! Friendly & helpful. Had a leaky shower, maintenance sent Frank over straight away who fixed the problem so we could get back to vacationing.
Excellent location 1/2 mile from Coligny beach & Plaza within walking or biking distance from lots of local stores, restaurants. Fitness center at Player's Club was close & has everything also super clean. Kids have to be 14 to use the equipment but the indoor pool & hot tub is available for them.
Beach was disappointing due to Hurricane Isaac, rough water & the entire chair rental 'experience'. I highly recommend you bring your own chairs, etc., otherwise you'll waste most of the day searching for beach staff to overcharge you $16.00 a day for chair & I assumed umbrella too.
Most restaurants were really good quality, service overall on the island was awesome. They can keep the Sea Shack it's a dive as shown on Food Network & although the food was good (not great), the price for eating on plastic plates, utensils is not worth it. We paid the same to eat at Smokehouse & One Hot Mamas. Both were infinitely better! Also Hudson's and Boat House were great seafood places and much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: units in the first cluster have no elevators so if you're upstairs be prepared to walk the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spinnakermanager, Manager at Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have posted about Waterside Resort. We thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

After reading reviews we were excited to stay at waterside. After arriving was disappointed in the low budget they seem to be operating on. Rooms were very well stocked and large but furniture was worn and carpet dirty. The staff seemed uninterested in making our stay a pleasant one. That is what few staff members there were.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spinnakermanager, Manager at Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We apologize that your stay at Waterside Resort did not meet your expectations. We strive to make everyone's vacation memorable and exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return so you can see the improvements that your comments have provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

we also had bed bugs. As soon as we pulled the cover back to get in bed we spot one so we took ever sheet off and ended up finding a few more on the top and bottom side of mattress. We called front desk and maintenance came and was tryin to tell us it wasn't bed bugs. But yet we had a picture on the computer pulled up that looked exactly the same! All he did was spray bug spray around the floor next to the walls and left. So we called front desk and they gave us another room. Then next morning stayed at another resort! Never again will I go back there or request Waterside to someone staying in Hilton Head.

Room Tip: check your beds first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank guest3440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spinnakermanager, Manager at Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor. With these postings we are able to train our staff and better prepare our maintenance employees for problems like these. In response to your comments regarding bedbugs, our housekeeping and maintenance department responded extremely quickly to move you to another unit, then as an extra precaution we brought in a trained bedbug beagle dog. The dog or inspector did not find any bedbugs in the unit upon inspection. Whether you stay at any timeshare or hotel, there is little defense against this problem. Bed bugs eneter the units by guests who have traveled elsewhere and have picked them up. That being side, this is an extremely rare occurrence at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

On our 3rd night here we discovered hundred of bed bugs in the king size bed. We called the front desk and they sent maintenance in to verify with exterminators that they were indeed bed bugs. They called us to tell us this and they said that they moved us to another room, took our luggage with clothes in it (which was not returned until the next day) and heat treated our clothes. They claimed that these hundreds of bed bugs came from our luggage ("You did come from the airport" was what we were told). Somehow these bugs knew to climb into the bed since the luggage was no where near the bed. The mattress was so called "treated" even though we were told by maintenance that it would be destroyed. This ruined our trip as you can imagine and the bites come out 7-10 days later and looks like a contagious disease that needs treated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank diane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spinnakermanager, Manager at Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Until this posting, the vast majority of the comments on TripAdvisor regarding Waterside were positive. Both the housekeeping and maintenance staffs at Waterside have and will continue to operate at the highest level possible.

Whether you stay at any timeshare or hotel, there is little defense against this problem. Bed bugs enter the units by guests who have traveled elsewhere and have picked them up. That being said, this is an extremely rate occurrence at our resort. Similar to any other issue that does not meet our guests satisfaction, the staff of Waterside Resort will respond immediately, provide mutually acceptable solutions and provide outstanding hospitality and guest services to all the occupy our facilities. In this particular case, the guests were moved immediately and the entire unit was heat treated including the guest suitcases and belongings. The exterminator contractor certified that the unit is pest free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.1 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
6.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Property: Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Address: 45 Waterside Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4735
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfill your leisure desires and access all island activities from the preserved setting of this vacation resort just two blocks from the beach. Waterside timeshare resort features one of the largest aquatic facilities on Hilton Head Island and is also 2 blocks from the Atlantic Ocean. Walk to the beach or hop on the shuttle. Dry off long enough to enjoy golf, tennis and proximity to beach restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside By Spinnaker Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing