We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maitained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
pHILADELPHIA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well maitained”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

well appointed and stocked. Provided soaps, toilet paper, paper towels as well as basic kitchen equipment. Grill outside by pool if you want to make lunch or dinner. Shuttle to beach if you don't want to drive or walk. Nice size living room. all bedrooms had tv.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spinnakermanager, Manager at Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments you have posted about Spinnaker Resorts in Hilton Head, SC. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    116
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
129
80
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

For our family of 6 the 3 BR unit was just the right amount of space. Each couple had their own BR and BA. I will admit though the refrigerator for this size of unit which holds 6-8 people comfortably is a bit small. We kept having to juggle where things were and not wanting to eat out constantly having food for 6 people was no easy task. I wound up going to Walmart to buy a few things needed to prepare meals and brought my own mixer. There was plenty of hot water for showers, DW and washer. We were unable to grill out the first night since we could only locate 2 grills and the line was already in place. We found 2 additional grills 2 days later but these also were well used. The elevator is way too slow and with no ventilation the ride from the 5th floor to the parking garage (nice feature if you could find a spot)was torture.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spinnakermanager, Manager at Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We strive to make everyone's vacation memorable and exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return so you can see the improvements your comments have provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at the Waterside this past week. The resort decor is definitely dated but it seemed clean until we pulled out the couch, and then we found quite a mess underneath. It was easily cleaned with the provided vacuum and cleaning materials...but it was a bit disconcerting. Even more disconcerting was that someone defecated (yes...pooped) in the pool. The management closed the pool to scrape it out and shock the water. Instead of thoroughly disinfecting the pool and keeping it closed for the 24 hour period normally required to cycle the water through the filters, the management only closed the pool for barely an hour before they allowed people back in the water. This was the absolute, most disgusting thing that I have ever seen and to see it handled so carelessly made me want to leave immediately.

On our last day at Waterside, something malfunctioned with the door keys and everyone had to have their key replaced. Locked out of the room and then having to wait in line in the lobby to have the key replaced was an additional pain. I think management could have come up with a more proactive way to replace the keys instead of causing additional inconvenience to the guests.

The location to Coligny shopping and restaurants is good, and the beach is manageable at only 1/2 mile walk.

Recommendation while in Hilton Head: Commander Zodiac Dolphin Tour....Captain Andrea is wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spinnakermanager, Manager at Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We apologize that your stay at Spinnaker Resorts in Hilton Head Island, SC. did not meet your expectations. We strive to make everyone's vacation memorable and exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return so you can see the improvements that your comments have provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed last week at this wonderful resort in Hilton Head Island. It is located less than a half mile from the beach and is within walking distance of many restaurants and stores. The condo in which we stayed was clean and well-apportioned. Our only complaint was the loudness of the pool area after hours as we were trying to put the kids down to sleep. Otherwise, we had an awesome stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Stay away from a room near the elevator as it is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

we were impressed by the attention to detail, cleanliness, and amenities. our three bedroom unit was well-stocked and immaculate. all of the electronics and hvac worked properly. we needed another hairdryer and one was delivered promptly. convenient parking on perfectly groomed grounds. near to all the amenities, restaurants, stores of coligny plaza and beach. bike rentals are not far and the buildings have covered racks. we were very pleased and will return.

Room Tip: this property is not on the beach but most views are fine (some look over pool)...the property is ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Waterside is in a great location being near Coligny Beach, Coligny Plaza and only 12 miles or less to everything on Hilton Head ... LOL since the island is only 12 miles long. Although the interior decor may be a little dated (I think vertical blinds should be banished), it is clean and comfortable. Rent a bike from Hilton Head Bicycles (or any other company) and you will be in heaven. The beach is about 3 blocks away and the swimming pools at Waterside are a great way to cool down at day's end. The staff is friendly and helpful once you're there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miller S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Will def go here again. We stayed in a 3 br condo and it was extremey spacious and clean. Everyone had their own space and it was very peaceful. I did not find the furniture "dated" at all. But it was definitely that cliche resort look. The front desk was extremely helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The kitchen was fully equipped, and the location was blocks from the beach. We rented bikes form the Bike doctor, who delivered them for a charge even though their flyer said free delivery. But the bikes were very handy and it took us maybe 3-5 minutes to get to the beach using them. The bike shop Pedals is closer to Waterside and you can walk around the corner and rent there if you want bikes. We will use them next time. Highly recommend Waterside. The price was more than worth it.

Room Tip: Room 5525 was a corner room with a great view of the lagoon. Just across from the large pool. We wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pit6286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
285 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.1 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
6.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Property: Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Address: 45 Waterside Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4735
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfill your leisure desires and access all island activities from the preserved setting of this vacation resort just two blocks from the beach. Walk to the beach or hop on the seasonal shuttle. Dry off long enough to enjoy golf, tennis and proximity to beach restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside By Spinnaker Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing