We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Note DO NOT USE HOTEL.com to book this property. It doesn't work. Navigate to their website and call directly instead. I ended up spending an hour or more on the phone when originally booking.

We had the best time at Spinnaker. The accommodations were wonderful. Donna, the activities director, was a gem, my kids cried when they had to leave. The pool was warm and clean and the staff always cheerful. The location is great for those that don't mind a little walking, as Coligny square has everything you would need for a vacation (multitude of good restaurants, a grocery store, sundry shops, etc.) and is an easy 5 minute walk. The beach is only one block more then that.

We decided midweek to upgrade our stay for a whole week (original it was 5 nights) they gave us the weekly rate without any fuss.

We also ended up packing out in a hurry (bad timing on our part not theirs) and they ended up collecting a box of stuff for us and sent it to us by postal mail the next day. That was also very appreciated!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyCrutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 282 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

We spent a week here the last week of February. WE had a 1 bedroom unit in building 5800 on the 2nd floor. This building was located next to the heated pool and at a quiet part of the complex. The occupancy was pretty low while we were visiting. The resort had a few events going on while we were there. The pool was heated but there was no hot tub at this pool and the other hot tub was not working.
Our unit had a nice layout. Fully equipped kitchen, lvingroom and bedroom. The bed was not very comfortable but it was OK. WE had a balcony overlooking the driveway. None of the units seemed to have very good views. The unit had free wireless internet which was great.

The location in Shipyard was great. WE rented bikes for the week and it was $36. for 2 adult bikes. We took full advantage of the great bike trails around the island. WE also rode the bikes on the beach going in both directions.
We found Hilton Head to be a great place to visit off season. We had mild temperatures. All the people we met were very friendly. We were able to walk to dinner several evenings.
Some of the places we enjoyed having dinner at were Marleys, (great bartenders and atmosphere), The Big Bamboo- good happy hour and Reagge night on Wed. is fun, The Black Marlin- went for brunch and happy hour (by bike), Wise Guys-interesting menu of small plate dishes. The Blue Parrot for lunch in Shelter Cove. We also took a day trip to Savannah thru Vagabound Cruises. This was a lot of fun too.
Waterside is a timeshare resort and we were asked to take a tour. It lasted about 2 hours and we had a nice salesman who was not overly pushy. WE were able to say no but got $200. for our time plus a time share off season week to use in the future (not at Waterside). It was an overcast day and it did not seem too high pressure, just not for us.
Overall, I would recommend this resort. I am sure it is a hopping place in the high season. We really enjoyed the location and all that the resort had to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Had a great time in Hilton Head. The place was nice and roomy. Plenty for my family - 3 of us total. It was actually big enough to sleep 6 - one bedroom had a king size bed and the other room had 2 twins. Living area had a pull out couch. The couch was not that comfortable but we didn't really need it so it did not matter. Large kitchen with everything you needed, nice balcony. Resort had activities for kids and a small game room with ping pong. Multiple pools that were very clean. Staff was friendly. We rode our bikes or walked to the restaurants and beaches. Loved the greek restaurant near the piggly wiggly. We had perfect weather but were told the rest of the summer it was 100 degrees or above. We went on some excursions for a vanishing island boat and dolphin tour and a kayak tour. Both were so much fun! Also drove to Savannah and did a tour and enjoyed shopping and the restaurants there as well. Overall we had a great time and my 8 year old son keeps mentioning this vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrd831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

though some complain about beds and such, we found the beds quite comfortable. Decor is a bit outdated, but the units are quite large-two huge bedrooms with jacuzzi and shower in each-though the shower is a bit tough on short people. The washer/dryer and dishwasher in the unit leave a lot to be desired, but all else worked. The feature pool is lovely with a nice hot tub, though it was too cold to use, and the heated pool would be nice, but only opens if the outside temp is above 60, so it is kind of a misnomer. Craft room and facilities are nice, staff are helpful, and location is convenient-we would definitely come back in warmer weather.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pojismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The best thing about this resort is it''s cleanliness, spaciousness and the free Internet acesss. Otherwise the units have outdated furnishings, very cold, and the beds are hard. It feels like you are sleeping on concrete.

I like visiting Hilton Head but would not stay at this location again or recommend facility to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Perdella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We loved spinnakker hilton head area. so mucc we bought our own week prime time rental. Athough we love spinnaker we found Anthony and Mark Crossley's promises on the purchase left much to our expectations. After manly months and calls to Mark, we have yet to recieve our deeds. Don't anger Mark or he'll hang up on you as he did me
john j oliver Manistee, Michigab

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sadbuthappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This was our second trip to Hilton Head, but our first stay at Waterside. Our unit was very nice and the staff was extrememly helpful.

We stayed in a one bedroom unit that overlooked the pool in the 5800 building. It was about a 10 minute walk to the beach from our unit. It was about a 5 minute walk to shops, restaurants and groceries in the Caligny Plaza area.

The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. I received several good tips from them about dining. We dined at Truffles Grill our first night there on the reccommendation of the staff. It was a great reccommendation. We received several good reccommendations from them about our evening meals. Thanks to the staff for some great ideas.

I would highly reccommend Waterside to potential visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott36447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
311 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
6.0 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Bluewater Resort and Marina
Bluewater Resort and Marina
#10 of 52 in Hilton Head
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts

Address: 45 Waterside Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4735
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: $138 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fulfill your leisure desires and access all island activities from the preserved setting of this vacation resort just two blocks from the beach. Walk to the beach or hop on the seasonal shuttle. Dry off long enough to enjoy golf, tennis and proximity to beach restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside By Spinnaker Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing