We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love walking here!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Pines Forest Preserve

Sea Pines Forest Preserve
Ranked #5 of 116 things to do in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walk through mushy swamps on elevated boardwalks at this 400-acre nature preserve.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Love walking here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We always enjoy walking through the preserve every time we come to HHI. It is very peaceful, large, and offers great views of nature, plants, and wildlife!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clay_Vis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    244
    54
    12
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice place to hike and stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

The four of us spent about two hours there watching the birds and alligators. Nice grounds and peaceful surroundings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bensson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiteland, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We had a lot of trouble finding the Lawton entrance to get to the Indian Shell Ring! We tried to follow the map, that was NOT helpful! Finally found it, started walking and continued to walk for what seemed like forever to finally get there. We took insect repellant and had to keep spraying it over and over due to the abundant bug swarms! I had a misconception about the Indian Shell Ring thinking it would be this elaborate shell wall. After finally getting there, found out it is 3,500 yrs old and there is only fragments of shells scattered throughout this otherwise empty area. Needless to say I was disappointed but am glad we did experience the energy of the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EpicSpirit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Fl
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Wife and I biked thru the Preserve and took the Alligator electric boat ride. Saw about 6 alligators and too many turtles and birds to count. Highly recommend this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob1436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't see anything interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Was a nice walk through the preserve. Walkways were well maintained. The only things we saw interesting were a few turtles sunning themselves. It was a liitle strange- didn't see or hear one bird.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WNCnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Pines Forest Preserve also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sea Pines Forest Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing