We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick this one!!”
Review of Dolphin Seafari

Dolphin Seafari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Dolphin Seafari is a 30 foot covered pontoon boat with comfortable bench seating and a restroom on board. Sitting low and close to the water, gets you up close and personal with our wildlife and gives you optimal viewing of our salt marsh. With a friendly and accommodating staff, we love to educate about Hilton Head Island while we look for dolphins, egrets, herons, Osprey, Bald Eagles, sharks, pelicans, and even mermaids!
Reviewed June 16, 2017 via mobile

This was one of our favorite things we've done on the island! It was perfect for our young family. The captain and mate were knowledgeable and friendly and kind.
We saw several dolphins and got a great boat ride and tour. We've always done the big dolphin cruise ship and this was so much better as it was a small pontoon and we were able to see the water much better. But it's roomy and the benches are comfortable. The captain let our kids take turns steering the boat in the captain chair and they also passed out lais when we told them it was our daughters birthday! Take cash to tip- they are worth it!!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Sleepem09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, Owner at Dolphin Seafari, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2017

The Captain and mate are sooo happy that you enjoyed our Dolphin Seafari boat tour. It was are pleasure to make your day!!!
Thank you for your input and kind words
Captain Tim T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain tim"
in 49 reviews
"crab trap"
in 12 reviews
"blue crab"
in 12 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 29 reviews
"clams"
in 33 reviews
"crab pot"
in 6 reviews
"informative trip"
in 5 reviews
"covered boat"
in 3 reviews
"disney resort"
in 7 reviews
"great tour"
in 12 reviews
"interesting facts about the area"
in 3 reviews
"sea life"
in 8 reviews
"highly recommend for families"
in 2 reviews
"morning cruise"
in 2 reviews
"enjoyable ride"
in 2 reviews
"dolphin activity"
in 2 reviews
"knowledgeable crew"
in 2 reviews
Filter

174 - 178 of 187 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2017

The boat is comfortable and the captain and his mate provide interesting information about the area and sites you pass during the trip. We got to see many dolphins and even a crab trap they put down to show how crabbing is done, and then they release the crabs at the end of the day. Everyone on board enjoyed the tour.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Dolphin Seafari, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2017

Captain Tim and the first mate, are very glad that you enjoyed your trip. This is their "hobby"! It was certainly our pleasure to have you aboard! Please tell your friends and come see us again! No two trips are ever the same. You never know what we'll see
Thank you,
Captain Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017

We went on the 4pm trip on a Wednesday. The boat was almost full. It holds 20 people. You need to make reservations, because it will fill up. We saw dolphins almost right after leaving the dock. Very scenic ride. We saw eagles also. Lots of good information and you can ask questions about the area. You can take coolers on board, with adult beverages! A good time was had by all!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timtrigg, Owner at Dolphin Seafari, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017

Thank you for joining us! We are so glad that you had a good time! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

Went to the 2pm dolphin tour the boat was relaxing and tour guides were very interesting and informative.My granddaughter really loved seeing all the dolphins and even getting to see the crabs up close. I think it was very reasonable in price and would definitely recommend it to anyone who has children.Just bring a light jacket for the cooler evening tour.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank maureenr265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, Owner at Dolphin Seafari, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2017

Maureen t thank you and your family for joining us. The crew are always happy to make your trip enjoyable! And memorable
Captain Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2017

We went on a Sunday. The boat was full and we got the last two tickets. The captain (Tim) was very good and even let the kids on board "drive" the boat for awhile on the way back. We saw about 10-15 dolphins and even a couple jumping almost totally out of the water which he said does not always happen. The ride was almost two hours and the crew member pointed out many homes and places where hurricane damage was still being repaired. We saw a sail boat in the midst of a golf course fairway that was blown there by the hurricane and hasn't yet been removed. The osprey was in her nest sitting on eggs and we got pretty close. The osprey's mate was close by and kept a watch on us!! The mate pulled up a crab pot and it had two blue crabs in it which he held up and showed to everyone before he released them. All in all it was an excellent value and a great experience. A lot of the dolphin tour boats are closed on Sunday so be aware of that. I would go back for a fireworks cruise in the summer if we were in the area.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank NDfan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timtrigg, Owner at Dolphin Seafari, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

Thank you for coming out with us! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Seafari also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Dolphin Seafari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing