We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Marlin Bayside Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 349 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
443 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our group found this restaurant and discovered that in January they have an early bird dinner plus a coupon book for discount. Even without these choices we would have enjoyed this property. Plus happy hour at the bar with $2 off bar drinks.

It was cold and rainy so being outdoors was not an option but they had a wonderful bar and seating area for warmer weather which would be great called the Hurricane Bar.

Staff was accommodating and professional, food was very good and we enjoyed our experience very much. Since I am not especially fond of sea food and my group was, I wondered if the beef would be satisfactory. I had a taste for the sirloin steak which was very tasty with a fresh baked potato and vegetable. Not disappointed. The Crab Cakes were not a hit with another friend, so can't recommend them.

Great setting with a varied menu for everyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    858
    408
    178
    51
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Early Bird”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always have a very good meal there. Their early bird menu is very good with several good choices. The price is good and we have their VIP booklet that gives an additional 50% off your second meal (January and February only). How can you go wrong! It includes a soft drink, soup or salad and entree.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

The main event of the evening was the pursuit of crab cakes! We settled on the Black Marlin. I asked the waitress if the crab cakes had lumps of crabs meat. She said they did, so I ordered them.

Worst & most expensive ($25) crab cakes I ever eaten. They tasted like tiny dried up salmon patties. No identifiable chunks of crab meat. My date ordered the fried seafood platter. Another food miss! It is unlike us to not eat or food or ask for take home boxes.

Skip the Black Marlin...

Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Gypsy_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“New Years Eve Date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was the first time we had eaten at The Black Marlin Bayside Grill. We had reservations and we're promptly seated. Our waitress was excellent and advised us we'll. We shared the crab cake appetizer-excellent. Had the seafood chowder-also excellent, Ii had the scallops and my husband had the trout, both excellent. The service was excellent! What a great way yo end the year!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorite Places to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Always good service and delicious food. The cocktails are great too. Fresh local seafood, prepared fresh and always tasty. Highly recommended for dinner.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizardqueen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing