We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lunch with a Smile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Marlin Bayside Grill

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
86 Helmsman Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3206
+1 843-785-4950
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Marlin Bayside Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 352 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Germantown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lunch with a Smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went to have out anniversary lunch at the outdoor Hurricane Bar adjacent to the Black Marlin Grill. We started out with the yummy lettuce wrapped chicken appetizer. Lots of flavor and lots of chicken. We then had the 2 for $10 lunch meals. My husband loved the gumbo and Cuban sandwich combo. I ordered the bayside chowder and a crab cake. I loved the chowder which was full of fresh tender seafood but the crab cake was a little dry. At the end of our meal, the friendly waitress surprised us with a complementary ice cream sundae to celebrate our day. So nice and unexpected. Overall, a lovely lunch, we look forward to visiting again next year and try the dinner menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    397
    171
    50
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
233 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food and a fantstic Bloody Mary bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had brunch which was great value and of very good quality

Very good servers and nice atmosphere very near the water

The Bloody Mary Bar is a great idea -- they bring you the glass with the ice and Vodka in it plus a cocktail shaker -- you then go to the bar and add your own pickles, spices and Tomato juice from a great selection

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigRay54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Al Fresco Dining a Must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A group of us went after a day at the beach and we were not disappointed! Great service and even better food. We dined outside on the patio but the fountain and it couldn't have been any better.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank H_and_L_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool place, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place just has a cool vibe. Every time we go to the Black Marlin we have a great time. The atmosphere is fun, the food is good, and the service is friendly. Our waitress Lissy was a complete gem. We are looking forward to coming back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delightful dining by the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We always hit the Black Marlin when we visit HHI, and it did not disappoint on this trip. Dining outdoors near the water is always enjoyable ... even more so with delicious food. We will definitely be back on our next trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SWIllinoisBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing