We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Seafood in Palmetto Bay Marina”

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Marlin Bayside Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 375 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Escape to the islands best selection of fresh seafood, hand cut steaks and home of The Hurricane Bar!
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Causal friendly waterfront seafood restaurant in Palmetto Bay Marina. Can eat inside or out. Great selection of fresh seafood cooked however you would like it. Full selection of crabs - Alaskan, Snow, Dungeness. Reasonable prices. Quick service.

Thank Handman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Happy to hear you enjoyed the service and selection of shellfish on the menu! We think you will also enjoy our Daily Fresh Catch Selections. Thank you and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,824)
There are newer reviews for Black Marlin Bayside Grill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,508 - 1,512 of 1,824 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Absolutely must try a cappuccino paired with their house-made honey gelato. Seafood medley great filling meal for the steal price. Our server, Amy, gave us delightful suggestions and flawless service. Our mini pin and Italian greyhound give the sweet potato fires 5 stars!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Casshensel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

So glad you and the pups enjoyed your evening! We were proud to share your compliments of Amy to the entire company! Look forward to seeing you soon-perfect weather on the horizon for you and the pups to enjoy patio dining and Sweet Potato Fries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

early dining 4-530p, $15 include soup or salad, entree & a beverage; $2.75 for house wine. Nice warm bread w/meals. Spacious dining area. Great service. Parking across the street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank s t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We recently visited the Black Marlin twice. First time because we had a coupon for 50% off the second early bird special and it had some good reviews on Trip Advisor. One of our guests was not feeling well and stayed in, so we ordered a take out meal afterward. Two entrees were fried - one seafood platter and one shrimp & flounder - lightly breaded and tasty. I got the fettuccini alfredo seafood with a light sauce and plenty of shrimp, scallops, fish, which they were willing to serve on angel hair pasta at my request. All three meals were well prepared and plentiful. My alfredo was enough to happily take home for a nice lunch later. Their large salads were exceptional for 'side' dinner salads - mixed greens, a variety of additional items, all crisp, fresh, tasty and dressings were good. By the time we had salad and bread, our entrees arrived and we had a great early bird dinner. Atmospher was a bit noisy, but we could still visit. Unfortunately, they brought the 'take out' way too early, so it was cold before we left and after being reheated was barely edible.
Later in the week, we decided to try it again for our friend who missed out and because there were menu items still to try - plus the nice salad was a selling point. This time we were on the tail end of the early bird time, arriving about 5:20 and were told it was a 45 minute wait but we could still consider the EB menu. It was cold and there was no place to sit outside that was not windy and cold, so we crowded into the entrance with lots of others. As we stood there, the wait time for new guests arriving inched up to 1 1/2 hours. After 70 minutes we were finally seated in a booth next to a group of 8 who were obviously done as there were no plates on the table, only glasses. Asked the waitress about crab cakes and were told it was made with a small amount of mixed peppers, so two of us opted for other items [I decided to try and compare their stuffed flounder with one at another place earlier in the week]. As beverages and salads were served the table next to us got louder and louder to the point we could not even hear the person across from or next to us without being in their ear. Before we could manage 4 bites of salad our entrees came and my flounder stuffing was loaded with peppers - how could the waitress have missed that? and the potatos barely warm enough to melt the butter. When someone came by to see how things were, I pointed out the mixed info on the 'peppers'. We were told the waitress had evidently not gotten the message that a new chef had changed the menu and switched taking peppers out of the crab cakes and putting them in the flounder stuffing. They offered to provide two crab cakes instead - they were okay but not outstanding. All this time the group across continued to get louder. Finally one of us politely let them know we were having difficulty hearing - one person in the group said thanks, the others glared. After an hour when they left, we thought we might enjoy conversation the rest of our meal, only to have another 7 seated noisely in their place. When we left, the guests at the table behind us stopped us and said "thanks" they had been unable to have a conversation either. I do not know whether the staff was too busy to notice, or if this is just considered business as usual at this spot. Certainly not to encourage guests who were done eating and drinking for an hour to pay and leave did not value those waiting outside. The first experience that week might draw me back for another try, but never during a busy time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cjds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

A few friends and I were on vacation when the Black Marlin was recommended to us. I had an awful trip, but this restaurant made up for the entire thing! I had the Seafood Alfredo and I still make the statement that I would go back to Hilton Head Island just to eat there again. I was blown away at how good this dish was. The service was a little slow just because it was so busy I suppose but the food was fantastic and I enjoyed sitting outside for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SweetNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for the compliments and we are happy to hear that we were a highlight on your visit to Hilton Head. We will work on our speed factor as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing