We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down good!”

Black Marlin Bayside Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Marlin Bayside Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Escape to the islands best selection of fresh seafood, hand cut steaks and home of The Hurricane Bar!
Banner Elk, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hands down good!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

A few friends and I were on vacation when the Black Marlin was recommended to us. I had an awful trip, but this restaurant made up for the entire thing! I had the Seafood Alfredo and I still make the statement that I would go back to Hilton Head Island just to eat there again. I was blown away at how good this dish was. The service was a little slow just because it was so busy I suppose but the food was fantastic and I enjoyed sitting outside for dinner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for the compliments and we are happy to hear that we were a highlight on your visit to Hilton Head. We will work on our speed factor as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,022
    477
    214
    65
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Setauket, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Early Bird Fantastic”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This wonderful and beautiful restaurant serves an early dining option for $15...no lie! I went with a party of 6 and each of us enjoyed our selections tremendously. The winner, a melt in your mouth filet mignon, went for an extra $2. The sides were very good as well. House wine was $2.75 and it was drinkable. The decor and service is high end. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
So happy you enjoyed our Early Dining Menu. We look forward to your next visit next time try the Stuffed Flounder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANNER ELK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Black Marlin”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Food was good. Waitress very lackadaisical, and thus service very poor. She also "lost" my credit card, insisting it was given me, and finally admitted she "had" the card and "lost" it. Scary for security reason. She should be questioned for proprietor's sake.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GEORGE Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for the review and we are checking all aspects of security and service with your help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great food and drink selection! Fish tacos were wonderful! Would be fantastic to visit in the spring/summer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hokiegirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank You! Spring is right around the corner and hope to see you enjoying pato dining at it's finest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hilton Head Restaurant”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Black Marlin is somewhat out of the mainstream in Palmetto Bay but many folks find their way to the Black Marlin for always great food and a wonderful environment especially when it is warm enough to sit outside. I had the stuffed flounder with succotash and everything was delicious, service was great and prices reasonable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greatlakesdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackmarlinhhi, General Manager at Black Marlin Bayside Grill, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you and can't wait to see you on your next visit-Try the Stuffed Shrimp -just a good as the Stuffed Flounder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Marlin Bayside Grill also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Marlin Bayside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing