We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barony: golfers beware”

Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by George W. Cobb and built in 1963 The Barony Course was designed by George W. Cobb in the early 1960's and was one of the first courses on the Island. From the tee box, many of the holes appear to be relatively open, but as you approach the newly resurfaced Bermuda greens, the real challenge becomes clear. The greens are generous and protected by thick rough and unforgiving bunkers, entitling the golfer to have good touch with mid to short-range iron shots. This is a course where accuracy, not length, is paramount.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a short uninteresting golf course not worth the money or time. Seems to be very family and elderly oriented, slowest pace of play I've experienced on the island. I will say the greens were in surpisingly good condition.

Thank Golfbd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalHHI, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. We apologize if the pace of play was slower than normal. We take pace of play very seriously and for the most part get everyone through without a problem. Thanks again for your feedback as it is valuable to us and helps us improve and provide a better golf experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 90 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

The course is challenging with a lot of left dog leg holes
We find it a fair test which keeps us going back
The shape of the course is very good for late Oct

1  Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalHHI, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thanks for the great review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Played all the courses in Port Royal Plantation. Overall the conditions could have been much better. The fairways and Greens were acceptable. The rough was mostly sand and hard pan with thin grass. Had to bump the ball in the rough just to play off some grass.

Best course was Robbers Row. Worst was Planters, least manicured.

Overall these courses are too narrow. I played well but most of the holes require an iron or hybrid club off the tee.

Speed of play was good.

Thank troyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalHHI, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review following your recent visit to Port Royal Golf Club. Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us to improve and provide a better experience to our guests. We are currently making a lot of great improvements to better your golfing experience. We hope that you will visit us again soon to see our new improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Pro shop staffs needed more knowledge of all affiliated clubs, the locker rooms needed to be updated and remodel, very unpleasant odor. Cart paths needed to resurface too bumpy from roots of trees over grew underneath. The greens are too slow, not consistant on some holes. Overall too pricey for all of this condition not worth it!

Thank Scuba4Ukky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalHHI, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review following your recent visit to Port Royal Golf Club. Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us to improve and provide a better experience to our guests. We are currently making a lot of great improvements to better your golfing experience. We hope that you will visit us again soon to see our new improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

First time play at The Barony was slow because of our playing partner but the course was fun. Greens were in fair shape and the fairways were a bit rough but playable. The staff was friendly and helpful but one marshall threw off our game with an unnecessarily long lecture about backing up play. Our games fell apart after this. We'd appreciate a simple "Lets pick-up the pace" next time. It was the one guy they paired up with us that was the problem - he couldn't play and did it extremely slow. Went back two days later and got off as a twosome. Our former partner was in the foursome behind us so we got to take our time. We were scheduled to play Robber's Row course but starter advised against it as greens were just aerated. We appreciated the advice!

Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalHHI, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review following your recent visit to Port Royal Golf Club. Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us to improve and provide a better experience to our guests. We hope to see you again soon as we are making a lot of great improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing