We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money..”

Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by George W. Cobb and built in 1963 The Barony Course was designed by George W. Cobb in the early 1960's and was one of the first courses on the Island. From the tee box, many of the holes appear to be relatively open, but as you approach the newly resurfaced Bermuda greens, the real challenge becomes clear. The greens are generous and protected by thick rough and unforgiving bunkers, entitling the golfer to have good touch with mid to short-range iron shots. This is a course where accuracy, not length, is paramount.
Hughesville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money..”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We are staying in a RCI timeshare and we got discount coupons to play 12 rounds of four different courses. We tried each group of courses. Port Royal, Shipyard, Oyster ridge, and Palmetto Hall. We called for a tee time and was not given an option on the choice of course. Ship yard was really nice, So was Oyster Ridge, but the Barony at Port Royal down right sucked. Slow, shaggy greens. The fairway we sandy and patchie. The tee boxes were uneven and impossible to get a level lie. All in all it was a goat track. I wanted to ask for half of my money back. I would avoid this course and play somewhere else. If you are reading this then you are on vacation. This is not the course that you want to spend you vacation money on...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CoreyL976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalHHI, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review following your recent visit to Port Royal Golf Club. Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us to improve and provide a better experience to our guests. We are currently starting to make a lot of improvements to provide a better experience to our guests. Please know that we are taking your comments into consideration. We hope that you will visit us again soon for an improved experience while playing our course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    17
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, SC, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lots of pine trees”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Decent track with good greens and an interesting layout. The range is sort of wanting, but the clubhouse is pretty nice. Decent round of golf.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalHHI, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We really appreiacte your comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good job with group events”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I played in golf tournaments on both the Barony and Planter's Row courses, and definitely prefer the Barony layout. Regardless of the course, the club does a nice job with tournaments - bag storage, cart staging, etc., and gives good service to the players. Rates aren't cheap, but they're quite reasonable for Hilton Head.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MollyDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalHHI, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We are certainly glad you enjoyed yourself. Group events are definitly our specialty. Thank you for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not Missing Too Much!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Fairly short Course. Course was infested with fungus. This was in May, 2012. Runs $55.00 per person for 18, includinig cart. Stayed at nearby Hotel, that's why we chose this Course. Wouldn't re-vist this Course in the future.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalHHI, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Port Royal Golf Club. Your comments are helpful in improving our services to ensure that each future guest has a positive experience. We assure you that your comments are being taken into consideration and we you will play our course again in the near future for an improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
204 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Beginner golfers loved playing 9 holes”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a beautiful course. My husband and I are new golfers and we were very comfortable playing here. Staff was helpful. We didn't feel rushed to play (after 2:00) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course also viewed

 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing