We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile Hilton Head Golf Course”

Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by George W. Cobb and built in 1963 The Barony Course was designed by George W. Cobb in the early 1960's and was one of the first courses on the Island. From the tee box, many of the holes appear to be relatively open, but as you approach the newly resurfaced Bermuda greens, the real challenge becomes clear. The greens are generous and protected by thick rough and unforgiving bunkers, entitling the golfer to have good touch with mid to short-range iron shots. This is a course where accuracy, not length, is paramount.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worthwhile Hilton Head Golf Course”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were lucky enough to get to play the Barony at Port Royal Golf Club due to aerification at another local course. We were impressed with the layout and the good shape of this course.

The other course we played this week included Golden Bear, Harbour Town and Colleton River Plantation Club Dye Course. The Colleton River course was outstanding. It was a real please to play, just as the Barony course. While it was nice to play Harbour Town due to the PGA playing the course, we thought it was overpriced based on the playing conditions as the greens were a mess.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks for the great responce. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    18
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Traditional Hilton Head Golf”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

When you think of Hilton Head golf, this is the standard layout. Lots of trees, water and sand. Narrow, tree-lined fairways and lots of doglegs. Course was in relatively good shape.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GolfGuy614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Only Average”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The service at the pro shop was only OK. Our golf was included with our package but it was $38 each for a cart. Do you think they would give us each our own? The cart was not very clean. Course was very good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank kathye101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. Yes the fee is a per person charge based on a contract with your Timeshare. Unfortunitly we do not have enough carts do give each person their own cart. We will work hard to improve the cart cleanliness and pro shop service for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will not return”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Rudeness from our moment of arrival. Staff resisted unloading our bags from rental truck. Gave attitude and insisted we pair clubs for each cart, rather than helping. Weak instructions failed to inform us that we were not supposed to stop at clubhouse between the 9's. Left early since we felt so unwelcomed. Wil not return there. They will not get our $1000 again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank randomalphanumericid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. I remember talking to your group that day. We have since retrained the staff on how to better assist our guests while unloading bags at the bag drop. I do remember some of the group playing the whole 18 and the rest getting a raincheck for the half they didn't play. I hope your group will use the rainchecks and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Man's Perspective”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Wide variety of holes was good. Mosquitoes were very bad.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks for the great feedback! Next time we will hook you up with some good bug spray.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing