We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Man's Perspective”

Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by George W. Cobb and built in 1963 The Barony Course was designed by George W. Cobb in the early 1960's and was one of the first courses on the Island. From the tee box, many of the holes appear to be relatively open, but as you approach the newly resurfaced Bermuda greens, the real challenge becomes clear. The greens are generous and protected by thick rough and unforgiving bunkers, entitling the golfer to have good touch with mid to short-range iron shots. This is a course where accuracy, not length, is paramount.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Man's Perspective”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Wide variety of holes was good. Mosquitoes were very bad.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks for the great feedback! Next time we will hook you up with some good bug spray.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    18
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful course with challenging hazards!”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had the privilege of playing this course which was beautifully landscaped with lots of shaded areas for a hot afternoon round of golf. We played the first nine holes which had a nice combination of sand traps and water hazards...only lost 3 or 4 balls! A beautiful clubhouse - which offered drinks before hand and a wonderful cart service out on the course. Clean restrooms conveniently located at holes #6 and #10. Azaleas and rhododendrons were in bloom in early March - just lovely. A nice course to play - didn't feel stuffy and made us feel welcome as non-members.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank fortitudeX4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks for the post. Glad you had a great time and you are welcome anytime. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess County, New York
Level Contributor
214 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice Course”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Pro Shop staff could be more welcoming but the course is nice and challenging.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gaudilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Barony golf course”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Went golfing this morning what a waste of time.the barony golf course was in such shamblesr.They sanded the course last night,greens were not mowed and the holes and tee boxes hand,t been moved in a month.The employees claimed to not know what maintainence crew was up too and really handled the numerous complaints poorly. Never again!

Helpful?
Thank Evang0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just ok... not as good as the last time I played”
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Just played yesterday. A few comments:

1. Greens were in terrible shape (in May). I contrast this to the Fazio course where the staff had warned me of new, not-as-good-greens w seams. Well, the Fazio course greens were significantly better. Barony had many sanded brown spots (where they often decided to place the cup!)

2. The course is tight - just how it plays. The real estate is a little more worrisome than other courses as it often feels unprotected. Many doglegs do make it fun (and tough!). It is not overly long though. Layout is kind of odd, as we had a stretch of abotu 9 holes that were in the same direction (and tnhe ocean breeze in our face)

3. We played for around 60 bucks at 1 o clock.

It's just average. Kind of reminded me of the quality of Shipyard going down-hill. For the same price, the Fazio course (the cheapest of the palmetto dunes) was a LOT better. Probably won't play the other 2 on this trip now and questioning Oyster Reef (although I love that course!)

Helpful?
Thank zandozan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Port Royal Golf Club - Barony Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing