We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good base to explore the Cotswolds”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room viewed from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Living room viewed from the kitchen
Kitchen viewed from the living area
Wood burner in the lounge
Kitchen with a dining table
Double bedroom
French doors from deck to double room
Double bedroom
View from the double bed out to the field
Twin room
Bathroom
Outside eating area on the deck under the veranda
View from the outside table across to the lake
Enclosed garden with lawn
View of the cabin from the neighbouring field
View of the lake from the cabin garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Somerford Keynes, Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bigjohnh2...
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good base to explore the Cotswolds”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with my wife and our two dogs in early June, As mentioned in other reviews the path to the cabin is along a rough track through the neighbours land and you do need to unlock and lock a padlocked gate every time you go in and out. You do need to pass the neighbours workshop area and this located right next to the cabin. He also has dogs and they do bark on occasion and roam around freely. The weather was perfect the week we stayed so we sat in the garden every afternoon/early evening and his dogs were intrigued by ours but thankfully there all behaved.
The cabin itself is well appointed and spacious enough.The main bedroom overlooks a field with a lake at the bottom, Acces tot his field is through a gate in the cabins garden, Our dogs loved it.
There is only a bath without a shower and if you're a big guy like me (over 6ft and broad) you struggle with the size of the bath as its very narrow. It was perfect for my wife so she loved it.
The owner recommended some great pubs locally and we managed to get to 3 out of the 4 gastro type pubs. All 3 were excellent. Even the local pub , which you can easily walk to in 10mins, has a nice garden and served us good pub grub the night we visited.
Its really difficult to find fault with the cabin but i would suggest a shower attachment in the bathroom is needed and a tray to make ice in the kitchen maybe, Thats being really picky and in no way did it spoil the great stay we had, I have no hesitation in recommending the cabin and if you have perfect weather like we did its idyllic.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. I just wanted to point out we do have ice cube trays in the kitchen. They might have been hiding at the back of the cupboard!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin s
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely peaceful retreat”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

this is a charming little cabin nestled in a woodland. the facilities are not fancy but very comfortable and everything you need is provided. it is very child friendly with a fenced in garden and a lovely slide and play area. it would also be a lovely spot for a romantic break. the location provides for a great base to visit the villages and countryside of the Cotswolds. we have rented many self catering houses over the years and this one is one of the best.
a little word of warning - the approach track to the house is very windy and uneven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahBX78...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous relaxing break”
Reviewed April 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Driving up a rough narrow track eventually brings you to a lovely tucked away pretty cabin which didn't disapoint inside. Very comfortable and well equipped. Loved watching the blue tits and robins on the feeder outside the little kitchen window everyday. Our little dog loved her walk around the field just through a little gate by the cabin. If your looking for a relaxing break this is it.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fireguard
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed March 17, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My wife and I spent our Ruby Anniversary in what we both compared to "Little House on the Prairie", without the Prairie! The thoughtful owner not only left a lemon drizzle cake and treats for our Springer, "Tilly" but also a bottle of bubbly for our Anniversary! We found everything we needed for a lovely break, apart from decent weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The wood burner
Liked least: I'm 6foot 4 and the bed was a bit short!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie_W...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely weekend away”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed with 2 friends for a relaxing chilled weekend. The cabin itself we absolutely loved, so pretty, and really well equipped. Wood burner didn't take long to warm the cabin, and the radiators in the bedrooms were helpful to warm the rooms before bed!
Make sure to follow the directions given carefully, but they are very descriptive so was easy to find thanks to them.
Local pub was very nice and friendly and within walking distance (take a torch if going in the dark though!), serving lovely pub grub, we found it reasonably priced too.
All in all we had a nice little break, and were sad to leave this charming little place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds were unbelievably comfy!
Liked least: The entrance through the padlocked gate was not exactly pleasing on the eye, but the cabin is away from this!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vict0ria...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“FABULOUS ESCAPE”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We booked last minute and communication was excellent, arrived in the dark was tricky opening the padlock into what looked like a scrap yard, but once we arrived at the cabin we absolutely fell in love..
we had our 2 dogs with us and was great to see them running around the completely fenced in garden.
Cabin was quite cold on arrival so we lit the wood burner, seriously..after just one hour it was very warm and cosy inside.
Owner had left our dogs some lovely treats and a lovely home made lemon drizzle cake..yummy.
Very well equipped cabin..and quite quirky..which we loved.
Local pub in the village was fab too..shame we couldn't stay longer but we only had a few days break.
would definitely recommend to anyone.
Hopefully we will try and return next year when the weather improves, as it rained non stop..but we didnt care..as we only went to chill out and do nothing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: personal touches
Liked least: footpath
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn J
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A cosy little hideaway”
Reviewed November 21, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Although the entrance to the whole site is rather unattractive, the cabin sits in a good sized lawned garden at the top of the sculpture park. Secluded and quiet it is completely fenced off so very safe for children or pets. The cabin itself is quite roomy, cosy, comfortable and well insulated - with gale force winds howling outside there were no draughts! Kitchen is well equipped, beds very comfortable and Sky TV and a selection of videos were available. The weather was against us so we didn't get the chance to explore very far but the Country Park & Beach is well worth a visit. The Bakers Arms is friendly and welcoming, although perhaps a little overpriced on the food side

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: A sofa each to relax on!
Liked least: The site entrance and track up to the cabin
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2015
Thank you for your nice comments about the cabin. The access to the cabin goes over our neighbour's land at the back of the sculpture park. He keeps some of his scrap materials he uses for his art work near the entrance gate, which he will be moving soon. Once you get past this there is a winding path through the woodland for about 200-300m until you get to the cabin. You cannot see the entrance to the site from the cabin garden.

Just to clarify we do not have Sky TV, just the normal freeview channels. We have just used an old sky box!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing